We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agnes Water
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shutters on the Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great family location”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We recently stayed at Shutters and really enjoyed the stay. We had two families with 3 children. There was heaps of room for the kids to run around and with only a 1 minute stroll to the beach there was no effort required to duck down the beach for a swim and swing by the pool on the way back.

The house was well equipped and had everything that you needed for your stay.

Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1uke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elbasan, Albania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

one of the best places I've ever had the pleasure of staying, everything about it was just perfect,a part of me doesn't want to tell anyone about it, but that would be doing an injustice to the lovely owners, Well done if you want the perfect getaway for any occassion then this is the best place in the area bar none.
THANK YOU IT WAS PERFECT

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willking46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a long overdue review, we stayed last Sept, just as the season was warming up enough to swim. The house (in fact 2 large duplexes) was great for our romantic getaway but it would be equally fantastic for an extended family gathering. In fact hire both and you get a brilliant spot for a big wedding / anniversary / whatever gathering. Thoughtfully and extensively stocked with EVERYTHING you need - the kitchen is great for foodies and can easily handle a large catering job - you won't mind that local dining options are limited as its perfect for self-catering. However hosts Kiki and Ange will point you to the right spots when you want it. The are great hosts - handy when you need them and invisible when you don't. This spot, right on a beautiful long, untouristy beach, comfortably furnished and with privacy and a great pool are is just perfect for getting away from the big smoke and chilling way out. We certainly intend repeat visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We have visited Shutters three times now in a group of four and every time has been an absolute delight. Ange and Kiki are wonderful hosts making us feel so very welcome and part of their world wide 'family'. Their attention to detail is astounding, the kitchen is fit for a Chef (which in fact Ange is) down to the beautifully sharp Global knives, the bbq is spotless and in excellent working order, the frig has the basics plus a few lovely little gifts to get the holiday started on a bubbly note and all is sparkling clean.

The pool is quite delightful and the loungers up on a platform overlooking the beach is a great place to relax with a good book. The bird and animal life is fun to watch and we hope the baby owl they were looking after finally flies.

All in all, not a bad word to be said. A great place for solitude or a family holiday. Peaceful, serene and quite heavenly. We travel the world constantly and Shutters remains one of our favourite places.

Thanks Ange and Kiki, you always make our holiday very special.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank professional2ourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at Shutters for 7 nights from 28 December. This was our 4th trip to Agnes Water and clearly Shutters was the best place we have ever stayed in there (comparable to many five star establishments we have stayed in both in Australia and overseas) We travelled with another group of friends (also a family of 4) and never found the place to be cramped in any way - the accommodation was of an exceptional standard and there was plenty of space in all respects. All facilities were of a very high standard and very well maintained. The swimming pool was great - relaxing and also a lap pool so we could also exercise (if we felt so inclined). The beach was a few metres away and really felt like our own private beach - of course the private deck complete with deck chairs overlooking the beach completed the picture.

A wonderful place to stay with friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Shutters on the Beach was the best part of Agnes Water/1770 for us. First of all, the house is immaculate, with plenty of space. We were there with our 3 kids, and my husband's parents in their own suite, so they could lock themselves away from us if need be. (They had a king bed and ensuite, and we had a queen, king/singles, and 2 sets of bunks, so there was plenty of room for the 7 of us). It would be perfect for a couple of families, and it is a duplex, so you could have another couple of families on the other side if you wanted to have a big reunion. The living area is on the third floor, which means that it is high enough for ocean views, as there are height and setback restrictions at Agnes. This means that when you're out on the beach, it still seems untouched, as there aren't hundreds of buildings beside you. That was a GREAT plan which makes the beach experience fantastic. The beach is just right across the backyard, which also has a nice swimming pool. We enjoyed some longboarding up by the point and taught our 7 year old to surf. We did go on a reef tour to Fitzroy, which was quite nice but I'd recommend it for families of kids 12 and over, as our little ones couldn't really snorkel properly. Renting a kayak up by 1770 was a nice thing to do.
The best cappucino in town was actually from the machine at the Shutters house. The kitchen is fitted out really well, you certainly won't be disappointed with that. I unfortunatley didn't take many photos inside the house, but can confirm that the photos on their website are accurate. The owners are really nice people, and I think that Shutters is probably the best place to stay at Agnes/1770. Surf out the backyard, and close to the shops as well, but you are in your own private world.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
0.9 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#4 of 17 in Agnes Water
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavillions on 1770
Pavillions on 1770
#1 of 2 in Agnes Water
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Sunbird Gardens
Sunbird Gardens
#9 of 17 in Agnes Water
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters on the Beach

Property: Shutters on the Beach
Address: Thomson St, Agnes Water, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wow factor !!!Two beach houses situated right in town on 4 acres of absolute beachfront - 50 metres from the beach, total privacy, tranquillity, & sand dunes for a backyard !! No estates.Designed to accommodate a maximum of 6 guests in each house but also available for couples or smaller groups in non holiday times.The airial picture shows the perfect little mini resort created in this amazing property….beautifully landscaped with lots of room to move , play and relax.Private viewing platform, 18 metre pool, pushbikes, vespas,surfboards, boogie boards also available to hire.The beach houses have everything you need for your beach escape - lots of outside decks & living to enjoy the sounds & smells of the sea.If you want the ‘wow factor’ these luxurious beach houses have it all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing