We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COOL POOL”

Litchfield National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.96*
and up
Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Batchelor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally home to the Aboriginal Wagait people, this national park's major attractions are its monsoon rainforest, magnificent streams and waterfalls, and historic ruins.
Lucca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“COOL POOL”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in our camper van for 2 nights in the wet season. We stayed under a shelter section because of the rain. Very good facilities, hot showers, good cooking facilities - the BBQ is free, microwave, refrigerator, simple restaurant and really nice swimming pool with a deep end and lots of bubble jet sprays. Green grass and lots of trees. We paid $32. Take our own alcohol, as it is VERY EXPENSIVE so stock up in Bachelor before your trip to the amazing water falls and rock pools. Wangi Falls is breathtaking at this time of the year - but the restaurant is DREADFUL!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Convalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    205
    29
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great it was so big and a great way to spend a day out and it all FREE”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

what a place to go to you need plenty of water a sun cream as it get very hot l was there in Nov 2013 and it was over 38 c

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic tour!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our family of 7 visited Litchfield National Park on a one day AAT Kings tour and was a highlight of our Darwin holiday. We made some fun stops on the way from Darwin to hand feed water buffalo and emus and view some huge termite mounds. Litchfield National Park was spectacular. As we were visiting in the wet season, the country was lush and green and teeming with birds, wallabies and other wildlife. Water over the roads did not impede road travel, thank goodness, as we were travelling in a four-wheel drive bus with an experienced tour leader/driver. Swimming in pristine freshwater streams beneath gushing waterfalls, and leaping into cool deep rock pools - the perfect way to spend a warn abd humid afternoon and the perfect ending to an excellent tour. The tour leader, Mark, was really wonderful too - he was very informative and attentive to the needs of all those on the tour, and provided a fascinating, humorous and respectful commentary that everyone on board enjoyed. I recommend this tour for all ages, as the road trip is fun and comfortable and not too long, healthy food and lots of cold water are provided, the walking tracks are flat and shaded, and there is so much natural beauty to experience in the park.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for a swim”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had been booked to go to the Katherine Gorge which got cancelled, so we had to settle for the Litchfield National Park, which did not disappoint, the cathedral termite mounds and the magnetic mounds was stunning. We did not want to do the swimming settled for the walk instead, but the children (and adults) who did had by the sounds of laughter an fantastic time, the waterfalls were in full flow due to the wet season, lunch was very good. Mark our coach driver was knowledgeable, funny and great with the children on the trip. A great day trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ceejay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berowra Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Make sure you can spend most of the day there. Swam under the waterfalls. Water temp was perfect. Absolutely beautiful. Make sure you have plenty of water and maybe some food as not a lot of cafes there. Take your camera with you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Litchfield National Park also viewed

Litchfield National Park, Northern Territory
 

Been to Litchfield National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing