We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Lake Macquarie
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value and good food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here towards the end of a two week trip and were pleased with the value it offered compared to other motels on this trip. Staff were very friendly and helpful both on checking in and out. Our room was spacious, bright and very clean. The queen bed was most comfortable and the shower large with plenty of hot water and good towels. The vanity was in the kitchen area not ensuite but this wasn't a problem. Kitchen facilities were a bonus, there was hanging space, small lounge and table and chairs.
As the motel was out of town we had intended to eat in the attached restaurant but it was closed. We were offered dinner in our room and had one of the best Indian meals we have eaten. Although close to the highway the room was very quiet and parking was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear MargD
Thank you so much for your kind words and a great feedback for our property. We really appreciate it. Our staff try to provided the highest level of customer service and we are pleased they were able to do just that. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
43
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bermagui, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for one night on business in August 2013. The room was $90 for a Queen and it met our expectations. It was one of the cleanest rooms i've ever stayed in and the bed was extremely comfortable and the linen was nice and fresh.

Check-in was a breeze and the owner was delightful.

The pool area looked nice, but it was too cold for us to take a dip.

My only complaint is that the walls are the thinnest i've ever experienced, I got ZERO sleep due to the next door guests snoring all night. We could also hear every word that was spoken and even heard them clearing their throat.

I would stay again but would probably request a room away from other guests if it was at all possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galaga_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your review. Our staff are very pleased that you had a great time whilst staying with us. it's comments and feedback like this that really drives us to provide the best customer service. Sorry to hear about you not getting any sleep. Hopefully you will give us another chance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Since we were planning to drive from Sydney to Melbourne while in Australia, we received recommendations to do the coastal scenic drive. The half way point is Eden . We arrived here needing a good night sleep. The check in was super simple and friendly. Rooms are older but very clean and warm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altagirl214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for providing us with a feedback regarding your stay. It's the feedback that helps us to improve our service and provide a better customer experience. We are in the process of giving the property a modern look and hope next time you come to the area, you give us another chance. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour from Melbourne to Sydney. Comparing this hotel to the others on the tour, it was one of the poorer quality establishments. It's definitely seen better days. As it was part of a package I don't know what we paid for it, but potential guests should know that this is not a luxury hotel! It was clean enough, but there wasn't a lot to commend it. It is located a little way out of the town - if you want to go out for a meal and have a couple of drinks, you'll need to order a taxi, although the journey is only 5 minutes or so.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking your time to review our motel. We agree that it is time for an upgrade and it is something we are looking into. We are not a luxury motel and we have never claimed to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the welcoming friendly owner managers who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and well serviced.
The rooms were freshly renovated in lovely light colours, giving an overall sunny impression of the space. Which was pleasant in the winter month of July.
The beds were very comfortable being somewhat like our new latex bed at home which allowed for a very good nights sleep. At first we were concerned at the amount of noise that might echo from the road being that the motel is situated on a main road but we were unable to hear any traffic at all from our room.
We chose to eat in at the restaurant which was lovely and cosy with its open fireplace our meals were superb easily best restaurant quality. The manager was delightful showing a real interest in our trip and being very informative of the local attractions. I would recommend a trip to Eden for anyone and most definitely recommend the Coachman's Rest as the place to stay whilst in Eden.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us. Your comments are very much appreciated. It certainly helps us to improve and continue our good service to the customers coming through the doors. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel in excellent location for golfing - drive to town centre. Rooms clean, no sink in bathroom, only one small sink in main area. No pay TV or DVD player. Plenty of tea and coffee provided.
Was disappointed not have our room "made up" with clean towels or bins emptied for the whole long weekend. Was told by another guest that we had to pay extra and request this service. Was not told this at check in.
Only real bonus was that the beds are very comfortable and rooms are warm, suited our needs for a golfing weekend as we were not there for much of the time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your time in reviewing us. The groups always get a better package deal than individual bookings.
As for the rooms not being serviced, the organizer and the party with him was informed that we can service the rooms but at a better rate. They wanted the cheapest rate possible and so decided against getting rooms serviced. As the guests checked in on the day of arrival, I informed everyone one of them about this. Every single guest said they did not require any service. Being a long weekend, the rates are normally more dearer. So the team decided to go for the cheaper option and not have the rooms serviced. If the information was not passed along, I am sorry but I cannot take responsibility for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Got in very late but the managers were very kind and assisted us with the bookings. The TV did not work but the manager got it working and this was at midnight. Had a great sleep on the King bed. The rooms are not big but clean with all the basic amenities, the shower/bathroom is a good size. It is a small motel in need of some improvements which the managers say they are doing bit by bit. If you are looking for something flashy this is not it but a comfortable stay with great service. Did not eat at restaurant but the menu looked nice, especially the seafood platter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated as it helps us to improve our service to our guests.
As mentioned by you and we agree that we are not a flashy motel but we do offer a comfortable night stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
4.0 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
1.1 mi away
Halfway Motel
Halfway Motel
#8 of 8 in Eden
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Nimo Motel
Eden Nimo Motel
#7 of 8 in Eden
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Rest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Rest Motor Inn

Property: Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Address: 46 Princes Hwy | (Cnr of George Brown Street and Irene Cres), Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman's Rest Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run motel based in Eden, NSW Australia. We have 26 ground floor rooms including Queen size double bedding, twin share and family rooms. All rooms are Non smoking and have free parking available in front of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Coachman's Rest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing