We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seahorse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Seahorse has a new chef since my last visit.The food was even more amazing. Took my 5 year old twins this time and totally enjoyed our experience. Will definately be going back to stay on a regular basis :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    62
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
40
118
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at the seahorse for four nights and was totally relaxed, had a room over looking the sea and opened the bedroom doors and listened to the sea ( why do we live in melbourne)the area has a lot of history about whaling , we had two tours on the cat baloo whale watching trip ,
fantastic lots of photos of whales, good weather, this hotel is in a great spot and I wish to thank the staff ( who seemed to be very short on staff but did a great job ) for looking after us , We will be back I really loved this hotel you just felt at ease all the time , thank you all

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on our return journey to Melbourne and the accommodation was a surprise to us as the historical building is amazing. It is not located in Eden as expected but a short drive south in Boydtown.

The room was well appointed and very comfortable however there seemed to be a big shortage of staff to manage the property. The one staff member was not only looking after check in but also the bar and bistro when we arrived. A similar situation the next morning with only one staff member looking after the breakfast dining room as well as checkouts.... This led to a delay when we checked out and a cleaner had to find someone to assist us.

We did dine in the bistro on the one night we stayed and I was disappointed with my lamb roast of the day as the meat was over cooked and very chewy.

Overall worth the stay but management needs to address the staffing levels to ensure the service matches the accommodation available.

Room Tip: Upper levels if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oztravellers5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is such a surprise! You come off a highway in the middle of nowhere to find this grand ramble of a building surrounded by parkland and its own 'private' ocean beach! There are only 10 rooms, and yet the public areas are vast – bar, brasserie, lounge, restaurant. It operates as a function centre, so we were lucky to stay when no function was on. I can't imagine it would be so pleasant when swamped by a rowdy wedding crowd. Only 3 rooms were occupied when we were there, so the service was slow, but helpful. The renovations to the property seem to have spared no expense. We ate in the restaurant, which was good if not great, but not bad value for the offering. I overheard someone refer to the Seahorse as 'a hidden treasure'. It's certainly hidden. If it were closer to any large population centre it would be famous. And it really is a treasure.

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms – 8 upstairs with ocean views, 2 downstairs with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived late on a dark foggy night after driving from Melbourne on route back to Sydney. The beautiful reception was a great welcome relief as was our family room with a balcony facing the ocean and gardens. (Which we didn't appreciate until the morning- it was stunning). The hotels decor was tastefully decorated as was the furniture.
We ate in the bistro which served very generous portions. The minibar was stocked well with a nice touch of fresh milk for tea or coffee which were supplied in the room.
A perfect night for a couple or for families. Either way we will be back .....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hod61e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the Seahorse Inn for a few nights. Wish we has more time to stay. The staff were so friendly, helpful and very professional. The food was fantastic, well priced and well presented. The hotel was very clean and had a friendly feel about it. Loved how the beach was so close and the view from our room was to die for. Great relaxing time. Will be making this a regular event!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

During a marvellous holiday around Australia, this hotel stands out as the best location of all. With near private access to a beach, edged by rivers on two sides, beautifully set amongst the trees of 'Boydtown' it is hard to imagine a more idyllic spot.

The food was excellent, the view from the restaurant windows was superb as the sun sank and the service was a near perfect balance between attentive and discreet. Our only disappointment was that we hadn't booked more days there.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view, it's worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
2.9 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
3.8 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Halfway Motel
Halfway Motel
#8 of 8 in Eden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eagle Heights Holiday Units
3.6 mi away
Eden Gateway Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Property: The Seahorse Inn
Address: Boydtown Park Road, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seahorse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Eden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing