We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale of a time”

Killer Whale Museum
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Geelong
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Whale of a time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very informative, many displays, well presented information on the history of whaling in and around Eden in the early days, good value for money, can spend 2 to 3 hours there.
Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    221
    38
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Compact little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had stopped overnight on the outskirts of the town and so got to see this lovely little town in the morning sunshine. We were able to park outside the museum and had an interesting look around inside. It is quite small as museums go but that is no criticism as it reflects this delightful location and tells the story of the whalers in an engaging manner without getting over complicated or fussy. I definitely learnt quite a bit and, whilst I am totally anti-whaling, at least I can now understand more about the factors involved. There is plenty of free parking along the main street and I would recommend getting your breakfast there as there are some brilliant cafes clearly well-used by the locals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I'll be honest and say I wasn't expecting much - but the story of co-operative hunting of Sperm Whales by men and Killer Whales was genuinely interesting and was a well told story in the museum. A very pleasing hour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Del S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting stories to discover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Popped in to the museum with half an hour left until they closed. We have 3 young children and although it is not particularly interactive there are lots of stories for them read about (or be read to) and lots of skeletons to look at. Gorgeous view of the bay from the museum.
Worth a stop but with young kids an hour max is probably the longest you can stay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NDaniels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Knowledgable staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff knew a great deal about this history and wildlife of the area and we very friendly and managed to keep two young children interested and asking questions. Everyone had a great time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KristalC1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killer Whale Museum also viewed

Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 
Eden, New South Wales
 

Been to Killer Whale Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing