We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and ambience”
Review of The Seahorse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely location and ambience”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We (a family of 4) stayed here for one night in room 5 while traveling up the east coast. The room was large and clean and had a lovely bathroom with spa. While it had no balcony, the front windows opened up and we could enjoy both the view and the sounds of the sea. We ate dinner in the brasserie which we enjoyed - especially the mussels (which were a 'special'). The bar and restaurants were also used by the nearby caravan park residents, which we liked as it gave the hotel (which is very small) a buzz in the evening, but after about 9 pm it was lovely and quiet.

Downside: The staff member who checked us in was very dour and unhelpful, but the receptionist (who also worked the bar and restaurant) who came on after her was incredibly helpful and friendly so more than made up for our unwelcoming reception. The continental breakfast was pretty average - but hey, we did not realise it was included in the price - so a bonus in our eyes!

We would certainly stay here again if we were in the area. It was a welcome oasis after a long day's drive.

Room Tip: Room 5 was a corner room on the second floor overlooking the bay - no balcony. Large enough for a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    63
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
41
118
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent one night here (outside school holidays) and had a great dinner and breakfast, very nice location on the beach looking over the bay.

The room was HUGE as we got upgraded to the honeymoon suite but I think the mattress is in need if a refresh as it did my back in!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzyandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Seahorse Inn Hotel for 3 nights and my stay was fantastic! After reading some of the reviews on here I was unsure what to expect. My room was just beautiful. Very clean, spacious, with stunning ocean views. The staff are very helpful and kind and seem to be trained very well in all areas of the hotel. The hotel has 2 dining options. The brasserie and Bettenas fine dining restaurant. I dined in both, and the food was delicious! And is very reasonably priced. The hotel is gorgeous and I will definitely return.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Sadly the mixed reviews you'll read here paint an accurate picture of this establishment. Aspects of the hotel, such as its remarkable history, make it an interesting place to stay. However, the staff and venue itself didn't always hit the mark during our visit and thus we left a little disappointed.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon after a rather uncouth and somewhat intimidating crowd had taken over the hotel bar and surrounding outdoor areas (think large unshaven blokes sporting tattoos and wearing singlets). A rock rock band was loudly playing on the lawn. Empty beer glasses and jugs were scattered across every table inside and out. The resulting atmosphere wasn't anything like the boutique hotel experience we'd anticipated.

We later learnt that most of this crowd had come from the neighbouring caravan park. We didn't appreciated being invaded by a crowd that would clearly never pay the $215/night we had to enjoy the same facilities. The receptionist that greeted us was also rather nonchalant about our presence as we checked in.

On a more positive note, due to a double booking we were upgraded to a huge spa suite. It's clear the rooms have been recently renovated and appropriately furnished with custom-made faux period pieces. Oddly our suite was furnished with a large sofa but no accompanying coffee table that you'd normally expect.

As other reviewers have noted, the bistro is located in a rather large and soulless banquet hall. There's no boutique hotel feel here. A few large chandeliers and design features along the wall would probably give the room a lot more character. Our dinner was a classic bistro type meal. Not fancy but perfectly edible.

The complimentary continental breakfast was held in the more elegant formal dining room next door. We thought this space was as advertised and appreciated the fact that the staff were happy for guests to dine outdoors. However the dining room has a rather crass mirrored wall along its length that ruins an otherwise cosy space.

The hotel does sit in a wonderfully scenic and rather serene location - if you ignore the caravan park next door. A hedge or some dense shrubbery between the two venues would help the hotel retain a more exclusive feel. Sadly it's another example of how this hotel gets a lot if things right but misses the mark badly on a key detail.

We're not sure we'd return again. A top quality motel would probably cost less but leave you with a similar impression.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AXSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A five night family getaway was spent at the Seahorse Inn from the 29th December until 3rd January and our experience was mixed. On a positive note, the rooms are of high standard with luxurious touches and aim for a beach facing room with a balcony for the best views of Two fold bay. The bistro and fine dining restaurants are both more than adequate and not overpriced. Food was plentiful and quickly delivered to the point we ate in most nights without having to venture into Eden. The location is perfect so that you are close enough to the main towns but able to get away from the madness of Merimbula in a much quieter environment. Blues music on the lawn and the News Year eve DJ were both nice touches. The included continental breakfast was fine and nicely presented, with enough choice for the whole family.
Now for the negatives. WiFi access and internet access are almost non existent and in this day and age, particularly with kids it is vital. The warmth of the staff toward paying guests is missing and with only 10 rooms on the property it can't be too hard knowing who are guests compared to the variety of Caravan park blow ins that invade the bar and bistro each afternoon. At over $300 per night (peak season) you expect a better level of treatment as a paying guest. More guest exclusive areas would be a step in the right direction with designated staff to attend to guests needs. It appeared that all the staff almost prefer the less busy times and won't step up during the busier Christmas period when the afternoon crowds swell to 50+ people. On many occasions there were three bar staff with only one actually serving while I stood in a queue waiting with all the casual visitors to be served.
Overall I would recommend the Hotel highly but the experience would most likely be a whole lot better with improvements outlined above and for stays outside the Christmas period. Probably more a cosy couples venue than for families with older kids but there is enough to keep everyone satisfied.

Room Tip: Family two bedroom water view room with a long sweeping balcony to sit and relax is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great location, grounds and yards from the beautiful bay , my room was large and well appointed, but just misses any warmth and character. The bar and restaurants were clinical and uninteresting, breakfast was poor and only a continental is included in the price. So close but no cigar.

Room Tip: Get one facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile


It was an interesting time that I had during the single night I had stayed at the seahorse. The rooms in which I stayed in where good for a one night. They were cosy and had a nice balcony that of an afternoon was very peaceful to stand on and observer the warm summer sun going down.

The fine dinning restaurant that I went to had a nice ambience seeing I was the only person there and every one else was in the small bar/bistro. The food itself was nice. I was rather not impressed when a large crowd of people from the nearby BIG 4 caravan park strolled onto the front lawn bearing packs of beer. After I had finished my meal I was a bit disturbed by the amount of visitors from the caravan park that had left there empty bottles and cups on the front lawn of the hotel.

Even with these events my stay was a nice relax for one night. I can see that the staff are kind and always wanting to help and are trying to make a nice hotel that will be recognised.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
2.9 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
2.9 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Eagle Heights Holiday Units
3.1 mi away
The Beach Retreat Eden
3.8 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Property: The Seahorse Inn
Address: Boydtown Park Road, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seahorse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Eden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing