We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing tropical setting”
Review of 1770 Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1770 Getaway
Certificate of Excellence
Victor, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing tropical setting”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We just spent Australian Day weekend at this quiet relaxing accommodation with beautiful tropical landscaping. The owners are friendly and welcoming and pass along information for kangaroo siting along with good beach info. The king sized bed was a wonderful surprise, as that size isn't often found here. Definitely will stay here on our next visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nomad5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
78
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A much needed break from my busy work life, my families stay at 1770 Getaway in the self-contained cabins was a truly a relaxing 7 night experience. From the beautiful gardens filled with both natives and exotics, to the large green lawns and water features surrounded by natural paper bark tea tree forests and sea breezes, it is the ultimate low cost retreat on the Discovery Coast & Gladstone Region.

We enjoyed breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner in the 1770 Getaway Garden Cafe and Restaurant with absolute devine meals, particularly the Lamb Roast Spit and Woodfired Pizza's on Wednesday and Sunday nights (bookings essential).

It is very close to Workmans Beach Camp area, and about a 15-20 minute walk along a sandy bush track to lovely untouched beach.

The beautufl loving Family who own and operate 1770 Getaway is the unique touch that makes your stay most welcoming and comfortable.

We will stay there again soon.

A few other notes;

- A large Pool area with gazebos.

- The Restaurant Cafe open Sunday morning - Friday afternoon. (Closes Friday night and Saturday). All the locals use and recommend it.

- Small distance, about 5 minutes away from the small township of Agnes Waters.

- Wifi available

- Kitchen, microwave, stove top are great.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way to Gladstone to catch the ferry to Heron Island. What a great start to our trip, lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting, well looked after and personal touch of hospitality upon arrival from our host; would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

1770 Getaway is an exceptionally well run 5 villa holiday park. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed its tranquility. Only 5 Villas so your peace is almost guaranteed. Villas were spacious and very very well appointed. Highlights included the private beach, a short ten minute walk away where you are almost certain to be alone. Shops and Restaurants were a 3 minute drive away, as was a great Pub/RSL Club/Bookmaker. The Pool area was lovely having only recently been resurfaced, although I would have liked a cushion for the lounger but that's just nitpicking. As others have mentioned, the Onsite Cafe is first Class. Locals I spoke to had driven quite a distance to visit this Cafe. All in All 1770 Getaway and Agnes Waters in general get a big thumbs up from me.

Room Tip: Book Early. This place is popular for good reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimmerBVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

had a wonderful 7 days, staff were great, cabin clean and spacious,restaurant food delicious.recommend the lamb spit,this place is having a makeover the pool has new tiles and gazebos are being put up. grounds are kept immaculate,also recommend their smoothies.this is a lovely place for a quiet break,only 5mins to the local shops. the fans in the bedroom were unusual. in the shape of large leafs.

Room Tip: only 5 cabins and all are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Not a motel, not a luxury resort but the "Getaway" is obviously much loved by the family who own it. Though not really far from shops and a small town, this feels like the middle of nowhere and it is lovely to wake up and hear the birds.

The units are modern and comfortable and the only thing that I could find lacking was a hair dryer. There was no towel replacement or bed making service during our 3 day stay but they were kind enough to supply extra towels when we needed them for the boat trip to Lady Musgrave Island.

We enjoyed the spit roast. The restaurant is BYO, something we don't come across in the UK. It isn't open every evening. You need to drive to other restaurants if you aren't self catering as there is nothing within walking distance.

A beautiful area with enough to do for a few days. The beach is 15 minutes walk at least, not the 8 minutes that it says on the sign.

Room Tip: All 5 units appeared to be exactly the same. There are a couple of steps up to the deck but otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Pros
-The owners/managers were welcoming, friendly and customer focused who provided local insight on many local attractions. Great service.
-This is a quiet location set in tropical gardens with manicured gardens
-The units are very comfortable and well appointed with enough utensils to self cater for several days
. Prices are reasonable and affordable

Cons
-One does need transport to get around the area 1770/Agnes Water area though

We'd strongly recommend staying at this accomodation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyncy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.9 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 2 in Agnes Water
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#4 of 17 in Agnes Water
321 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edge On Beaches
The Edge On Beaches
#6 of 17 in Agnes Water
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Getaway

Property: 1770 Getaway
Address: Springs Rd & Bicentennial Drive, Agnes Water, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1770 Getaway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1770 Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing