We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway in Agnes”
Review of 1770 Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1770 Getaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for a weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Karla and Elvis were very friendly and helpful..with nothing too much trouble. Setting the scene for a lovely stay.
The cottages are also very nice... the beds are comfy, the kitchen well stocked with everything you could need including nice wine glasses which is always appreciated!
A bath would have been nice but the 2 showers were spacious with huge shower heads.
The gardens are beautiful and clearly a labour of love over the last 12 years.
Really nothing to fault - we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for 1770 Getaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 128 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were late arriving so when we went to the Café we were greeted by Karla. The villa's are a home away from home, en-suite plus a bathroom with a washing machine, mini clothes line, iron and board and kitchen to do easy meals. The restaurant is so good we ate at least 1 meal there everyday. The wood fire pizza are the best I have ever had and as for the Lamb spit on a Wednesday/Sunday night, wow!. We stayed 7 nights, oh so peaceful and loved looking out onto the big water lily pond beside the café. Elvis and Karla, Michael and Mrs M this is a credit to you all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our welcome was the best welcome we have had anywhere in the world!! You really don't have to be a millionaire to experience the service and attention a millionaire would get spending their big dollars for some fancy pants place. You can get it right here. Getaway 1770 is family owned and they all just give you the warmest care and attention, nothing would be too much trouble for them.

The cabins are surrounded by tropical gardens keeping them very private, and inside they are spacious and just Beautiful, with lovely plantation shutters and a King size bed that was soooooo comfortable. The cars are not parked right near your cabin, this allows for peace and quite from cars and people coming and going, but there is a trolley to help you unload your car which is only a short walk.

The café is the BEST home cooked food we have eaten Anywhere! And we are very fussy, with tummies that don't always agree with the food that is served to us even in the fanciest restaurants.

There are beautiful secluded private beaches which are only a few minutes walk away, and we
were in paradise! Not another person to be seen anywhere!

Only two minutes from the town and the busyness of life, this peaceful resort is a hidden treasure that could charge much higher rates but they don't.

Thank you again Michael, Elvis, Carla (and Mum) we loved everything!!! Tracy and Paul

Room Tip: All the cabins seemed equally lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If going to Agnes Water you should choose the 1770 Getaway. This resort is for people who like a relaxed atmosphere and a great service. The resort is family owned and managed, and you feel welcome the moment you walk into the reception/restaurant.
The location is a short drive out of town, but this is part of the charm, as this makes the resort peaceful and quiet - the perfect place to relax. A short walk takes you to beautiful and secluded sandy cove beaches nestled between rocks. You feel as if you have your own private beach.
The food is great and the villas are large and well equipped.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We walked in and were immediately charmed with the hospitality and setting. The garden setting make the grounds feel lush, yet private. Each individual bungalow contributes to the sense of privacy and luxury. Our unit was well apportioned and impeccably clean. Because we were unfamiliar with the area, our hosts went out of their way to make sure we knew about restaurant choices, how to find the grocery store, and provided tips and maps for hiking/outdoor adventures. It's obvious that the owner/operators care about guest satisfaction and will take the time necessary to ensure this.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genuinejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Fourth year in a row that we've crossed the Pacific to enjoy this little piece of paradise - this time for 8 nights. The well equipped villas are nestled in a delightful tropical garden. While the facilities are nice, your hosts, Michael, Vera, Elvis & Carla outdo themselves in hospitality, warmth & friendliness. Elvis spent considerable time helping me figure out a travel issue I was having. Carla's cappuccinos are fantastic. I believe on our first visit Michael remarked, 'come as guests - leave as friends'. So true! Don't want to cook? The inviting cafe environment adds to Vera's fine home cooking. Top your stay off with a day visit to the reef which Elvis will be happy to arrange for you. A great place to really relax, refresh & re-charge. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swazimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent six nights at 1770 Getaway, the setting is absolutely beautiful and complete with a resident turtle in the lily pond beside the excellent cafe. The bungalows where spacious, immaculately clean, comfortable bed and easy to use barbecue area. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly adding local knowledge that you will not find in any guide book. The Wednesday night lamb spit roast was superbly cooked and served in a lovely setting overlooking the pond.
In terms of location, you will need a car but do not be off-put by the out of town location. There is a stunning beach across the way and we did not see anyone else all day. This place does what it says on the tin - an excellent getaway!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_Chris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matex, Manager at 1770 Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Chris, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and got to explore and enjoy some of the "out of the way" beauty Agnes Water has to offer. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere for that special and memorable Getaway! We hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in the area. Best regards, Elvis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.9 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
106 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Edge On Beaches
The Edge On Beaches
#6 of 17 in Agnes Water
177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Getaway

Address: Springs Rd & Bicentennial Drive, Agnes Water, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range: $119 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1770 Getaway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1770 Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing