We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing, quiet.”

Getaway Garden Cafe
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Agnes Water
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Relax in the leafy setting of our Garden Cafe and enjoy our delicious menu of fresh meals, desserts, and fresh juices featuring locally sourced ingredients that we lovingly prepare in our kitchen each day. Fresh juices, loose leaf teas and our superior blend of Campos Coffee is available for you to enjoy all day, and you'll always find our dessert cabinet stocked with beautiful home-made cakes, slices, tortes, and pastries. We're sure to have gluten free and dairy free options on hand, and we've been told our vanilla slice is the best on the Discovery Coast! Sunday to Friday we offer a full breakfast menu from 8am to 11am. Our Lunch starts from 11:30am and goes through to 2:30pm. There is a large variety of choices to suit everyone and we are always looking to try something new in one of our daily specials using fresh seasonal produce from the local areas. The quality of our food and meals is of the highest importance to us. From the free range eggs to the large variety of artisan baked breads we aim to always source the best available product for our menus. The Garden Cafe is open Wednesday and Sunday for our famous Spit Lamb Roast (with all the home-made trimmings!) And traditional wood-fired pizzas. These special nights are hugely popular with the locals, so bookings are essential to avoid disappointment. Our Garden Cafe is not licensed so you're welcome to BYO. Our menus change often, so you can keep up to date with what's happening in our kitchen on facebook and instagram
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice location with a great atmossphere. Great vanilla slice with the coffee an also try the Roast on Wednedays and Sundays. Yum

Thank DMC2010122207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 364 of 413 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

bicentennial dr just in the resort. Lovely cafe with the deck overlooking the large pond. Food was simple but tasty home made delights. Well worth a visit. And the kids can run around in the lovely gardens

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shaotung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visit Getaway Garden Cafe everytime we are back in Agnes Water. The ambience of the cafe is great and the food is good. The gardens make it a real Getaway haven though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jandsgoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived to a fabulous setting and serenity. The food is fresh, prepared very well and priced accordingly. The place made us feel so relaxed that we stayed longer, enjoyed perfectly brewed coffee and the lightest vanilla slice we have ever had. It's a little out of town but worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tritonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matex, Manager at Getaway Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hi Tritonguy, Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Garden Cafe. We go out of our way to ensure our customers get the best experience possible from the moment they arrive. A piece of vanilla slice and a Campos Coffee is definitely an unbeatable combination! :) We hope you visit next time you are in Agnes Water/1770

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had lunch here last year and enjoyed great pizza! We had been looking forward to the roast night ever since and finally got there tonight.
Noooooo!!! It was so ordinary! The star (?!) of the show (lamb) was murdered- overdone, over seasoned and close to inedible. There were a few, half heartedly roasted vegetables and a reasonable salad. Gravy was nice.
the worst part for us was waiting over an hour for our kids pizza, despite ordering it early. They were starving!!
Positives: the pizza was great!! It is a lovely restaurant, in a beautiful setting. Maybe we just struck a bad night? We will try again for the lunch menu...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lindsaydoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matex, Manager at Getaway Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Lindsaydoug,

We are sorry the Lamb Roast was not up to your expectations. Your review came as a big surprise as the overwhelming feedback from the night was nothing but positive. A number of tables mentioned that it was the best lamb and roast they had ever had? Reading your review I can only come to the conclusion that you were expecting it to be served rare? Spit roast lamb is served well done but still retains its tenderness, flavour and moisture due to the method of cooking.

Regarding the waiting time for the pizza this to has been over dramatised (like your description of the lamb) and is simply not true. The pizza was served at the same time as the lamb. We try to time the serving of the pizza and lamb together so everyone at the table eats together. You knew what time the lamb would be served. In any case it was not more than 40 Minutes from the time your order was taken and the pizzas were held back to be served with the lamb.
Next time I would suggest for the benefit of yourself and the restaurant you are eating at please mention if you would like the kids meals to be bought our ASAP or before the mains. We are only here to try and serve you best and we understand what it is like to have hungry kids! Where possible we will always do it. We have also highlighted this issue with our customer service team and have asked them to be proactive with offering kids meals to be bought out ASAP where possible for big tables or at lamb nights where tables come in early and order pizza.

I would also encourage you in future to please address any issues with the staff or management on the night. On most instances we can address any problem you may have and ensure you leave full and satisfied.

Best regards,

Elvis Ferinac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getaway Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Agnes Water, Queensland
Agnes Water, Queensland
 

Been to Getaway Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing