We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outback Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pine Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Creek Railway Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Pine Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We didn't stay at Pine Creek stopped for lunch at Pine Creek Station on our drive between Kakadu and Nitmaluk. What a pleasant surprise.

The decor was beautiful and the meal was fantastic and very reasonably priced. A welcome rest and well worth calling in for a drink or meal even if you are just passing through!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was the best place we stayed on a recent 2 week trip in the Territory. The room was spacious and the service was friendly and professional. It was much better value than the other places we stayed in Katherine, Kakadu and Darwin. It would be a great place to base yourself if driving distances in these parts were not such an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 619mlg619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A group of us ladies went to stay and dine here last weekend. What a truly amazing evening and a hidden little surprise. We all had a fabulous evening from the time we got here till we left next morning. Divine food, lovely clean rooms and restaurant, great entertainment and wonderful staff. Can't say enough nice things and definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: We shared a 2 bedroom apartment, worked fine, shower in the middle of the two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived very late and still the service faultless, willing to stay up to let us in! very impressed with decor and design throughout, free cont. breaky was great but we had cooked, which was delicious. Beautiful courtyard and pool, bar area with the big paintings a big wow factor! absolutely love the pressed tin roof, in our room and bar area!!! Room and bed very cosy with Everything thought of, austar in rooms and air con nice and cool. All staff very friendly and easy to talk to :) definately recommended staying here!! We loved it! Thank you for a pleasant surprise guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siamariedae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

yep thats right, but i did have a sit up the last time i slept on a train in the territory. but this im sure would beat any class on the ghan. this almost new resort ? is clean, attractive, and has style not found today. a lot of effort has gone into recreating these carriages / cabins. pressed tin and daddo walls made our eyes open with surprise. there is not a lot of space but you get foxtell,fridge, microwave, toaster, crockery and cutlery and more. a bbq, pool, pool towels, off street parking, they even included breakfast. there is a bar and restaurant. this is the place to stay and would of stayed longer if we had more time. pine creek itself has plenty to offer and makes a great option to katherine and jabiru for a stop over.

Room Tip: we were next to the pool and had no issues, but, it may at times, if your unlucky be a noise problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is clean, new, and not all that far, as the crow flies, from Kakadu. It is my preferred option than the over priced Kakadu accommodation as you get better value for your money. Two chefs ensure your restaurant dining experience is memorable. It is the best barramundi I've had, (and I live in the Northern Territory). The steak too, melted in my mouth.
If travelling from south to visit Kakadu, I'd highly recommend basing yourself here in Pine Creek and the fuel in the town is much cheaper than in the national park as well.

Room Tip: Unable to rate the rooms as I didn't actually stay overnight, but from all accounts when I poked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriterritory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had not intended to stay at Pine Creek during our travels in the Northern Territory, however a friend recommended we change our plans to stay at the Railway Resort ( instead of spending another night in Katherine), and we are so pleased that we heeded that advice! The accommodation was new and immaculate and we loved the dining area - all done in a railway carriage theme, complete with a mock pressed metal ceiling and travel trunks. The room rate included a continental breakfast, which made it very good value indeed. And we enjoyed eating in the dining room for dinner too. The servings were extremely generous. Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1705Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Creek Railway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Creek Railway Resort

Address: 1 Railway Tce, Pine Creek, Northern Territory 0847, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Pine Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pine Creek
Price Range: $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to introduce the brand new, Pine Creek Railway Resort. We have 18 stylishly furnished cabins ranging from single, queen, self-contained and family cabins. We have been in operation since 2009, have successfully completed the requirements of the Australian Tourism Accreditation Standard and are an accredited tourism business. We are the Crossroads to Kakadu, Litchfield and Douglas Daly regions. Only 1 hours’ drive to Cooinda – Yellow water cruises and 1 hours’ drive to Katherine. Rated 4.5 stars, all of our cabins are air-conditioned and include Foxtel, comfortable beds with clean linen and are finished with unique décor. With our lagoon style, shaded swimming pool, guests are welcome to cool themselves down from the outback heat. We have also recently completed constructing our Restaurant which is built in the shape of two trains parked at a Railway Station, which is furnished and styled after Pine Creeks’ Chinese heritage. Complete with a showcase of images from local archives and attractions, the Pine Creek Railway Resort has already become a talking point up and down the Stuart Highway, and is a long overdue attraction to the town. Our restaurant offers ready to go food which will be an advantage with your clients when calling into Pine Creek. We also have complimentary refreshments and all day breakfasts on offer for the driver. Our air-conditioned, a la carte restaurant features poolside and alfresco dining, over 40 items on our menu and is a chic, yet comfortable way to dine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing