We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy we chose this place. Peaceful tropical and a good getaway from Darwin. Disappointed we didn't stay here longer.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Batchelor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rum Jungle Bungalows
Ranked #2 of 3 Batchelor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

After reviewing the small selection of accommodation available in Batchelor we decided on Rum Jungle Bungalows. So thankful to have stayed here compared to the other "resorts" in this small town.
The owner Sue Is a lovely person who is more than welcoming and friendly to her guests.
Having gone out to dinner to a couple of locations it became clear that no other place compares to this.
The tavern is overpriced and the batchelor "resort" had a terrible isolated and locals only feel.
I would strongly advise on staying here, if booked out stay somewhere back in Darwin.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoDarwin, Manager at Rum Jungle Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your experience at the Bungalows. We do try to make all our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We are very glad that you chose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

These 6 (I think) bungalows are to be found in the brilliantly planted garden of Sue, the owner in Batchelor, the perfect spot from which to explore the Litchfield National Park. They are a good size for 2 people, well furnished and the air conditioning controls are easy to understand! The breakfasts - served in the breakfast room of course next to the pool- are prepared by Sue using her own home grown produce and are simply excellent. Sue goes out of her way to make sure you get the most out of your stay in Litchfield pointing when and where to go. excellent value for money and one to recommend to your friends.

Room Tip: I'm sure each bungalow would be as good as ours.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikepExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoDarwin, Manager at Rum Jungle Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

'A peaceful retreat'. Thank you too for your lovely review. We do get many wonderful words of thanks from guests when they are staying with us, but we do especially appreciate that some guests like yourselves find the time to write comments to this forum. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Rum Jungle Bungalows, set in a beautiful garden setting, offer relief from the heat. With a comfortable hammock and garden seats, this is the perfect place for relaxing after an afternoon of touring. Sue provides all the information you need to get the best out of your trip through Litchfield National Park and beyond.

The rooms, with small decks, are set within the garden so you can easily walk from the pool to the breakfast room, BBQ area and lawn.

As this was our first night, we expected great things from Northern Territory accommodation, but found this not to be the case. The personal service and fabulous breakfast, including espresso coffee, fresh fruit, delicious muesli and homemade bread, is unique to Rum Jungle Bunglows.

Few proprietors take attention to detail to the extent that Sue does - mosquito coils on decks, BBQ tray provided to cook your own meat, cushions on the outdoor seating, matching decor in the rooms and common areas, neatly pruned garden, etc

Other operators, many of whom are charging a higher tariff, could learn a lot from Sue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoDarwin, Manager at Rum Jungle Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

'Personal Service'. Thank you so much for you wonderful comments...it is just great to hear how much our efforts are appreciated and how much you enjoyed your stay here at the Bungalows. It makes all the hard work worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

6 of us whilst traveling through the NT stayed at Rum Jungle Bungalows in early June and really enjoyed our stay. The whole feel of the place is like a little oasis and Sue is a truly great host, very welcoming and informative. We loved the decor in the bungalows and the breakfast room is just beautiful. Talking of breakfasts, do not miss the delights of what Sue has on offer, we are still dreaming of the taste of that honey and the delicious local fruits. If we were to find ourselves back in this area we would love to stay again at the bungalows. A very memorable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoDarwin, Manager at Rum Jungle Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Sorry to take so long to respond to your great review. We are always so pleased when people really appreciate everything we do here to make their stay as enjoyable as possible.
Love to see you all back again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This B&B is more micro resort than most. Great little stop over or mini break spot. Grounds are beautiful and food fab. The chickens and ducks are a delight. Good for a small family also. Perfect base for exploring Litchfeild national park.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieNath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoDarwin, Manager at Rum Jungle Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

'A real oasis' Sorry it's taken so long to find time to respond to your very lovely review.
In June, the middle of the Dry Season, our place does look and feel like a real oasis. All the green tropical foliage and shade is a big contrast to the surrounding dry bush. Hope you get to see it in the Wet too some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in The Wet, hardly the time to see places at their best but no complaints about this place.

The rooms are small and pretty basic, the bathrooms particularly so. There is a fridge and TV so It's not that basic. Everything works, everything was clean and the room's' patios and shared outside tables prevent you getting too claustrophobic in the room.

Breakfast is very well done and the owner helpful and friendly.

The only bad thing was a fair amount of noise from the next door campsite (I think it's a campsite). It didn't both us, but it might both some.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris_butler_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoDarwin, Manager at Rum Jungle Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Sorry it's taken so long to respond to your very kind review.
We are always pleased that guests enjoy their stay at the Bungalows and thank you for
all your kind remarks about our simply lovely little place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent one night in April. It was hot so a cool soak in the beautiful pool was a treat. Sue, the hostess was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and neat. Breakfast and the breakfast room were lovely. Sue carefully selects local fruit to make the breakfast a delicious tropical treat

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eGrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokoDarwin, Manager at Rum Jungle Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

'Cool, quiet and private haven' - thank you for your lovely review highlighting some of the special reasons people love spending time here at the Bungalows. We are always very pleased when the care and attention to everything we do here is appreciated and enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batchelor hotels
0.3 mi away
Litchfield Motel
Litchfield Motel
#1 of 1 in Batchelor
96 reviews
0 mi away
Batchelor Butterfly Farm cabins and homestay and food place
0.2 mi away
Batchelor Holiday Park
Batchelor Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Batchelor
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Litchfield Tourist Park
Litchfield Tourist Park
#2 of 5 in Batchelor
174 reviews
3 mi away
Banyan Tree Caravan & Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Jungle Bungalows

Address: 10 Meneling Road, Batchelor, Northern Territory 0845, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Batchelor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Batchelor
Price Range: $120 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rum Jungle Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rum Jungle Bungalows, peaceful and serene: it's simply gorgeous! A green and leafy oasis in the Dry Season - a cool and lush retreat from the heat in the Wet! On the edge of the historic, picturesque township of Batchelor, just 18 kms from the gateway to Litchfield National Park. Beautifully appointed little detached, private, bungalow-style rooms, each with queen bed, set on an acre of lush tropical & native gardens, bounded by natural bushland. Just right for a relaxing break on your travels or an ideal base to explore Litchfield National Park. Rum Jungle Bungalows is a perfect place to celebrate special occasions, or a peaceful getaway for a couple of days just an hour's drive from Darwin. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing