We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

i only stayed here for one night i wish it could have been longe. set in acers of beautifull land complete with lake horses swimming pool hamoks bbq and loads of space to chill. the rooms are little wooden challets clean comfortable bright and airy. the staff are fantastic i think during the quiet season the staff really can make a difference and their knowlage of the area and friendly service was wonderfull. this place is definatly more than just a one day stop off and please don't stay at cool bananas it sucks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa c, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hi, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Southern Cross. As our moto says; Live In The Dream! I am so pleased how helpful you found our staff as well, we have a good team here at the momet. You are of course welcome back anytime, enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 337 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

As hostels go, this one is out of this world. Ok, not a very practical review, but I could really see myself staying for an extended period of time. Unfortunately that wasn't an option, as I only had one night before needing to move on. The tv area was nice, pool table and all. Decent kitchen, though only 'open' 7.30am - 9pm for some reason. Amazing array of hammocks outside around bbq area, and a great looking pool. On the downside, a $25 deposit for linen and a 9am check-out time seemed pretty unnecessary, however it clearly works for them. I think my view was tainted because I wasn't there for long enough...some of the residents have clearly spent a lot of time there. As a result, it was pretty 'cliquey'. I couldn't help wanting to spend a lot of time there myself too! A wonderful place to go and check out.

Room Tip: Rooms are denoted by country name, and all seemed pretty small :) take a blanket though, gets pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuslostinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Arrived off the premier bus (in the middle of now where) to be greeted by our shuttle bus driver, a short ride to the retreat, clean rooms, clean bathroom, clean kitchen, use of BBQ's, free breakfast, free shuttle into the town, very very helpful staff. We had to stay an extra night due to a bridge collapsing, the staff kept us up to date with when the bus would be running etc.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HarrietTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Plusses: Really cozy place, fair Price, free WiFi, free toast and spreadings for breakfast
Minusses: A little far from Agnes Waters town and the beach - 10min drive in shuttle bus that leaves every two hours

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Beduinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is definitely one of the best hostels I've been in, I'd say number 3 of all the hostels I've been in. Being out of town isn't really a problem as there is a free shuttle bus that runs every 2 hours but what it does mean is the hostel isn't crammed in and there is loads of space, there is even a small lake which you can kayak on. All of the staff are lovely and friendly and helpful. I was in a 6 share dorm with an ensuite which was really nice lots of space, although could do with better placed plugs and some new mattresses and locks on the doors. There is also free wifi which is great. Would definitely come back here and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Felt the place was more about taking your money than creating the backpacker vibe. Was really nice looking in the middle of no where though. For an example when i said can i use the luggage room i was told its five dollars. I then said if i stay another night can i get the five dollars back no you cant. Make a decision now was the reply. The guy driving the bus was miserable and didnt even respond when we said goodbye.
No locks on doors, No Lockers and the luggage room smelt so bad it made me throw up in my throat. To be honest it was the worst hostel experience i have had

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa c, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi Andy, Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate the feedback! I just wanted to apologise for the service you felt you got from our staff, I have spoken to the guy who was driving the bus on that day and he is sorry that you felt this way. Also in regards to our luggage charge the girl on reception should have explained why we charge what we do. We have to charge $5 for luggage storage as we are taking responsibility for your belongings and as much as we would love to honour that to each person there are a lot of people that use the service and would be a full time job to keep track of who is coming and going. I am sorry that the luagge room was not up to our usual standard but we can not control what is in backpackers bags and if they decide to leave their dirty washing in there. Also the $5 Day Stay pays for full use of all the facilities we offer here at Southern Cross backpackers, again I would love to let people stay and use the facilities as they wish but because we are so environmentally friendly here we do have to limit the use of water etc as we can only rely on what falls from the sky. We do charge the same to every person even if they are just popping in for a shower. Above all I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and continue to enjoy your travels around the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The grounds of this backpackers are huge and it reminds me more of a tropical oasis more than a hostel.
We stayed in a 6bed dorm for 3nights and were lucky for 2of the nights to have the room all to ourselves. We could have bought the extra bed for more privacy if we wanted to. Rooms were clean but wear mossie repellant.
The reception were friendly enough. When things needed fixing in the room they fixed them quickly.
The pool area was lovely and there were free bbqs if you didn't want to cook in the communal kitchen.
The beds were relatively comfortable but a bit squeaky everyone someone rolled over.
There was a free shuttle to town regularly so don't be concerned that you are situated out of the little town because you can still get there free of charge.
I would return for sure if in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agnes Water hotels
1.8 mi away
Backpackers @ 1770
Backpackers @ 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
195 reviews
2 mi away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
1.9 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
Agnes Palms Beachside Apartments
#17 of 17 in Agnes Water
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
1.9 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
#10 of 17 in Agnes Water
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
1770 Getaway
1770 Getaway
#2 of 17 in Agnes Water
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Address: 2694 Round Hill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range: $18 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience for yourself, a resort style hostel with a Club Med feel! Get comfy in our large 4-6 share ensuite dorms that wont break your budget, or pamper yourself in our private deluxe double rooms or Family room with ensuite, TV, DVD & fridge. Dorms & doubles with shared facilities also available. Huge common area with Digital TV, Ping pong, Fuseball, Pool table and cozy fireplace for the Winter. We have a swimming pool with elephant fountains perfect for cooling off after a hot day at the beach. Hammocks to chill out with a good book and lots of under-cover areas to get out of the sun or rain. The resort is set on 15 acres of land with a pretty little lake that has a jetty a free paddle boat, horses grazing in the paddocks and loads of tropical gardens to stroll through, perfect for nature lovers. Lots of areas for a bit of meditation or yoga as the sun is rising or setting or a game of football, volley ball or cricket. During your stay why not treat yourself to a relaxing massage or beauty treatment in our "Healing Hut". (extra special prices for our guests)Our on site bar "Karma bar" with super cheap drinks and beer garden surrounds the pool area and is perfect for the afternoon drink to quench your thirst after you arrive home from any of the amazing tours Agnes / 1770 has to offer. Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee all day every day!Free Motel Quality Linen.Free DVD hire.Free Courtesy Shuttle to beach + shops (3 minute drive)Free pickup for the Greyhound bus service* FREE 24 hour WIFI, and a cinema room. We believe that we have something pretty special here at Southern Cross and we want to share it with YOU! Our Motto LIVE IN THE DREAM! Get up to date with life at the hostel on our Facebook page Southern Cross Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing