We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was told I was to abusive last time and my review was removed because of complaints which is really what Cool Bananas is all about.

As mentioned it is clean, rooms are super, kitchen clean but and its a big but: Dani the morning receptionist cum owner is ill mannered, uninformed and down right hostile to travellers. If you do not confirm your booking he will refuse you entry even though the place is one and half hours from anywhere else. Greg the other owner can swing from being very nice to down right rude and aggresive. He lectured me, in front of others, about drinking during the day. I do not drink yet could not get a word in edgeways to dispute this. And if you are cooking and Greg wants to clean the kitchen - out you go. The cleaners are lovely, other receptionists lovely, owners NOT SO MUCH! Agnes Water is worth maybe 24-48 hrs visit and there are other hostels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walksfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    60
    22
    17
    17
See reviews for
3
38
106
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Upon arrival I was greeted by the hostel owner. He was friendly and showed me and others to our rooms. The hostel was clean and had anything you could need or ask for. With an IGA next door, beach down the road and amazing people in the hostel, it was hard to leave Cool Bananas! There was a chilled, hippy atmosphere that suited me and the layout of the bonfire and tables made meeting people very easy. I miss this hostel and Agnes Water so much!

Room Tip: If you stay downstairs, you have easy access to the hammocks outside your door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tidge93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sad to say our short stay in this hostel was not an enjoyable one.

Aside from that the rooms, kitchen area, outside seating, bathrooms, reception etc were all kept to the highest of standards. Everything is cleaned daily which is the main thing going for this hostel.

Unfortunately the hostel owner named Greg let the whole thing down with his aggressive temper and pure ignorance to his paying guests.
We stayed in the hostel for 1 night at the beginning of June and in the 24 hour period I was there he had managed to verbally abuse at least 4 people, myself included!

We were made to feel so small and like we weren't welcome it was enough for us to check out and move to a different hostel.

This man is a bully and a coward and he definitely does not deserve your custom. The whole ordeal was a complete disgrace!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gracey1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Intended to stay 1 Night, ended up staying for about 3 Months. Cool B's is the best Place in Agnes:

- Close to the Mainbeach as well as smaler, remote Bays. (5min walk at max.)
- Very clean
- Big and very attractive communal Area with heaps of chill People to talk to
- Very clean

Room Tip: Stick to the Rules and the "hot-headed" Manager will become a very valuable and chill Frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eikest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we arrivedon the 8pm greyhound we were met and picked up, taken to hostel and the check in was smooth and relaxed, very imformative. We were shown to our room, nice and clean and big - 8 beds but only 6 in use. The reception lady asked if everything in our room was ok, we said yes and asked why it dshouldn't she said another guest was playing up a bit. We knew who she meant this girl was drunk and ready to fall out with everyone in the hostel. At 9pm her partner put her to bed. We were offered another room but decided against it as the girl was in bed so no problem. However that night she decided to throw up in the room, in the door way on the balcony and turn the light on for an hour each time while she threw up. She was shouting at the top of her voice and basically the person you don;t want in your room! Fine not the hostels problem so didn't complain about this.

We then go to checkout the next morning and drop off our sheets and the bloke, with glasses and short hair on reception was so rude. He shouted at us for not putting the blankets in the right palce, there is nothing to tell you otherwise. He shouted at us aabout where to put our bags. He shouted at the next guest for not speaking loud enough. He shouted at all of us in the itchen as someone had turned on the lights (no one that was in the kitchen but he didn't ask to find that out). I asked for a new lighter for the hobs and he threw a wobbly about that too. The manager/ owner shouted at some customers saying he knew it was them who had stolen a wallet the night before, they had no idea whaat was going on. Thought this was really unprofessional. Would I stay again? Not if the same staff were there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hostel overall looks good and initially comes across very well. However I felt that the manager and other male receptionist were extremely unhelpful and arrogant. Their attitude made me never want to stay there again or recommend to anyone, which is a shame because there are a few good points. For example it is very clean and does have a chilled out feel to it. They have $6 meals certain days of the week which are quite good quality for the money.

I have had several friends that have stayed there after me and had exactly the same issues. 2 friends who had a late bus was cast out onto the street at 2am in spite of the fact they had their booking voucher. Staff did not want to even see it and told them to find somewhere else I stay. At 2am!? Extremely bad booking system so ensure that you have your booking reference to hand when checking in as this was not the first and last time I saw this type of thing happen in the short time I was there.

Staff really need to sort themselves out because I heard the same complaints several times over along my route. This is an okay hostel not gods gift to hostels as a couple of the staff seem to think.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99jonesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a trip through agnes water. Unfortunately the weather was awful so we spent a lot of time inside. Luckily the common area is great with loads of sofas and bean bags and a TV with a huge selection of DVDs to pick from.

The rooms were a good size giving each person enough space for their bags. It did get quite noisy at night as there was a group congregated outside our room, if you're upstairs it's probably not as much of a problem.

The cleanest hostel I've stayed in, can be a bit annoying when you want to be in the kitchen/chilling in the lounge but definitely worth it for the cleanliness!!

We found staff very helpful when trying to book surfing lessons as we'd missed ours due to a late bus and trying to get private lessons in the afternoon. I think it was the owner who could be quite short with people, as long as you don't take offence or simply follow the hostel rules you won't have a problem!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.3 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers @ 1770
Backpackers @ 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
172 reviews
2.0 mi away
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
#10 of 17 in Agnes Water
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 2 in Agnes Water
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#5 of 17 in Agnes Water
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge

Property: Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Address: 2 Springs Rd | 1770, north of Bundaberg, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing