We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edge On Beaches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Wow, what a beautiful place to stay. Right from my initial phone call to the end of our stay, I could not fault anything. The staff were lovely and very happy to help and answer any questions. Our room was perfect, we chose a poolside villa and the villa was actually poolside. The rooms where clean and well maintained and perfect for a couple for a weekend. We had the heated pool and unfortunately for us, the kids in the place discovered the "warm" pool and decided it was the best pool so it was a little noisy sitting in our courtyard but once inside with the doors closed, we heard nothing. We had a small maintenance issue but that was dealt with very quickly and efficiently and the terrific maintenance man came back around 7ish that night just to check we were happy and all was good. The location is perfect, fairly quiet and walking distance to the beach. Next time we stay there we will get a villa with a full kitchen and stay for a week. If you are looking to relax and read and while away the days, this is the spot. Thank you to the staff at Edge on the Beach for a memorable weekend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JMR0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Front Office Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of the Edge on Beaches Resort. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 180 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Husband and I (aged early 60s) stayed 2 nights, definitely recommend, welcoming staff, high standard of accommodation, very roomy. Went on Lady Musgrave Island Cruise which was a great experience. Dined at local Thai restaurant, good food. Although not situated close to shops and eateries, it was only a few minutes drive which we did not mind for a short stay. Only negatives were we felt it should have had a larger fridge, not just a beer fridge, as having stayed in Big4 parks, we had got used to having this available. Also, pleased to have a washing machine available BUT the taps to turn it on were only accessible by crawling on your knees between the toilet and cupboard door and reaching behind the pipes with one hand!! Ridiculous for what looks like a new unit. The pool outlook was lovely at the back of the unit, bed comfortable and quiet air con. All up, a very enjoyable stay. 1770 is a delightful area with beautiful scenery having been recommended by my adult son who camped there with his family. Definitely a place to visit. We stopped in on the way back from Airlie Beach and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which we would recommend, good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickanpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Front Office Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of the Edge on Beaches Resort. All of our units are individually owned and furnished, we have passed the information onto the owner relating to the size of the Fridge. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We cancelled our booking at Pavilions in preference to the Edge on Beaches purely because they advertised that they had free wifi in the rooms. Although on holiday I needed to check my emails each night.

I could only get email on 1 evening for a few hours and I could only receive and not send.
The process to try to log on was long-winded and confusing and then it didn't work. I had to go to another resort and a staff member was kind enough to let me use her private network.

Not good enough. If you don't have it then don't advertise it. If you have it and its not working then let people know when they check in so they can make other arrangements. Don't let then sign in and then tell them it doesn't work

We stayed in room 16. There is an electric pump outside the bedroom window which starts and stops at all hours. Very annoying. There were plenty of other empty room away from the pump.

On a minor issue, I found the bed and pillows to be too soft for my liking.

This is the first time I have ever complained about accommodation/services. Congratulations.

Room Tip: Room 16 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMC2010122207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Front Office Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Edge on Beaches resort. We apologise that the internet was not working on this occasion due to an error on Behalf of Telstra, this was an issue which we were not expecting and had hoped would be rectified quickly and therefore guests were not notified. Our WIFI is free to all guests and excluding issues out of our control does work.

All 1bedroom units are beside the pumps which provides tank water to our units. Our windows when closed block out most of this noise unless their is an underlying issue which may need to be fixed by maintenance. If this was the case in your scenario we would have been happy to assist had we been notified.

We hope that you do stay with us in the future and may suggest booking a two bedroom unit so ensure you are not situated beside a pump.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The accomodation package came as part of a promotional deal so we had no real idea of what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the villas which comfortably accomodated myself, my husband, his parents and our little one. The villas were clean and quiet with easy access to both the beach and a very nice gardened pool area. The villas had everything you might think to need however the comfort of the beds left a little to be desired. The staff were polite, informed and helpful so all in all a great stay and a nice easy and affordable break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlleeGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at The Edge on Beaches Resort and thank you for providing a review.

Our villas are owned by individual owners, we simply manage these villas on the owners behalf and as such furniture e.t.c. can vary from villa to villa. Unfortunately if we do not receive the feedback in our office we are unable to identify which villas contain issues that might impact on the guest experience in the opinion of the guest. I have been unable to identify from your review which villa you stayed in and subsequently has poor comfort levels of it's beds. If you are able to contact our office and advise of this it would be greatly appreciated.

When matters are brought to our attention we do address them with the owners and provide our recommendations for improvements to ensure ongoing guest satisfaction with the facilities that they provide. The owners then make improvements at their own discretion.

Again we thank you for your valuable review and feedback and hope to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

On arrival first impressions were how clean and well maintained the grounds and pools were.Hotel management was friendly and helpful. Our 1 bed apartment was tastefully furnished , spacious and clean.Price was fantastic compared to other stays we have had along the coast.Would recommend for a quiet getaway. Great meals and service at Agnes Water tavern .Foodworks and IGA 5min drive away. My husband and I will return for another quiet relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay in Agnes Water/1770 and here at The Edge on Beaches Resort, your fantastic review is greatly appreciated.

We do work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction in all areas of our business and reviews like this certainly make it all worth while.

We look forward to seeing you again some time soon : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I feel that these apartments do not deserve the title of 'luxury'. The 1 bed apartment we stayed in over the Easter break was basic and only deserved a 3* rating. I believe from what the management told us, is that all the apartments are privately owned and therefore the furniture and luxuriousness of each place may vary greatly, it our case we stepped into a 80s timewarp.

We arrived late (10pm) after a 6 hour drive from Brisbane and on first impressions were very dissappointed. We had called twice to inform them of our late arrival, and they left the apartment open for us. The main issue was they FORGOT to leave bedding and towels for the sofa bed in the lounge! My poor friend had an uncomfortable night with no bedding, a dirty sofa bed from the 1980s and a very noisey fridge. The master bedroom was much nicer (if not a bit dirty- we had a cockroach in their on the Friday morning), however, the only bathroom in this one bed apartment is the ensuite to the bedroom and there is no door to the bathroom. Not very convient if you rent this out for more than a couple.

We complained the following day about the lack of bedding, only to be offered an apology and when pushed we were offered a $20 refund for the bedding fee for 1 night. We thought this was very little considering the inconvience we had incurred.

Master bedroom gets very hot, fan made banging noises when on, the air con was only in the main living area and if you opened the windows you had the sound of the water pump coming on throughout the night.

Ok location, need to drive to any restaurants or the nice beach at Agnes Water. The pool area is nice, just a shame they couldnt even provide full gas bottles for the 3 BBQs on Easter weekend. We were lucky enough to use the last of the gas on the Friday night, people that arrived after us were not so lucky.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We sincerely apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at The Edge on Beaches Resort. We work extremely hard in order to ensure customer satisfaction in all areas of our establishment.

Again we apologies for the oversight relating to the linen that was required in order to accomodate your friend on the sofa bed. Unfortunately simple human error can occur (and we are all capable of it) but it has tainted your overall impression of our facilities and services.

We have an after hours number located on the reception door when reception is unattended or if situations arise outside of office hours, if contact had been made that evening we most certainly would have rectified the matter immediately. $20.00 is the applicable nightly rate for an additional guest in a 1 bedroom villa as such $20.00 was reasonably expected to be refunded however after further confrontation $50.00 was refunded to you and certainly deemed to be more than enough compensation given that the linen was provided as soon as management was notified of the oversight.

You were advised correctly that the Villas are individually owned and the decor can vary between villas as a result. The Owner has been notified of your dissatisfaction with their villa's presentation and appropriate action will be taken at their discretion.

A one-bedroom villa is exactley that and is described as so in all of our marketing and designed with 1 or 2 guests in mind, we only recommend the sofa bed for additional children. Additional guests to a one-bedroom villa is at the guests own discretion, and sofa beds are located in the open plan living area which the fridge is located in. We do have 2 bedroom villas available for those who choose & pay for the additional facilities that a 2 bedroom villa has to offer, Unfortunately it would appear that the villa type selection you made was not appropriate for your needs, as you did make your booking online we were unable to assit you in selecting the villa type that was most suitable to your requirements and as such the decision to select a one-bedroom villa was made by your own review of the facilities available.

Cleanliness is extremely important to us and staff have all been notified of this incidence based on details provided by you. Unfortunately individual pests are not classified as an infestation nor does it indicate that the villas are dirty, admittedly it is not pleasent when something like a cockroach is found however we do take all reasonable steps to ensure that such creatures are not present by way of regular pest inspections performed by a well reputed pest control specialist.

Maintenance issues raised e.g. noisy fridge, banging fan, pump switching on all night have all been investigated and no maintenance for these items has been deemed as required. The Airconditioners located in the living area of all 1 bedroom villas are sufficient to cool an entire 1 bedroom villa and guests have access to remote controls allowing them to freely choose the airconditioning settings that suit them the most.

The 3 BBQ's located on common property are all checked and tested first thing each morning and intermittantly throughout the day, we had 2 extra gas bottles ready to go in our maintenance shed in the event that a gas bottle became empty. When the instructions (located on all 3 BBQ's) are followed for turning the BBQ's on and off no problems are experienced, however if the BBQ instructions are not followed it can cause the safety valves to shut off gas supply until reset. In general we find that if a guest does not follow the instructions and can not get the BBQ started they will proceed to the next BBQ and the next and this can cause all 3 BBQs to appear as if no gas is available. Unfortunately the guests that followed your usage of the BBQ were subject to this situation. Other guests notified reception and a member of our grounds staff was only too happy to assist in getting the BBQ back up and running and again if the matter had occured after hours a number is located on the door at reception and the onsite manager would have been only too happy to assist.

Again we do apologise that our facilities or service did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really pleased with the 1 bedroom apartments, they were really spacious and very clean. Location is good, right in between Agnes Waters and 1770, and the staff on check in we're lovely & helpful. We also saw familes in larger apartments obviously enjoining their stays. Great place to take the family, or for a quiet weekend. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellfahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
0.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edge On Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge On Beaches

Address: Cnr Captain Cook Dr. & Beaches Village Circuit, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range: $101 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Edge On Beaches 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edge on Beaches Resort, Agnes Water/1770 Queensland, is situated approx. 120 kilometres north of Bundaberg and approx. 120 kilometres south of Gladstone and is the nearest point to The Southern Great Barrier Reef. Set in 3 1/2 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, The Edge on Beaches offers 1 & 2 bedroom self contained villas & is only an approx. 300m walk from the pristine beaches of Agnes Water. Activities available from our Tour desk: Take a day cruise to the Great Barrier Reef,snorkel,dive, kayak. Take a Quadbike tour in the national park, fish, surf. Take a scenic flight, play golf or bowls,kite Surf, stand up paddle board. Take a yoga class or cooking lesson, wine and dine or just laze by one of the four resort style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Edge On Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing