We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one night stay”
Review of Mango Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mango Tree Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Agnes Water B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location, adequate parking, clean and tidy. Unfortunately, the room smelled as though it had been sprayed by a cat and although there had been some attempt to air it, it was rather pungent. This was one of the more expensive places we stayed at during our road trip and I don't think the price was justified really.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Owner at Mango Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Your review was disappointing. We do not allow animals in rooms and we regularly have carpets steam cleaned. We also have many guests stay for up to a week. We believe tariffs are fair and we are in great position, close to the beach and shops - easy walking. Double rooms have been refurbished within last 12 months and family rooms will be done in the next 6 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

MangoTree is an earlier style motel which provides basic accommodation, is very clean and reasonably priced considering so close to beach and can walk to shops. Impression that it is well-managed. Windows gave good cross-ventilation so didn’t need aircon. There was a decent bedhead light for reading or can watch wall TV from bed. Bedspreads had a cheerful tropical motif and looked new. Building is one level with carports at front of units plus a basic plastic o/door setting. There is internal dining setting but no lounge chairs. On the Sat night occupancy lent towards some shared celebration but was not disruptive. Second night we ate at 'Bustards', an attached cafe/restaurant which has a great “holiday” feel – hubby recommends the lamb; my duck average. I didn’t see a pool. Short walk to beach through a small park. Too early for lifesavers, water cold, very few swimmer, some hopeful boardriders as waves were very small. I left our camera in the room and proprietors cheerfully forwarded it on. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schafer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Owner at Mango Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed staying at our accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Staff more that welcoming and helpful. The longer the stay the cheaper it got. Nice big area's inside with room to move, even a decent size telly to watch State of Origin on!!!!
Does need some tiding up and a private outside area would be good. Very easy access to everything and a very short stroll to the beach. Would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are constantly upgrading our Motel so that it is a clean, comfortable and pleasant place for travellers to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Room dark and not that clean. Expensive for what is was. Found somewhere much nicer for next night. Good location but needs cleaning up and modernising.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Had a wonderful stay, staff very helpful and pleasant, rooms exceptionally clean and cosy. Great location next to beach and walking distance to all restaurants. Would highly recommend this accommodation to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kym W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Rooms are not very nice , and felt very itchy after sleeping here, felt like it had bedbugs, expensive for very basic accomadation, not impressed you have to pay for accomadation, would not recommend this to anyone and would have stayed in back packers rather than this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona S, Owner at Mango Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

I was certainly very surprised to see this review. I constantly monitor beds for any sign that bedbugs have been brought into our establishment and we do not have them in that room or any other. I had two people in that room the other night and they liked it so much, they stayed another 2 nights. It is very clean, 3 star accommodation and competitively priced. We have many comments on the cleanliness of the rooms. It is extremely disappointing when people take the time to write a bad review but won't address the issues with Management whilst staying at the Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Had a great stay at this motel, basic but clean, comfortable and staff friendly. Do not expect the Ritz but you will not be paying Ritz prices either. Room had mini kitchen hot plates, microwave, kettle, bar fridge, cutlery crockery and basic cooking items. Make sure you ask for the renovated rooms at the back. Don't expect the Sofitel or Radisson at $95 per night and it is no frills but we have travelled the world nearly every year in the last 11 years and we were very happy here at that price. NO bad smells nor was it dingy and we slept well every night.
Happy travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
1.2 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
#17 of 17 in Agnes Water
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
230 reviews
3.2 mi away
1770 Sovereign Lodge
1770 Sovereign Lodge
#4 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
64 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edge On Beaches
The Edge On Beaches
#7 of 17 in Agnes Water
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Motel

Address: 7 Agnes St, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Agnes Water
Price Range: $82 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Tree Motel next to Agnes Water Beach has motel rooms with kitchenettes suitable for singles, couples and families. Great location to discover Agnes Water and 1770. Free Wifi, BBQ area and laundry facilities. Licensed Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mango Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing