We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding wood oven pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Getaway Garden Cafe

Getaway Garden Cafe
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Agnes Water
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relax in the leafy setting of our Garden Cafe and enjoy our delicious menu of fresh meals, desserts, and fresh juices featuring locally sourced ingredients that we lovingly prepare in our kitchen each day. Fresh juices, loose leaf teas and our superior blend of Campos Coffee is available for you to enjoy all day, and you'll always find our dessert cabinet stocked with beautiful home-made cakes, slices, tortes, and pastries. We're sure to have gluten free and dairy free options on hand, and we've been told our vanilla slice is the best on the Discovery Coast! Sunday to Friday we offer a full breakfast menu from 8am to 11am. Our Lunch starts from 11:30am and goes through to 2:30pm. There is a large variety of choices to suit everyone and we are always looking to try something new in one of our daily specials using fresh seasonal produce from the local areas. The quality of our food and meals is of the highest importance to us. From the free range eggs to the large variety of artisan baked breads we aim to always source the best available product for our menus. The Garden Cafe is open Wednesday and Sunday for our famous Spit Lamb Roast (with all the home-made trimmings!) And traditional wood-fired pizzas. These special nights are hugely popular with the locals, so bookings are essential to avoid disappointment. Our Garden Cafe is not licensed so you're welcome to BYO. Our menus change often, so you can keep up to date with what's happening in our kitchen on facebook and instagram
ancaster, ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding wood oven pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautiful garden setting. Lovely family run operation. Pizza takes a little longer but its worth the wait. At night it was a bit tricky to find but I'm sure a friendly local can direct you. We were recommended to it by Krista and Corey at the spectacular 1770 Beach Shacks. Check out their glowing reviews as well

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank racefan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    76
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Agnes Waters best coffee and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a last minute brunch to wrap up an excellent weekend of partying in an amazing rental property in one of Agnes Waters private estates. Unfortunately we had to meet a deadline with planes etc to catch as I could easily have spent the whole day at the Getaway.
Unfortunately the other cafes etc I tried over the weekend were less than impressive. Currently living in Melbourne you could say my expectations of a great coffee and customer service are challenging.
We were greeted by an intelligent and engaging young lady named Carla who is very passionate about your experience at this cafe and was more than happy to answer our large groups questions regarding the menu, items for sale, etc.
The breakfast menu reads really well and accomodates all dietry requirements. Our large group of 9 pretty much ordered the complete menu and we were advised that it would take longer to prepare than you would expect at a full time cafe. (The Getaway rings of a european small family business set in a very well built indoor/outdoor tropical envoiroment)
Well let me tell you, once the milkshakes and coffees came out I started to get excited. My latte was without doubt one of the best I have ever experienced in all my life long travels, definately top 3. Then came the food which was simply outstanding!!
I would loved to have found this place earlier in the weekend to try the other meals they have to offer especially the wood fire pizzas. Thank you Getaway and in particular Carla for great way to end a fantastic weekend in Agnes Waters.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Best breakfast in town by far! Go for the poached eggs. Great service in lovely garden surrounds, so a great way to start the day! If we'd been in Ages Water longer we sure would have gone back for more. And the five garden cottages looked cute.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ByoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“That Personal Touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Relatives were in town to celebrate my birthday, and we needed space for my 18 month old Grandy to do her thing without encroaching of the enjoyment of others. Staff at 'Getaway' were great, there was an obvious desire to look after our needs from the moment we arrived. Meaning, we were able to enjoy our meal, chat at leisure. beside their huge grassy area,and sheltered walkways. Almost forgot about the freshness of the salad, bread and sweets, and the very tasty main meals. We will definitely be back, with and without the family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie-Jo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water, Australia
1 review
“outstanding place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

1770 Getaway provides everything your after when holidays. A wonderful meal at a reasonable price in truly beautiful landscaped gardens. A must go to and try the woodfired pizza followed by the amazing to die for vanilla slice(YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drichards99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getaway Garden Cafe also viewed

 
Agnes Water, Queensland
Agnes Water, Queensland
 

Been to Getaway Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing