We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family relaxation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Batchelor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Batchelor Historic Retreat
Ranked #3 of 3 Batchelor B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Three children aged 11 seven and five, we had two rooms,felt safe. Woke up to the most wonderful breakfast. as a Mum, I felt so relaxed and pampered with my family, thanks Jackson. The kids loved the old fashion dial up phone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnBil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights in May. We stayed in connected rooms that shared a shower on one end off the house. Toilet was in the hall right outside. Note that these rooms have no closets. Rooms on other side have shared bath but have more storage. Very nice shared great room area.

The weather started out "in the Wet" very hot and humid. The host, Jackson, encouraged a drive up to the swimming areas in Litchfield Park. Great idea! He is a wonderful host. Wonderful location to explore the park. We also used it as a base to explore WWII sites to the south. DVD of the houses and Rum Jungle Mine from the 50s that Jackson shared was excellent.

The house is historic tropics construction with louvers everywhere. On the first nights when it was humid we used the room A/C. The last day it was wonderfully cool and breezy (weather changed to more typical Dry weather). The last night we were the only guests and had the house essentially to ourselves.

Breakfast was wonderfully prepared with fresh fruit/eggs/ meats. Had one meal in the local Pub and it was very good. The local Barra fish was very tasty. Very limited supplies available in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripping_lightly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and Jackson made the best breakfast of our three week trip. We had two adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom for us and our teenagers. The house is great - historic by Australian standards, and has great 1950s styling. We went to the local pub for dinner which was an outback experience in itself! Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurascudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked a room in this historic house as a break from our camping trip so were totally delighted to find that we were the only ones here and had the whole house to our selves. It was a lovely break in peaceful surroundings. The owner was very friendly but not overly intrusive and served us a lovely breakfast in the morning. Even though it was advertised as having a shared bathroom the owner advised that he does not book for more than one group to share a bathroom. It was great value compared to other accommodation in the top end and a great way to get away from the crowds at Litchfield.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrubrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Fantastic bed and breakfast located in the charming town of Batchelor.
Owner, operator and breakfast chef (Jackson) was a fantastic host and generous with his time and local knowledge.
The house iteself was a remarkable throw back to the mining days of the Rum Jungle uranium venture, housing the key mining execs and visiting luminaries including then primeminister Sir Robert Menzies and a host of other influential figures of the time.
Designed to be self sufficient and eco friendly, the house had a louvre window system that allowed cool air to naturally circulate throughout obfuscating the need for air conditioning and making for a very pleasant sleep.
Only knock on this place was the shower, which could do with a good scrub.
Breakfast was amazing and very enjoyable as we got to share it with a likeable couple from the isle of Tasmania.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A great B and B with huge breakfast made lovingly by Jackson. We had the place to ourselves and could make ourselves right at home. One of the comfiest beds and great smelling sheets. Loved the decor and old fashioned bathroom- all added to its history.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Loved our stay in this house designed perfectly for the tropics. Lazed in the sitting room on comfortable cane furniture, cooled by ceiling fans and the natural ventilation of louvred windows. June a lovely time to be in the area. We felt spoilt by the breakfast cooked by Jackson. Located at the entrance to the beautiful Litchfield National Park it provided an ideal place to start a tour, at a civilized time of the morning. In addition I would recommend it as a place just to escape to for a couple of days.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dc382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batchelor hotels
0.4 mi away
Batchelor Butterfly Farm
Batchelor Butterfly Farm
#1 of 3 in Batchelor
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Litchfield Motel
Litchfield Motel
#1 of 1 in Batchelor
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Batchelor Holiday Park
Batchelor Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Batchelor
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Litchfield Tourist Park
Litchfield Tourist Park
#2 of 5 in Batchelor
173 reviews
3.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Caravan & Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batchelor Historic Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batchelor Historic Retreat

Address: 19 Pinaroo Cres, Batchelor, Northern Territory 0845, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Batchelor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Batchelor
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Batchelor Historic Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing