We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a very brief stay due to their booking mistake.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mataranka
turtle-lover-sj
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only a very brief stay due to their booking mistake.”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a first hand review as we were booked into the Manor for a work trip, we arrived there and saw the hotel and restaurant facilities.

I booked a series of accomodation for myself and my staff member on a work trip driving from Newcastle to Darwin. I made my reservation over the phone. When we turned up we were curtly informed by the owner that we were "meant to be there last night" which was very much not the case, I had a well planned printed itinerary for the entire journey. When I stated that we had definitely booked for Monday 30th the owner stated that "it was Tuesday 30th today, last night was Monday 29th, thats where you went wrong" Thankfully another member of staff corrected her that it was indeed Monday 30th as she clearly wasn't going to believe me! At this point rather than issue an apology I was briskly told "I'm the owner, I took the booking and I rarely ever make a mistake".

The motel was full so after a nine hour drive we arrived in a remote town to be told there was no accomodation for us and not even an apology was offered. The owner did call round and found us cabins in a neighbouring campsite but her attitude towards us was quite frankly appauling.

Mistakes can be made but an apology can make up for a lot of things. Oh and on a side note, their restaurant has no vegetarian options.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtle-lover-sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Territory M, Manager at Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for the review.

It's a real shame you didn't get to experience the Territory Manor like you should have been able to. It has since been taken over by new management and has a new set of staff.

We do now give the option for a veg and salad plate which is eat all you want buffet style terrines with 6 different options for vegetarians. We would love to see you if you're ever back this way again.

Kind Regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    64
    25
    14
    22
See reviews for
32
80
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

What a super find. Arrived early 'no worries', checked in 'no worries', booked for evening meal 'no worries' and it just got better. Thanks to Yvonne and her team we had the most wonderful stay. The Manor is perfectly placed to visit Bitter Springs, Thermal pools, Cutta Cutta caves and Katherine Gorge. Whilst the accommodation was simple it was clean and comfortable and just the ticket. Pool was lovely and the Barramundi feeding a great experience. We had supper and breakfast, menu VFM and delicious. Wildlife was in abundance birds, roo's, and fish. A little haven soooo glad we found it and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Book early as it is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYGOLUCKIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

WOW!, this place is truely an "Oasis in the Desert" Peacocks, Cockatoo's, Barramundi's (biggest I've ever seen) and you can feed them too, Brolga's, the Bat flypast at sunset. Customer Service, impecable, the best I have every had, country hospitality at it's finest. Accommodation, simple and very clean, price, you could not get better value for your dollar anywhere. in not only Oz, but the world. Do yourself a favour, if you ever travelling down the Stuart Highway, stay here, I would gladly drive from home here in Cairns to stay there again. Anyone looking to recharge your batteries, this is the place to go. Oh! and their's hot springs there in Mataranka somewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Not too bad considering it's location. Based off other reviews I was expecting more, but in the end you need to remember its a caravan park. We had a room queen bed and bunks, mattress was quite soft and to avoid the mozzies the only escape is inside your room with one of two channels. It is a little outdated (lime green bathroom basin) but all in all, it's clean, has hot water for a good shower, and a clean bed to sleep in. We didn't dine so can't comment on that, and there's a camp kitchen for those who want to do their own thing.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureIsOutThere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way up to Darwin from Melbourne and what a gem it is!
My partner and i were amazed at how lush and beautiful the setting is, the amount of animals just casually wandering around, the barra pond, everything!
I think the best part is that you dont even need to leave the property to have a fabulous time, of course with the hot springs being so close its easy to get to, but the gardens, the pool and spa, the restaurant and bar definitely makes it hard to leave!!!
The owners were absolutely lovely and helped us with anything we needed.
we stayed in one of the mud brick units and while a bit dated it was spotless, the air conditioning worked brilliantly (of this we were very happy, it was HOT out there!) and it had a brand new TV.
The food at the restaurant is so yum, i couldnt pick one thing wrong with it!
I love all the peacocks walking around (could do without the cane toads but hey its not the owners fault theyre there!!!!) and the relaxed vibe of the Territory Manor.
my partner and i will definitely be back one day and we will be staying a hell of a lot longer than 2 nights!
While the town of mataranka is barely in existence, make the territory manor a must do stop on your way to the top end! Welcome to never never country!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Territory Manor in order to be close to the Mataranka Hot Springs. The hotel is just 2K from Bitter Springs which made it very easy to visit the springs the next morning. This is also close enough to Darwin that we were able to enjoy the morning at the Springs and get to Darwin for dinner.

The staff at the hotel seemed pleasant and helpful, if a bit overwhelmed by the number of guests at times. The grounds were lovely and my daughter enjoyed the peafowl and billabong. We even took advantage of the pool in the evening. The pool was clean and nice if a bit cool. The restaurant was pleasant and the carvery dinner was sufficient. However, do book ahead if you plan to use , they ran out of food by about 8pm.

We reserved a room for our stay. The stand alone cabins were a moderate size for 3 people. However there were no hooks to hang anything on in the room. There were however cabinets for stowing things. Also, there were no chairs in the room. There was a table and a couple of chairs just outside the room that we used for breakfast. The room did seem a bit worn but was comfortable for the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbpetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in an unpowered site which was really nice and shady. The best thing was the restaurant, such a nice ambience and great food. We had scones the next day and they were awesome and all so well priced. We stayed with two kids and there were lots of wild animals and pet animals to look at. Noisy locals across the road partying into a wed night unfortunately but would still recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park

Property: Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park
Address: 51 Martin Rd, Mataranka, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Mataranka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mataranka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT FROM AUGUST 2016. **Until further notice, there will be no Barramundi Feeding Show. We apologise for any inconvenience** Park information: Free Barramundi Feeding Show twice daily at 9.30am and 1pm at our billabong. Learn about these fascinating fish and watch them get hand fed. Relax during happy hour, watch an abundance of wildlife as the sun sets, then stay for dinner in the outdoor licensed restaurant (open for breakfast, lunch and dinner). Enjoy our delicious beer battered or grilled barramundi, plus plenty of other great meals to choose from. We also offer pizza nights every Wednesday and Saturday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing