We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bed for the night”
Review of Eden Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped here for one night during a drive from Sydney to Melbourne.

We just wanted a clean and comfortable bed and found this motel provided that at a reasonable price. The room and fittings are quite dated and would not qualify as luxurious by any measure but they were adequate, and they staff were very pleasant and helpful .

Apart from the usual 1970,s furniture and fittings there was a microwave oven, toaster and a basic range of crockery and cutlery. This came in handy for the complimentary continental breakfast of cereals and toast which was provided in very generous proportions.

So if you just want good basic accommodation for the night at a reasonable price this motel fits the bill nicely but for an extended stay on holiday I would perhaps chose somewhere a little more upmarket..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VK5AKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night in a family room and was disappointed as the room was musty and tired looking. The carpet was filthy and a health hazard I am sure.
The owner was pleasant and helpful.
We booked the motor inn because of the indoor heated pool but when we arrived it was empty and out of order. I feel this should have been stated on the website. I certainly wouldn't call this place a resort!
We also booked here on the understanding there was only one family room available however when we arrived all the other family rooms were vacant!
On the plus side a free continental breakfast was included in the price.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here and want wifi, you won't be able to access it in room 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed there three nights. Had originally planned on two, but found the motel so accommodating and the area so full of things to do that we spent another day there on our "tourist pace" trip between Melbourne and Sydney.

This is a family-run motel, and we appreciated the personal attention to our needs. For example, when the wifi failed, it was re-booted immediately and worked well during our visit. Lots of tv channels, too.

We enjoyed easy access to a number of seaside walks and being close to the town of Eden, with the Coles supermarket and a nearby bottle shop.

Just one caution that has nothing to do with the motel, but everything to do with travelling in NSW.

New South Wales (along with other Australian states) has driving regulations that allow the police to stop any driver at any time to administer a breathalizer test with no need to prove reasonable cause. We were "breathalized" three times in NSW. Not a problem for us, as we sailed through the stops with a "have a safe trip, sir." BUT, the local police set up breathalizer stops every day of our visit to Eden on the Princes Highway very near the motel.

Message: don't drink and drive, especially in New South Wales!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stamperbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at Blue Marlin for one night on way back from Melbourne to Sydney. Didn't get in till after 7pm owner very welcoming and friendly. Room neat and tidy enought room for family of 4. Good value for money with fresh continental breakfast delivered to the room.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Bronwyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our group of 30 senior travellers stayed one night on our way to Victoria, and although outdated, this motel is recommended for the budget traveller. We were warmly welcomed by the lovely young couple who took over the motel in november 2011.
About the only real complaint is the lack of proper window coverage, with the curtains being too short and not providing adequate privacy.
Internet was available for extra cost

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joybell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I recently stayed at the Blue Marlin with my teenage children. Eden is a beautiful spot with a fabulous surf beach, and there is plenty to do in the local area. The Motel is very comfortable and very clean and represents excellent value for money.The owners are friendly and very helpful. The children had a wonderful time in the heated pool, and playing in the games room. We had a good night's sleep as the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are spotless and there is a good shower. I would recommend this motel to anybody and Eden as a top location for a holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trippingar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at this motel for 1 night on our way back to Sydney from Melbourne. As we were there at 7.00pm, we didn't get the chance to use the pool, games room and experience the hospitality of those nice staff as mentioned by other travellers. The lady who checked me in seems like she is in the hurry to go somewhere and wasn't very friendly at all. The location of the motel is close to everywhere (shops, restaurants and coles supermarket). The kitchenette which has a microwave came in handy for heating up food for the kids. The bunk beds were a bonus to my kids. Otherwise, it's really a basic motel at a 4 star hotel price. If you are in Eden, don't forget to visit the Eden Whale Museum - worth visiting.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
3.8 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#5 of 8 in Eden
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Eden Nimo Motel
Eden Nimo Motel
#7 of 8 in Eden
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
1.2 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
0.8 mi away
Halfway Motel
Halfway Motel
#8 of 8 in Eden
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Motel

Address: 87 Princes Hwy, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Blue Marlin Resort & Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range: $52 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Eden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing