We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at this backpackers for one week at the beginning of August and really enjoyed my stay! The staff were really friendly and helpful, and it was really good to get the free pickup and drop of at the bus station. I was really happy about the wifi in the hostel too as it worked in most areas which ive not found in most other hostels. The location was the best thing with the beach a 2 minute walk away and the centre of town about 5minutes. The room I stayed in was cleaned everyday and the staff gave me extra blankets as it was a bit cold at night.
I would definitely recommend this hostel really glad I stayed !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at Beachside backpackers on my trip passing through Agnes Water for a while & had an awesome time! The staff were friendly & welcoming & always having a laugh.
You get lovely secure dorms to stay in & when you check out you can even store your stuff in the lock up downstairs until the Greyhound leaves later. They also run a bus to pick up & drop off at the Greyhound stop which is great.
You get a great free breakfast included in your stay (the biggest selection of breads ive ever seen!) plus tea/coffee to help yourself to throughout the day......amazing!!!
They also supply free Wifi that actually works really well, a rare thing to find at a hostel these days!
There's also a track right beside the hostel that leads to the beach which is perfect for a lazy wake up stroll to the beach to relax, Agnes water beach & Seventeen Seventy is beautiful (the sunsets are unbelievable), its like a little undiscovered paradise.
Highly recommend you go there & stop by Beachside for some chillout time! Grab a surf while you're there too, at $17 its the best value you'll get anywhere along the coast & was so much fun! You can book local tours with the guys at reception too which is cool, they'll call them for you & arrange pick-ups.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

hey to all backpackers ;)
i´m at the moment (from 04.06.13 til 09.06.13) at the beachside backpackers and i got to say: it´s a very nice hostel.
The staff is very friendly, they have a free pick up from the busstation and help u whenever u need help. I ike to sleep long, so when the cleaners come to my room and see me still sleeping, they just go out and clean it later on, very nice! (have other expirience in most hostels..)
it´s nice clean in here, the hostel got a free ping pong and pool, have a big tv in the common room and free wi fi, wich is very fast compere to other hostels.
Well, the only thing here wich is not that nice is the kitchen, it is clean tho, but the pots, sink and stuff is inside and u have to cook outside so have to carry everythink from one place to the other, but at the moment they are building a cupboard outside, so its gonne be great.
Here is a free bbq as well and if u want to, u can book some tours and surf lessons at the rezeption.
So in total its really nice, the people are great, its clean, the rooms are not to small and cheap and if the kitchen is done, its gonne be amazing!

Room Tip: Normally u only have wi fi in the common room, but in room Nr. 1 (4 dorm) u still have wi fi.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

after 7 months of travelling in australia and more than 20 different hostels i came coincidentally to the beachside backpacker 1770 because some guys in my greyhound bus already booked it. it's about a 3 minute walk to the beach. the wifi is free AND fast, what is really surprising for australia! i stayed in a 10 bed dorm with own bathroom. room and bathroom are proper cleaned every morning. the outdoor bbq area is part of the kitchen and located next to the cooker. I had all in all a nice 3 nights stay. all the staff is friendly and i didn't have that feeling to be just a customer of a big hostel chain like in some other hostels before. after the arts factory in byron and the bounce in sydney, this hostel is definitely my favourite hostel so far in australia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeverinoGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

There is definately better hostels to stay at than this. We were picked up from the Greyhound which was good.but then it all went downhill, the rooms were small and smelt bad. We were in a 6 share and the air con didn't work ( even though there was a note on the wall to say that it would turn on automatically at 7pm) when we asked about this we were told it was turned off in winter ( even though it was still red hot on a night) the free breakfast was a loaf of bread left out for you to toast and the general cleanliness of the hostel was poor.We also heard good things about cool bananas and southern cross

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiepurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hostel looked pretty nice from the outside but wasn’t. We stayed in a 10 share which was ridiculously small, and extremely messy! It also had some staff members in there who got up early in the morning and woke everyone else up. The bathroom was ok but we were only given 1 toilet roll at a time which had then run out by 1pm everyday due to it being a 10 share female dorm! The hostel didn’t look anything like the pictures on the website and the bar area was all closed when we were there.
The staff were very clicky and didn’t really speak to guests, and the girl on reception was pretty rude when we asked about printing our Greyhound ticket. We didn’t get told what to do in the area either so we left Agnes Water thinking it was very boring. When we were leaving the staff left it to the very last minute to take us to the Greyhound bus and it was only due to the Greyhound being late that we didn’t miss it!
On the whole, I didn’t enjoy my stay here and wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently stayed in Beachside backpackers for 2 nights recommended by Tribal Travel. Where to begin? - We stayed in a 4 bed dorm, when we checked in our room was like a sauna and the 2 girls already in there advised us they'd asked staff about the air con and been told 'there's nothing we can do the manager turns it off in winter' we went and also complained and got given the same response!!

The bathroom light was broken, the girls had also complained about this the day before and were still without a light so we complained about this to. Again we were faced with staff who weren't helpful in the slightest. The cooking area is outside but the kitchen inside, both are disgusting. The kitchen smelt appalling and was obviously cleaned very infrequently if at all. There was not even a tea towel to dry anything so the people that did bother to do some washing up had to leave everything sopping wet.

The beds here were extremely uncomfortable with springs sticking up everywhere!

The hostel was full of 18 year olds more interested in drinking goon from their shoes than flushing the toilet and washing a dish. The staff are obviously working here for free accommodation as they didn't care that nothing in the hostel was working properly. There seemed to be no one in charge and they all just sat outside getting drunk rather than working.

One good thing about this hostel is that it is a very short walk from the beach.

Awful hostel - we heard good things about Southern Cross and Cool Bananas.

Room Tip: Choose another hostel!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTheBeach86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
0.7 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers @ 1770
Backpackers @ 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
#17 of 17 in Agnes Water
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Palms Beachside YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Palms Beachside YHA

Address: 52 Captain Cook Drive, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly Beachside Backpacker 1770)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range: $39 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside 1770 Accommodation modern and clean. The closest hostel to the main beach and the only hostel with direct access to it. Private rooms and 2-4-6-10 bed dorms. All rooms are air-conditioned and en-suite. Games and TV room, pool, bicycles, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE Geyhound pick-ups and FREE continental breakfast. People are blown away by the beauty of this area, the friendliness of the locals and the prices of the activities. This town is an absolute must for travellers! Our hostel has 48 beds located in a 6 year old building with air-con and en-suite in each room. The kitchen is always clean and well equipped! If you want to cook like the Aussies you can also prepare a nice meal on the BBQs in the hostel area. The entertainment area offers you comfy couches, board games, pool table and free movies and wireless internet, everything you need to chill out. The beach is so close you can hear the waves crashing and feel the sea breeze from your room! The beach is stunningly beautiful and it is very safe to swim. Walk to the beach directly from your room or take a dip in our private swimming pool. We are also only a 10 minute walk from the supermarket, shops and cafes of Agnes Water. We want you to feel at home and enjoy every minute of your stay. We all love our lifestyle here and that reflects on the way we look after our guests. You will have the best sleep in our air- conditioned 2, 4, 6 & 10 bed dorm rooms. Linen, blankets and pillows are provided with no additional cost. Each room has its own private bathroom with shower and toilet. Every room has lots of space and is very comfortable. The double rooms have their own TV and en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agnes Palms Beachside YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing