We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a family gathering and had 3 of the cabins, which felt like we had the place to ourselves. The hosts were great. Very family friendly and lots of space for my son to ride his bike and play, no complaints at all about our stay. It was all the beautiful extra touches that made it a great stay. I hope we will get back there soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks for the nice review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and I hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 92 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were happy with LaLaLand at first for the ample outdoors and the spacious cottage. The hotel is about 2 Km from the center of Agnes Water. It is imperative to have a car to move about. If you do not plan to drive your own car, then I'd recommend to stay in the town center. We stayed at the Blue Heaven cottage, where we had a bathroom for sharing in between 2 bedrooms. The cottage was cute and, though mostly equipped with furniture from IKEA, it was pleasantly set up. Our daughter stayed in the bedroom with a set of bunk beds and it worked perfectly well. Our bedroom had a relatively comfortable bed, though we could feel some division in the middle of the mattress. There was a cabinet with shelves and side tables for storage. Though the bathroom was large, the shower space was small. The open kitchen was well-equipped for cooking and we'd only suggest adding a large pot for cooking pasta, a small frying pan, and sponge for washing the dishes (only cloth provided). There was a good-sized fridge. There was a TV, but we never turned it on, so I cannot comment here. There were large windows everywhere ensuring plenty of light and air flow. Mostly, the cottage was clean, except for the toilette. Overall, the cottage was very pleasant. In addition, there was one covered parking space and a line for drying clothes that could be washed in the laundry area opposite the office. There was only one washer available, so I am not sure how it would work out if all cottages had been occupied by guests.

The only 2 people we'd occasionally see at the hotel grounds were Lisa and Kent, but mostly Kent. It seemed there were no other people working there. Lisa was an extremely pleasant, polite and inviting hostess. Too bad she was not around most of the day, since she also runs a store in the centre of Agnes Water. We found Kent not to be as approachable, for every time we had a question about hikes and other things to do, his first response was usually negative. It was hard to get information from him and this became frustrating to us. Since we could not capture the Wi-Fi connection to get information, we felt that we should be able to count on him to give us some tips, but it was useless.

It was nice having a little house just for ourselves, but here are what might be cons to some:

1. I had seen here one review mentioning about noise from the road. It is true. Though the cottages are far from the road, the open space allows noise to travel easily and we could perfectly hear cars driving past. But the one thing that bothered me the most and that woke me up every single morning was the beeping of a commercial vehicle constantly maneuvering early in the morning before 6 a.m.. It sounded as if it were inside the hotel. When I spoke to Kent about it, he said it was probably coming from the hardware store next door, but would not admit to having heard it.

2. The cottage was never cleaned while we were there (5 days). There was a broom and mop available and although this is very useful in case your child spills something on the floor, it was not in our plans to do major cleaning during vacation. I am not sure if there were any cleaning products, for I could not find them. There was a toilette brush, but no toilette cleaning product, so the toilette became quite a nuisance with time, even because when we arrived it already had a brown crust inside it. In 2 days, it stunk quite a bit and by the end of 5 days I was glad to leave it behind. We washed our dishes, which did not bother us a bit, but we wish there would have been a room service every other day to keep things pleasant.

3. The cottages are about I'd say 5 to 7 meters apart from each other, an easy distance for losing privacy, but we were lucky to have polite "neighbors."

4. LaLaLand has only one small office. There is no common area to meet up. We missed having a central, common area where we would be able to occasionally meet with the managers and other guests to discuss about trips and ideas. The result is that it is quite a lonely place and we spent very little time in the hotel grounds. We found that "peaceful" does not have to be "lonely."

5. There is a small pool available behind the main house. We didn't find it particularly attractive or inviting, for it was surrounded by a fence and it was always empty, and our daughter never asked to go in, so we never did.

6. Be prepared for the smoke alarm. Cooking would always trigger it, even if all windows were open for air flow, and we didn't burn anything. That was quite annoying, and deafening.

7. Wi-Fi did not work, though I was told it was available. There was no way my iPhone would detect it from the cottage or anywhere else. I enquired about it a couple of times and was given a login for it, but could never detect it.

Basically, at LaLaLand, you pay for the room only. I am sure that if you have an issue and speak with Lisa, she will try to fix it. There is nothing else, really. No one asked us how we felt about our stay and we left with an unattached sense. To us, the place lacked charm and warmth, but it was good enough for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2NO-mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

This review reminds us of the conversations we had with you... long, pretentious and complaining. After scanning through your other reviews, we see that LaLaLand is in good company. We are happy to accept constructive criticism, however, we can't accept complete lies. With only 4 cottages on acreage, they are well spaced and private, compared to usual holiday accommodation. We have a tour desk and shop with 3 passionate knowledgeable staff, a common area (with WiFi) which is fully self contained for bbqs and includes our famous "free washing up service", the hardware is about 1/2km away on the opposite side of the road, pool is fully fenced as per council regulations for safety. Kent did enquire as to your well being on many occassions and advice was freely given including lengthy advice from our apparently invisible gardener regarding the national parks. The only negative was that you didn't have a 4WD to access these beautiful areas. We do not offer nor advertise "room service", but will always change towels and linen on request. We try hard to please everyone but clearly you are in the "too hard basket". We sincerely hope the rest of your family enjoyed their holiday - they appeared to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

SO HAPPY we made this little spot off on our way up the coast!!!!! The setting, the staff, the atmosphere, everything was simply PERFECT!! The villas are totally self contained, clean, modern and stylish. The owners were SO helpful and just all round beautiful people, willing to help out with every aspect of our stay from activities in 1770 to suggestions for our further travels!! Beautiful chilled out property amongst some of the most beautiful beaches on the coast!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommmmmmmmmmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Wow, you really did enjoy Agnes and LaLaLand. It is so nice when someone appreciates what we do. Thanks heaps and come by again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Plenty of space inside and out. Large Jack & Jill bathroom so we used one bedroom as a dressing room. Good lounging and eating areas. Clearly child friendly (shame we didn't take one) Only there for one night but would have been happy to make it more

Room Tip: All cabins looked OK to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, it does seem that you enjoyed your short stay here and I think that your heading of 'lonely' is not a reference to LaLaLand, but something more cryptic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you charge people for something,
At least make sure they get it! We paid to be in the 'pet friendly' cabin, with a fully
Fenced yard, however when we got there, (we confirmed booking 2 days prior) they put us in another cabin thing, with no immediate fencing, therefor our poor dog had to be tied up every time we left to do anything :( yet we were charged and told we would be in a cabin with a small court yard that is fully fenced! Annoying!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

I’m shocked... It is a shame you never bought this issue up during the several times I conversed with you and your husband while staying here, because I could have shown that you were actually upgraded to a newer, larger more expensive cottage with an extra bathroom, extra air-cons, large flat screen tv, large private covered patio area, and when you closed the gate... you had 5 dog fenced acres to yourselves. You in fact got much more than you paid for, we upgraded you (at our expense) and being a military transfer, I wonder how much YOU actually paid. You had to tie your dog up because it was hell-bent on escaping. This is not a reflection of my accommodation; it is a job for Cesar Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice cottages - very clean which we appreciated highly. The furniture and colours are selected with care. The beds are good, the linen nice on the skin. There is reverse cycle air-conditioning, but no dishwasher. The appointment of the kitchen is mediocre but sufficient. With only a few cottages, the set up is private and for the 8 nights we stayed there was hardly anyone around. Also the pool we could enjoy always on our own. The owners are welcoming and helpful.
We have a dog and the facilities for the companions are exceptional. They have a little run in the garden where they can sniff and have a rest. The cottage where we stayed had two kennels on the veranda which our dog loved and immediately occupied. We liked that there is a dog-outside policy, so the cottage was not spoiled with dog hair/smell etc.
Altogether we had a very good time and would consider coming back again.
Other notes:
1. Loud - we come from the countryside and were not used to the car noises coming from the nearby road. Being so far from everywhere we thought it would be as quiet as home. City dweller might not notice but for the country people: there is quite a bit of traffic around!
2. There is a nice garden and a small, beautiful, peaceful pool, however there are no lounges around the pool for a little snooze and there are not hammocks in the garden and also on the little cottage veranda there are only 2 chairs. We had to go inside and use our bed for our lunch time nap. We would have loved to enjoyed the garden a bit more “in that respect” as well.
3. Unless you like walking more than us – you have to be aware that you need a car to get to the beach and/or to get your supplies. It is a little bit of a distance into the “centre” and other cafes or restaurants.
4. For a larger group (4 people) there might not be enough storage space in the cottage.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrauStrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Your review reads more like a report however I consider it to be fair. Vehicle noise is an intrusion to the wind and bird song even though it is infrequent and some considerable distance away, but as you write, you do live in a very quiet place. I must say that I did enjoy your company and I will never forget your extremely well behaved dog. It would be lovely if you can make it back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place, we were only there one night but could have easily spent a week! Well equipped for families. The wooden ship was especially a hit with our almost 3 year old. Hosts Lisa and Kent were both very friendly and took time to chat to us. We will definitely be returning to Lala Land! Absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 548Sarah548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks for that amazing review. I am adding things all the time to LaLaLand including more for kids. I look forward to your return. (for longer)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.9 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 3 in Agnes Water
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#4 of 17 in Agnes Water
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#15 of 17 in Agnes Water
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Agnes Water
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery

Address: 61 Bicentennial Dr, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly LaLaLand Eco Holiday Retreat Agnes Water)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range: $103 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovely Cottages - the perfect place to kick back, relax and reconnect with family and friends. Home of the KENT BARTON ART GALLERY. Meet Kent and stroll around the outdoor art gallery among the trees and Lovely Island at the turtle pond. Native turtles, birds, kangaroos and plants. We can even package your accommodation with tours and activities. Groups, couples, singles, families - each cottage sleeps 3 people in two bedrooms. Spoil yourself in a two bedroom, Brand new, air conditioned, screened, modern, self-contained free standing cottage. * Purpose built disabled accommodation available.* With well appointed kitchen, dining, lounge, two full size separate bedrooms plus a huge two-way en-suited bathroom. Laundry facilities * Relax in the lagoon style pool under the shady mature palm trees.* Toast marshmallows around the campfire while you gaze at millions of stars...unseen in the city. * Peaceful setting on 5 1/2 landscaped acres right in the middle of Agnes Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing