We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk”
Review of Ben Boyd Tower

Ben Boyd Tower
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Eden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easy walk”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice spot, you can see why they built a tower here!, lovely aspects of the bay and ocean. Good interpretive panels supplied, easy walking track to site. At the end of track past the tower are steep timber stairs to another look out platform to view red cliffs and crazy geological feature! worth the effort. Fantastic place come whale season. We didn't have time to commit to any bush walking, but the entry area to the tracks provided ample parking. Park Fees are required to be paid on the site. You do need to drive a distance away from Boyd Town and Eden to get to the tower, would recommend taking other small side trips on this road to maximise the journey. Beware of Log trucks!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montybeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    77
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery and interesting history”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I liked the hilltop location with its magical views of the sea, and the history of the tower. Ben Boyd is such a major figure in the history of this area, and though he was not a pleasant man, his ambitions and what he achieved are fascinating.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty and an easy drive”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pretty spot for pics. Short walk from carpark (note that there is a fee to park). Much easier than the lighthouse which is a long drive down an unmade road.

The passing tourist boat looked like a better way to see these sights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussie0961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's a walk, and that's it!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

You pay to get into the park.

There's not much to do there.

You can't climb to the top of the tower.

You walk around the tower and try to get a picture of the whole thing (not easy).

You go home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stamperbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Seal of Satisfaction”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

South of Boydtown, sealed road most of the way, Gravel last 1.2 Klm, part of our history, complete the trifecta by also visiting Edron Homestead & Naval Wharf if Open

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Boyd Tower also viewed

 
Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 

Been to Ben Boyd Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing