We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edge On Beaches
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Just back from Agnes Water. The stay at Edges was very enjoyable and good value for money. This was our first time at Ages and1770 and this was a revelation. Agnes is so quaint and unspoiled by large chain hotels and shopping centers. The accommodation was mostly clean and there was plenty of room having three active kids. We stayed near the road and apart from the "Scooteroos" was quiet. The grounds were well kept and the little Kiwi does a great job. The receptionist is vivacious, friendly and helpful (think she was kiwi, too). The resort is not on the edge of the beach but who cares. No free wi-fi! What is the story there? This is areal Aussie problem with accommodation. Not everyone has smart phones. We went to the library, but I just came back from South American countries (third world countries) where there is free wi-fi! Loved the stay and Agnes is a great alternative to Gold and Sunshine coasts.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Damian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding The Edge on Beaches Resort and staff.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay, we do work hard to ensure guest satisfaction with regards to our facilities and service offerings and reviews like yours make all the hardwork worth while.

We understand that not everybody has a smart phone, tablet, dongle or other such device that may provide them with internet (generally not available free but charged through personal plans e.t.c. by telco's) and appreciate that you were addressing this issue to the majority of your experience here in Australia and not just with us.

We here at The Edge on Beaches do have reliable Wifi internet available via a mobile,wireless broadband device that is supplied to guests for use in their villas from reception however it is not free (we do not advertise free internet) and charges do apply based on data usage.

We hope someday that the infrustructure, service offerings and costs associated with the biggest Telco in Australia will improve, expand and reduce allowing Australian Accomodation providers and other business to keep up with the technology and expectations of the rest of the world
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    64
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
54
85
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

After a good welcome from the receptionist we settled into our room or single storey attached bungalow. The main room was a great size and had a large separate bedroom with twin shower. We were in the smaller properties which are on the main road though it was not too noisy.

There was a washing machine in the bungalow which was very handy. A short walk away there were 4 pools in the middle of the larger accommodations. Also in that area was a free-to-use BBQ which we made us of one night.

Despite the name of the resort it was quite a walk to the beach (over 300 yards) which was a disappointment for us. The other issue was there was no Wifi at all. A strange omission in this day and age.

My rating would be between average and good if it could have been.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. It was a bit noisy and our 'view' from the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeonBeaches, Manager at The Edge On Beaches, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you liked the layout of your 1 bedroom garden villa & the 4 resort pools & BBQ area.
The resort is 300 meters to the 6km long Main Agnes Water Surf Beach.
Edge On Beaches now has Free WIFI available to customers.
Thanking you,
Edge On Beaches
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Enjoyed 3 nights at this lovely location. Receptionist was very friendly and the ground were well maintained. The apartment was spotless, beds were comfortable and it had excellent cooking and kitchen facilities. Pool area was nice and we chose to stay in one of the outer apartments given we no longer have little ones to take advantage of the pools adjoining the inner units. Highly recommend this property and would definitely stop there again. Good value for money given the amenities and quality of the apartments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are old and basic. Rooms also stink as not been aired in years. Not great. Decor is tired and can hear the main highway from your room. Can also hear the neighbours as walls are shared and thin. Wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJaneT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2012. We found the person on reception friendly and helpful. we were put into a two room garden apartment, which we found to be clean and tidy and quiet and off the main road that leads to Agnes waters and 1770. The weather was cold, windy with showers over the three days that we were there so we didnt get to try the pools, though the gentleman at reception told us that one was solar heated, though he said that it would probably be cold due to the very cloudy skies. The hotel is located approximatley halfway between 1770 and agnes waters. At first we were disapointed that we werent put into a room that overlooked the pools, but in the end it was nice to be a quiet area. the cooktop wasnt working correctly and there had been a two burner cooktop put on the bench. the bathrooms were both a decent size with double showers in both of them. More lighting over the table would have been helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here in June 2011. I booked it on Wotif as part of a surprise weekend away for my boyfriend's birthday. It was rated as 4 star so I was expecting that we would be staying somewhere really nice. Quite disappointed when we opened the door to the room to find that it was with well worn, dated furnishings, grubby walls, old cheap office style carpeting in the bedroom and a hard bed. Certainly not the 4 stars we were expecting. Next time would stay at Pavillions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Edge on Beaches Resort is a complex of about 60 individually owned units located between Agnes Water and the town of Seventeen Seventy. We stayed in number 53, a unit with two large rooms. One is kitchen/living room/dining room combination; the other is bedroom, and off that a bathroom with large walk in shower and a washer/dryer. The living room had a large flat screen TV, DVD, CD, AC, couch and two chairs. A small patio with table and 4 chairs is accessed by a sliding door off the living room. The kitchen had a full size fridge, toaster, kettle, electric frying pan and a decent assortment of cutlery and dishes, but no cook top (hob).

There is a covered carport right at the front door, which is great for providing shade for the car and also gives you a dry area on rainy days. There are three outdoor pools and a BBQ area centrally located. There was no wifi despite it being advertised but the local library has wifi available 24/7. The complex is well maintained by an on-site manager who is very helpful in providing tourist information.

The complex is a 10 minute walk to a beautiful beach (30 minutes along beach to Agnes Water).

Room Tip: Unit 52 has several young children who weres noisy starting about at 7am so request another unit if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
0.1 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
126 reviews
2.1 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edge On Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge On Beaches

Property: The Edge On Beaches
Address: Cnr Captain Cook Dr. & Beaches Village Circuit, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Edge On Beaches 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edge on Beaches Resort, Agnes Water/1770 Queensland, is situated approx. 120 kilometres north of Bundaberg and approx. 120 kilometres south of Gladstone and is the nearest point to The Southern Great Barrier Reef. Set in 3 1/2 acres of tropical landscaped gardens, The Edge on Beaches offers 1 & 2 bedroom self contained villas & is only an approx. 300m walk from the pristine beaches of Agnes Water. Activities available from our Tour desk: Take a day cruise to the Great Barrier Reef,snorkel,dive, kayak. Take a Quadbike tour in the national park, fish, surf. Take a scenic flight, play golf or bowls,kite Surf, stand up paddle board. Take a yoga class or cooking lesson, wine and dine or just laze by one of the four resort style pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Edge On Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing