We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine and rain”

Green Cape Lighthouse
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunshine and rain”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We did a trip to the lighthouse on a day when it wasn't open for tours. That didn't stop us and we weren't disappointed as the view from the end of the walk was spectacular. Those of us at the front of the group saw whales breaching which was a bonus. We watched the rain coming up the coast and mad a dash for the car but the trip was worth it to see the view. The road is mostly dirt but it is a good road.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbB030451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenCapeLighthouse, Manager at Green Cape Lighthouse, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Barb

You are right - it truly is a spectacular location out at Green Cape and well worth the drive. Plenty of whales and blustery conditions over the past few days. Thanks for visiting, we hope to see you again.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place and we saw whales from outside however there was a lot of information to take in which didn't impress the children in our group who just wanted to go up, look out and come back down. Very interesting stories about the place and such an interesting history. Worth a visit but warn kids they will have to listen a lot. Wrap up its blustery out there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clairecullinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent Location & Whale Sightings”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited this amazing outpost on 23/09/13. Well worth a visit although be careful on the drive out as the road is quite sandy and windy but we managed well without a 4WD so as long as its not wet there shouldnt be a problem. The lighthouse is stunning but the location is breathtaking. Another couple with a young son exclaimed that they had just seen a pod of whales so after a few minutes we were treated to this amazing spectacle. So thrilled! Well worth your time & take a jacket as quite blustery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaF1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained lighthouse precinct.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This magnificent lighthouse is the southernmost in NSW and the tallest concrete structure in Australia, standing nearly 30 metres high. The whole precinct is beautifully painted and maintained and the pristine white and blue makes it look a bit like a Greek island village! It is a fair drive on a dodgy road to get to Green Cape but well worth it. The lighthouse is not used now and the much uglier electronic version is right nearby. We were told that there is a strong lobby to adjust the prism lighting to make it functional again. The ranger saw us eating a picnic lunch and opened up the lighthouse even though it was not an official tour time. There is much to see inside that is fascinating and the views are, of course, magnificent. The ranger also pointed out breaching whales out to sea, so it was a wonderful trip all round. The lighthouse keeper's accommodation serves as a rental property now and I imagine that it would be a fantastic place to stay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ptilotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenCapeLighthouse, Manager at Green Cape Lighthouse, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Rain, hail or shine - everyday is spectacular at Green Cape! The heritage listed lighthouse cottages provide fabulous accommodation and a great opportunity to really immerse yourself in the environment - we hope to see you out here sometime.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A gem of the south coast”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Well you may be not into lighthouses but this one for its location an isolation is a mustt.Lighthouse has been extremely well maintained so plenty of photo opportunities available.Drive out there alone is worth the time with a couple amazing lookouts. A great spot to take a picnic.This also would be a great spot for whale watching.
Gravel road to reach it but not that rough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Cape Lighthouse also viewed

Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 
Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 

Been to Green Cape Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing