We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good (very) clean hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed in this hostel in Aug 2013 in a 6 dorm room and have to say it was great in terms of good night sleep, showers, toilets etc. Staff are crazy for cleaning, cleanest kitchen on the east coast no doubt about that - word of warning under no circumstances walk on the wet floor in kitchen! Can't fault this hostel overall though they should relax a little bit on the cleaning as you feel slightly uneasy with what seems like constant cleaning, plus rooms are being closed for far too long as a result of this. they should give out ear muffs at the desk as the aussie owner has a fair pair of lungs on him! haha!

p.s there is a LOT of people living and seemingly working in hostel(cleaning!) bit clicky as result!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 298 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I loved it there! Pity I couldn't stay longer :-/
People are great and make you feel at home. And the hostel is very clean - though it is cleaned by the backpackers. For example: the kitchen is cleaned four times a day! Furthermore the kitchen is big and they provide free coffee and tea all day long. There are two computers which you can use free of charge.
The rooms are big and the shared facilities are spacious and also clean ;-)
Safe travels! Leonie

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnenkind93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hostel. Pick up from greyhound stop is handy. Staff really helpful and friendly. Got driven to 1770 beach for free too which was an unexpected treat. Kitchen was the best I've seen, well equipped, spacey and clean. Rooms spacious, lounge room cosy and bonfire at night is a nice touch. Only fault I can find is no free wifi but there are two computers which are easily accessible. Great place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I Stayed here for nearly a week. the kitchen is well equipped. Greg the owner was great. helped us out alot.let me me borrow his fishing rod and showed me great places to fish around the area! camp fire every night what's great for socializing. 6 dollar meals every night. and 3 dollar crepes. very tasty. if your looking to have a few days to chill out from all the partying on the coast. stop here for a few days. the TV room is great to relax. comfy sofas. the bathrooms are very clean and showers are hot and powerful. i can imagine the people who have left bad reviews on this place are stuck up. or just idiots and don't respect anything or anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrison321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in August 2013 and found the hostel, staff and surrounding to be very pleasant. There is a nice guy there who goods good cheap dinners with lots of veg. Just what I needed. Georgia was really helpful in local tours and we did scooteroo and surfing. Great job to all the staff super clean and loads of fun. Will be back

Room Tip: watch for the snorers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The hostel was quite good, the rooms were fine and spacious. The bathrooms were quite far away and had loads of geckos and stuff but that's fine!!
There were nice areas to chill out like on hammocks. There was also a nice man who cooks every night we didn't do it but it looked nice, then there are lots of tables outside which are social. He also made delicious pancakes.
There was one man on reception though who was really rude and shouted at people!! Which kind of let it down a bit! There is a big area where people watch DVDs and stuff which was nice though

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiecharlotte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was told I was to abusive last time and my review was removed because of complaints which is really what Cool Bananas is all about.

As mentioned it is clean, rooms are super, kitchen clean but and its a big but: Dani the morning receptionist cum owner is ill mannered, uninformed and down right hostile to travellers. If you do not confirm your booking he will refuse you entry even though the place is one and half hours from anywhere else. Greg the other owner can swing from being very nice to down right rude and aggresive. He lectured me, in front of others, about drinking during the day. I do not drink yet could not get a word in edgeways to dispute this. And if you are cooking and Greg wants to clean the kitchen - out you go. The cleaners are lovely, other receptionists lovely, owners NOT SO MUCH! Agnes Water is worth maybe 24-48 hrs visit and there are other hostels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walksfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agnes Water hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers @ 1770
Backpackers @ 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
204 reviews
2 mi away
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
#12 of 17 in Agnes Water
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
#8 of 17 in Agnes Water
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango Tree Motel
Mango Tree Motel
#2 of 3 in Agnes Water
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge

Address: 2 Springs Rd | 1770, north of Bundaberg, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range: $43 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing