We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to fix the place up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The lady at reception who I assume is the manager seemed friendly. That is the only good thing I can say about this motel. We were shocked to find broken glass sitting in the tray that held the face wash cloths. In the middle of the night I accidentally knocked my glasses off the bedside table, and whilst searching for them discovered a herd of dust bunnies that I think had been hanging out under the bed since 1982. We also found a note from a previous guest, which although humorous to us was of a slightly sexual nature and showed that along with the broken glass, the room had not been cleaned properly in a while. The decor is dated and colour scheme strange. If you want to revisit the 80's, this is the motel for you!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ally1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We thank you for taking your time to review our motel.
First of all we would like to apologise for the shortcomings you had to face when in the room. Please rest assured that the person responsible has been notified about the issues and appropriate action has been taken so that this sort of incident do not happen again.
As for the decor of the room, plans are underway to redo the place and give it a modern look.
Once again, we do apologise for the whole incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Motel for a night and were offered a "Spa Room" at AUD 195 (and were charged an additional AUD 21 for a very simple breakfast). We are quite frequent travellers and have never seen a place where we got so little value for money.

Positives: Our room was clean (apart from a few dead insects near the windows) and we were greated by a very cheerfull and friendly staff at check-in.

Negatives: Room was very, very dated (a/c unit probably from the 70s and more a museum piece than anything else), room decor horrific ad very dark. It seems like the owners are not willing to invest any money in improving the condition of the hotel and are willing to charge their customers way beyond fair value. I would be ashamed to offer such rooms and overpriced meals to my guests.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexF82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

I would like to thank you for submitting a review for our property as without these reviews, it makes it hard to understand what the guests want.
Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations and also note that we are taking your feedback very seriously.
The new owners have only taken over for a year and we are trying to fix the place up. But like any othe project, these things take time and money. Plans are on the way to redo all the rooms in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The rooms are small and made us feel cramped - it had an odd smell too. The room is very expensive for what you get. We stayed at much nicer motels and paid around the same.

The bathroom sink is in the main room. The window frames were rotten and the room looks like it needs to be upgraded. The grounds are in a poor state and the pool is dirty.

The location is very poor. Out of town and no view of the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room as the basic rooms are too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our property.
We are looking at fixing the property and giving it a more modern look in future. But as with anything, it takes time and money. The plans are in the pipeline to start the renovations work soon.
While travelling during peak season, the rates are normally higher than usual. Most travellers are aware of this. If a guest stays during off peak season, they can get the same room at half the price they would normally pay for in peak season. Also we have found that our rooms are quiet spacious compared to most of the motels in the area. Our frequent travellers always comment on how spacious the rooms are.
As for the smell in the room, the air freshners sprayed in the room agress with some people and disagrees with others. I guess it comes down to personal choice.
Also you may have noticed that the pool area is surrounded by trees therefore the leaves in the pool. Now when a guest wishes to go for a swim, we do have to take the cover away which means the leaves will be blown in the water.
And as for the location, the guests know where we are before they book in. I guess if the guest wants to stay in the town center than they should book in a motel that's located in the town center. We have never advertised that we are anywhere near the CBD. So it is the guests responsibilty to check their information before making a decision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are old and smelly and not cheap. The pool area is dirty and closed. The curtains do not work properly. The common areas are poorly furnished. The staff is friendly and the location is convenient but it does not look like a Best Western.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nothing fancy, the place is in need for an upgrade. T.V screens were new and had reception. A bit far from the town, fine if your driving. Did not try the restaurant but would help if they placed a couple of plates and some cutlery in the rooms. Bed was comfortable sheets were clean. Overall fine for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachmansrest, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate you taking the time. We do agree that the place is in need of an upgrade and we would like to assure you that plans are underway to do that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place was average, but adequate for a 1 night stay.
The bed was huge, which was lovely.
It was very cold, so we had to keep the heating on all night, which rattled a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flojo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Booked into here. The ad said on the shores on twofold bay. Forgot to mention the 2 k walk. Paid 150 which we assumed like other places on the coast would get us a good room. We were wrong. Spa turned out to be a large bathtub. Even better there was no hot water. We tried boiling jugs then far up. Owners tried to say they were unaware of the problem but they would give us a reffund. 20 bucks out of 300.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goingtodarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We try to make our guests stay as memorable as possible. After reading your comments, there were two things I would like to point out.
We do not advertise that our property is located “on the shores of Twofold Bay.” The copy on Wotif.com (where you made the booking) reads “The town is situated on the shores of Twofold Bay where you can spot dolphins, seals and whales”.
Unfortunately we were not informed about the hot water issue at any time during your two day stay. If we had known we could have changed your room or got a plumber straight away to fix the problem. After reading your feedback form, we (and a plumber) checked the hot water system and found no problem with it. However we will closely monitor if other guests experience a similar problem.
I do hope you may consider staying with us the next time you visit beautiful Eden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
4.0 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#5 of 8 in Eden
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#2 of 8 in Eden
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
0.7 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
1.0 mi away
Halfway Motel
Halfway Motel
#8 of 8 in Eden
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Rest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Rest Motor Inn

Address: 46 Princes Hwy | (Cnr of Princes Hwy and Irene Cres), Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range: $77 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman's Rest Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run, newly renovated motel based in Eden, NSW Australia. We have 25 ground floor rooms including Queen Rooms, Queen Twin Rooms and Family Rooms. All rooms have Queen or King size double beds, Queen twin and Family rooms also include single bed/s. Our Family rooms accommodate 5 people comfortably. All rooms are Non smoking and have free parking available in front of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coachman's Rest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing