We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We booked a double ensuite room, it was very private and quiet, it didn't feel like a hostel. The atmosphere is definitely beautiful and relaxing. My only complaint is the bathroom sink, it was literally impossible to was your face in it, even brushing your teeth and shaving were a major challenge, it's a half sink, and the mirror sticks out so when you bend over you bump your head on the mirror and water gets on the floor. Also they should put floor mats in front of the shower, when you step out of the shower it creates a puddle, and this puddle is rotting away the wood floor. I hate to see the floor being ruined, and a $5 bathmat could fix this. My last minor complaint is about the bed, well I actually thought it was a pretty comfy bed, it was much more soft than the other beds I've slept in in Australia, but I'm pretty light, my boyfriend on the other hand could feel the wood slats under the bed, he's about 100ks, so if you weigh over 100ks, not the best bed for you. To fix this all they need to do is put a piece of plywood under the bed, then you wouldn't feel the slats. So all in all it was a great place, I loved the atmosphere, just a couple simple changes would make it even better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our chilled atmosphere. We have been renovating the bathrooms with new floor tiles & bath mats. The hand basins are on the to do list. As you can imagine as this hostel is so spread out and the gardens so extensive we have a never ending to do list. The private doubles now have new beds & mattresses and improvements are being made every day. Your feedback helps us to make our hostel the best it can be. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    63
    43
    24
    26
See reviews for
5
64
103
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Amazing place! All little bungalows in a great big, green garden, given it a little asian touch! We had to make a stopover in Agnes water due to the weather conditions (cycloon), and were really pleased with this hostel! Although a bit pricy, the rooms are big and comfortable! First night we arrived Scooteroo organized a party, had a good night, met plenty of people there! The Scooteroo tour is a must, very nice! We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We have checked our bed rate against other hostels and our dorm prices are much the same as others in this area. Our doubles may be a little more, but look what you get for your money. Good to hear that you enjoyed the hostel though. We are in the process of importing more furniture from Thailand to add to our Asian Theme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

thanks so much everyone at southern cross. this is the most beautiful hostel i have ever stayed in my whole time in australia. i spent many hours walking around your beuatiful gardens. after staying in so many hostels that were so cramped with no space your hostel was paradise for me. spent most of my time in your beautiful pool, chilling out on the hamocks and had a great BBQ on your verandah/ will always remember the party on my last night, was the best night i have had in so long and met some very nice people that i will stay in touch with. sorry my voice was not so good on the kareoke. hope to get back some day.

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Roxy0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your beautiful comments. You obviously got the true feel of the place.
Space, freedom & beautiful vibes. Thats what its all about. Enjoy your wonderful memories.
Peace Love & Happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed for only one night unfortunately!! The place is set in massive grounds with lovely gardens and pool area. The reception and common area is in a missive open plan timber deck area with open side and views onto the gardens. We booked a double with en-suite but this had been double booked somehow, so the manager gave us a $10 refund, an hour free on the internet and they usually charge $5 each to use the facilties on the day when you check out. This was really usefull as our Greyhound wasn't until 10pm.

It is a keyless hostel so all the rooms are unlocked, which probably goes a way to describe the type of atmosphere at the hostel. It is totally chilled out and has lots of Budhist type decorations and areas dotted about. The hostel picks up and drops off at the bus stop and there are also free shuttles throughout the day to the supermarket. There is the biggest BBQ that is for guest use and the kitchen is fairly good. There is a big screen TV, table football, table tennis, loads of board games so even though the town is pretty boring there is always something to do.

I would have loved to have stayed a few days there

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeanorRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you loved Southern Cross so much.
Things have changed a bit since you were here but only for the better. Sad you only had one night. You need to come back again some day and stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

this hostel was a oasis of pleasure in a boring town. I would go to 1770 just to stay there again. We had bad luck with the weather (cyclone came from north) and were stuck in the hostel for 2 days and I could not have had a better one for these days. Free DVD hire on a huge flatscreen, cozy sofas, many hangout areas, clean kitchen, dorms with clean and new ensuites, hammocks, FRIENDLY staff, dogs around, pool table, table tennis, games, a meditation centre, pool, internet, a soccer field (if it eventually stopped raining) and just a great vibe. they played music over speakers, had food offers and beers were cheap (4$). perfect location!adult playground

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bavariangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
So glad you had such a wonderful experience. We are constantly upgrading our facilities to make it even better. Even more places to escape the rain these days. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

As an Aussie travelling I have stayed at countless hostels and this was the worst. When we first got there we thought it was a good place, it was really nice. We had booked into a double room over the phone, which on the internet said EVERY double had a TV ,and was set in a private setting and looked amazing. However when we got to our room it was far from amazing, they had put us in a dorm with a double bed in it, with no tv and in the very middle of the resort! It was completely fake advertising and the manager would not come and talk to us about it and the staff were rude and unproffesional! It was a complete let down and waste of money. It wasnt until after we had paid at check-in, the girl on reception told us its a keyless backpackers meaning nothing is locked up and there are no lockers! You cant get internet after 7.30pm, they also advertised home style dinners for $6.00 but there was no such thing! Its out of town and you have to wait a long time for the bus or walk for kms!! Even though the setting was beautiful I wouldn't reccomend it to annyone as its completely bad service and false advertising.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Sorry you were dissapointed. . If the room you booked,was not available, you should have only been charged a lesser price for a double with shared facilities.
The room you stayed in may not have been up to your standards but we have been told by many overseas backpackers, that they are a breath of fresh air compared to double rooms they have stayed in elsewhere. Hope you enjoyed all the free stuff you would have got throughout the day though. Also our internet cafe is and has always been open 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
2.2 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Backpackers @ 1770
Backpackers @ 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
1.9 mi away
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
#12 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.9 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#2 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Property: 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Address: 2694 Round Hill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Agnes Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience for yourself, a resort style hostel with a Club Med feel! Get comfy in our large 4-6 share ensuite dorms that wont break your budget, or pamper yourself in our private deluxe double rooms or Family room with ensuite, TV, DVD & fridge. Dorms & doubles with shared facilities also available. Huge common area with Digital TV, Ping pong, Fuseball, Pool table and cozy fireplace for the Winter. We have a swimming pool with elephant fountains perfect for cooling off after a hot day at the beach. Hammocks to chill out with a good book and lots of under-cover areas to get out of the sun or rain. The resort is set on 15 acres of land with a pretty little lake that has a jetty a free paddle boat, horses grazing in the paddocks and loads of tropical gardens to stroll through, perfect for nature lovers. Lots of areas for a bit of meditation or yoga as the sun is rising or setting or a game of football, volley ball or cricket. During your stay why not treat yourself to a relaxing massage or beauty treatment in our "Healing Hut". (extra special prices for our guests)Our on site bar "Karma bar" with super cheap drinks and beer garden surrounds the pool area and is perfect for the afternoon drink to quench your thirst after you arrive home from any of the amazing tours Agnes / 1770 has to offer. Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee all day every day!Free Motel Quality Linen.Free DVD hire.Free Courtesy Shuttle to beach + shops (3 minute drive)Free pickup for the Greyhound bus service* FREE 24 hour WIFI, and a cinema room. We believe that we have something pretty special here at Southern Cross and we want to share it with YOU! Our Motto LIVE IN THE DREAM! Get up to date with life at the hostel on our Facebook page Southern Cross Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing