We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT in every way!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery
GreenLeadersGold level
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT in every way!!!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

SO HAPPY we made this little spot off on our way up the coast!!!!! The setting, the staff, the atmosphere, everything was simply PERFECT!! The villas are totally self contained, clean, modern and stylish. The owners were SO helpful and just all round beautiful people, willing to help out with every aspect of our stay from activities in 1770 to suggestions for our further travels!! Beautiful chilled out property amongst some of the most beautiful beaches on the coast!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommmmmmmmmmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wow, you really did enjoy Agnes and LaLaLand. It is so nice when someone appreciates what we do. Thanks heaps and come by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Plenty of space inside and out. Large Jack & Jill bathroom so we used one bedroom as a dressing room. Good lounging and eating areas. Clearly child friendly (shame we didn't take one) Only there for one night but would have been happy to make it more

Room Tip: All cabins looked OK to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, it does seem that you enjoyed your short stay here and I think that your heading of 'lonely' is not a reference to LaLaLand, but something more cryptic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you charge people for something,
At least make sure they get it! We paid to be in the 'pet friendly' cabin, with a fully
Fenced yard, however when we got there, (we confirmed booking 2 days prior) they put us in another cabin thing, with no immediate fencing, therefor our poor dog had to be tied up every time we left to do anything :( yet we were charged and told we would be in a cabin with a small court yard that is fully fenced! Annoying!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
I’m shocked... It is a shame you never bought this issue up during the several times I conversed with you and your husband while staying here, because I could have shown that you were actually upgraded to a newer, larger more expensive cottage with an extra bathroom, extra air-cons, large flat screen tv, large private covered patio area, and when you closed the gate... you had 5 dog fenced acres to yourselves. You in fact got much more than you paid for, we upgraded you (at our expense) and being a military transfer, I wonder how much YOU actually paid. You had to tie your dog up because it was hell-bent on escaping. This is not a reflection of my accommodation; it is a job for Cesar Millan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice cottages - very clean which we appreciated highly. The furniture and colours are selected with care. The beds are good, the linen nice on the skin. There is reverse cycle air-conditioning, but no dishwasher. The appointment of the kitchen is mediocre but sufficient. With only a few cottages, the set up is private and for the 8 nights we stayed there was hardly anyone around. Also the pool we could enjoy always on our own. The owners are welcoming and helpful.
We have a dog and the facilities for the companions are exceptional. They have a little run in the garden where they can sniff and have a rest. The cottage where we stayed had two kennels on the veranda which our dog loved and immediately occupied. We liked that there is a dog-outside policy, so the cottage was not spoiled with dog hair/smell etc.
Altogether we had a very good time and would consider coming back again.
Other notes:
1. Loud - we come from the countryside and were not used to the car noises coming from the nearby road. Being so far from everywhere we thought it would be as quiet as home. City dweller might not notice but for the country people: there is quite a bit of traffic around!
2. There is a nice garden and a small, beautiful, peaceful pool, however there are no lounges around the pool for a little snooze and there are not hammocks in the garden and also on the little cottage veranda there are only 2 chairs. We had to go inside and use our bed for our lunch time nap. We would have loved to enjoyed the garden a bit more “in that respect” as well.
3. Unless you like walking more than us – you have to be aware that you need a car to get to the beach and/or to get your supplies. It is a little bit of a distance into the “centre” and other cafes or restaurants.
4. For a larger group (4 people) there might not be enough storage space in the cottage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrauStrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Your review reads more like a report however I consider it to be fair. Vehicle noise is an intrusion to the wind and bird song even though it is infrequent and some considerable distance away, but as you write, you do live in a very quiet place. I must say that I did enjoy your company and I will never forget your extremely well behaved dog. It would be lovely if you can make it back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great place, we were only there one night but could have easily spent a week! Well equipped for families. The wooden ship was especially a hit with our almost 3 year old. Hosts Lisa and Kent were both very friendly and took time to chat to us. We will definitely be returning to Lala Land! Absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 548Sarah548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for that amazing review. I am adding things all the time to LaLaLand including more for kids. I look forward to your return. (for longer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were so impressed with LaLaLand. From the beginning, we felt like family. The Captain's Lodge is the huge 5 bedroom home on the property. My kids were especially taken with the full-sized pool table. They would have been just as happy hanging out at the house and playing pool the whole time. We were pleasantly surprised by how roomy the house felt. I thought it must have been recently updated because it was so clean. Come to find out it was over 8 years old. Great value! We were having trouble finding a large house that would rent for less than a week. LaLaLand was very accommodating. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The6monkeyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Yes, Captain's Lodge is a delight to all who stay there. Thank you for your kind words and I hope you can make it back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My boyfriend and and I arrived in Agnes Water having not pre-booked anything, and were devastated to find nearly everything in town to be booked out.
One helpful lady recommended we try "Lalaland" which is a little bit away from the action and beach.
However, that's it's only drawback.
We absolutely LOVED our bright red self contained cabin and the service was fantastic. We mentioned to the guy (sorry, can't remember his name) that we felt like watching some DVDs and he lent us a couple from his own private collection free of charge.
The cabin was gorgeous - beautifully furnished and very serene. Comfy couches, great kitchen, nice bathroom... It's like having your own little house!
After a quick trip to the supermarket we sat on our deck and drank wine in the peace and quiet - it was great.
If we ever go back to 1770, this is exactly where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eblatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaLaLandAgnes, Owner at The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you guys, and you have been back since this review. I do hope you will continue to do so. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.9 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#4 of 17 in Agnes Water
319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 2 in Agnes Water
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mango Tree Motel
Mango Tree Motel
#2 of 2 in Agnes Water
153 reviews
3.9 mi away
1770 Beach Shacks
1770 Beach Shacks
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery

Property: The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery
Address: 61 Bicentennial Dr, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly LaLaLand Eco Holiday Retreat Agnes Water)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovely Cottages - the perfect place to kick back, relax and reconnect with family and friends. Home of the KENT BARTON ART GALLERY. Meet Kent and stroll around the outdoor art gallery among the trees and Lovely Island at the turtle pond. Native turtles, birds, kangaroos and plants. We can even package your accommodation with tours and activities. Groups, couples, singles, families - each cottage sleeps up to 5 people in two bedrooms. Spoil yourself in a two bedroom, Brand new, air conditioned, screened, modern, self-contained free standing cottage. * Purpose built disabled accommodation available.* With well appointed kitchen, dining, lounge, two full size separate bedrooms plus a huge two-way en-suited bathroom. Laundry facilities * Relax in the lagoon style pool under the shady mature palm trees.* Toast marshmallows around the campfire while you gaze at millions of stars...unseen in the city. * Create great family memories playing cricket or footy on the enormous lawn areas. * Peaceful setting on 5 1/2 landscaped acres right in the middle of Agnes Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lovely Cottages and Outdoor Art Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing