We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get blown away”

Green Cape Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,022.77*
and up
6-Day Snowy Mountains and Sapphire Coast Small Group Eco Tour departing Canberra
Ranked #4 of 18 things to do in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went here on the Whale festival weekend at Eden
Its bit of a rumbly gravel road to get there but a normal two wheel drive will get you there-unless you get taken out by 4WD test pilots.
But the view and the lighthouse tour is worth it, with the bonus of Whales in quite close when we were there.

Thank miloinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

The lighthouse is a fully functional but decommissioned lighthouse at the end of a 20km drive over dirt roads. For a small fee there are regular tours at 3pm on Mon-Thurs. The tours start at the bottom of the tower than make their way up to the top, with stops at each floor within the tower, to learn more about how old lighthouses were operated by the lighthouse keepers. At the top you get a chance to step out and walk around the tower. The views are spectacular, the tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable and the whole experience entertaining and informative.

1  Thank oznewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenCapeLighthouse, Manager at Green Cape Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

We are always happy to hear from visitors who love Green Cape as much as we do! Guided tours of the lighthouse take place at 3pm, Thursday to Monday and are a fabulous opportunity to learn more about the rich and varied history of this stretch of wild coastline. Thank you for the great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We did a trip to the lighthouse on a day when it wasn't open for tours. That didn't stop us and we weren't disappointed as the view from the end of the walk was spectacular. Those of us at the front of the group saw whales breaching which was a bonus. We watched the rain coming up the coast and mad a dash for the car but the trip was worth it to see the view. The road is mostly dirt but it is a good road.

Thank BarbB030451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenCapeLighthouse, Manager at Green Cape Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Barb

You are right - it truly is a spectacular location out at Green Cape and well worth the drive. Plenty of whales and blustery conditions over the past few days. Thanks for visiting, we hope to see you again.

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place and we saw whales from outside however there was a lot of information to take in which didn't impress the children in our group who just wanted to go up, look out and come back down. Very interesting stories about the place and such an interesting history. Worth a visit but warn kids they will have to listen a lot. Wrap up its blustery out there!

1  Thank clairecullinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited this amazing outpost on 23/09/13. Well worth a visit although be careful on the drive out as the road is quite sandy and windy but we managed well without a 4WD so as long as its not wet there shouldnt be a problem. The lighthouse is stunning but the location is breathtaking. Another couple with a young son exclaimed that they had just seen a pod of whales so after a few minutes we were treated to this amazing spectacle. So thrilled! Well worth your time & take a jacket as quite blustery.

1  Thank LisaF1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Cape Lighthouse also viewed

Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 
Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 

Been to Green Cape Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing