We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location in Historic Building”
Review of The Seahorse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seahorse Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful location in Historic Building”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A group of friends met here for a birthday celebration and it was just divine. Our room was gorgeous, very large and looked out over the garden. My only thought was that the bathroom was a bit chilly in our July visit. We had one meal in the Bistro which was very fresh and pleasant. The next day we explored the district and found some wonderful places like Green Cape Lighthouse and the old Davidson Whaling Station. The Seahorse Inn sits on a beautiful bay and during our winter visit it was quiet and just serenely beautiful. We were lucky to have a wonderful sunset as well. Our second night we had dinner in the restaurant and it was delightful. The food was good and beautifully presented. The old building has been very tastefully updated and decorated. After a good breakfast we left and stopped at the whaling museum in Eden and that was fascinating too. This part of the South Coast of NSW is quite isolated and unspoiled with an interesting history. The Seahorse Inn was the perfect place to stay in comfort while we explored the area and celebrated a birthday event.

Room Tip: We had a large downstairs room that looked out over the garden. It was much larger than the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weaver555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    63
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
41
118
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great website and guest reviews and I guess it was ok but I was disappointed. Was expecting a lot more. The staff were a bit swamped because it's the new year season but no one was particularly friendly or nice, can't say there was great service. No one even asked if we enjoyed our stay they just said, 'have you paid?' when I returned the keys. I stayed at the Homestead because the main hotel was full. It's quite off site from the main hotel, 7mins up a dirt road. The bush block was lovely, woke up with kangaroos outside the main door and there is a view over the bush to the horizon. The house has been renovated in parts but they really should've spent a bit more and done the whole thing because it still smells very musky. I was choking on the stuffiness and smell of 'old' in there. The old cupboards, milldew in the shower, cobwebs everywhere and other people's rubbish still in the bins was a big put off. There were also wilted flowers in the vase and even though there is a clear internet port in the house they kept saying there's no internet available... someone just needs to set it up! We ran out of gas and the people from the caravan park came up to change the tank. I say stay at the caravan park right next door to the main hotel if you're visiting. Less pretentious, better value for money and much nicer staff! You can still access the other facilities of the hotel.

Room Tip: The homestead would be fun if you had a big group of friends etc. People to help washdown the cobweb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This accommodation was one of the standouts on our driving holiday. We had only one night here but could have easily stayed longer. It isn’t in the town of Eden itself, but we certainly were very happy with our choice as we loved the private grounds and garden that the children could be free to run around in and that was so nice after days of driving. The children also enjoyed discovering the beach off the hotel grounds. It was perfect for us. It was a few metres walk along the path from the car park to the main door. There was a warm welcome felt when we got here, our room was large and the bathroom also. The attention to detail in the room was evident and there was a sense that the people who work in this place really care about it also. Breakfast was included in our rate booked off a third party website and it was delicious. A great find!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderSuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A Jaguar Car Trip to the Seahorse Inn was fantastic. Great service excellent food made tihis an exceptional stay. We have already booked next year to return.you will not be disappointed , give it a try.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fair911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here and found it to be the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle. As a gay couple we found the staff to be very accepting and friendly and always went the extra mile to make sure our stay was perfect. The hotel was exceptional as was both the formal and informal restaurants. We definitely will be back and bring friends with us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceduna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second time, once again we had a enjoyable stay,
The building is kept in excellent condition, The staff are very accommodating,
Meals were exceptional.
We will defiantly come back again.

It's a real Hidden Treasure!!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best veiws the ones over looking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My partner and I have travelled from Sydney to Melbourne a couple of times and for lack of somewhere else to stay on the way we picked Seahorse inn both times. In both instances we thoroughly enjoyed the property due to its location and historic significance.

That's where the pros end. The biggest let down we felt was the staff, and the way the property is managed. From a completely disinterested check in attendant to the non existent bar/breakfast room staff, to a different check out assistant who hid in the back room on a lengthy phone conversation while we waited to check out (for 15 minutes), service was either appalling or non existent. On check out we caved and went to find someone else to help at the bar, who proceeded to abuse the lady on the phone in the back room, right in front of us! I felt embarrassed and just wanted to get out of there!!

The rooms, we had room 3 and 1 on our two trips, were big and roomy with new fittings although not the best quality. My qualm with the rooms was the smell and the can of cockroach spray left on top of the tv on our most recent trip (first thing I noticed when I walked in...! How did they miss it? Or was it there in case of emergency??)

The hotel itself is very bizarre... It looks new and renovated but has the distinct feel of a pub. We couldn't put our finger on why, perhaps because we went in winter both times and it was off season, but the vibe in the hotel was unpleasant.

In short, we won't return even if we drive through Eden again. Between the poor service, smelly room and weird atmosphere, I'm sure we can settle for a motel somewhere else...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noemitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
2.9 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
2.9 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#4 of 8 in Eden
107 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beach Retreat Eden
2.9 mi away
Eagle Heights Holiday Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahorse Inn

Property: The Seahorse Inn
Address: Boydtown Park Road, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seahorse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seahorse Hotel Eden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing