We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Halfway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halfway Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Traralgon, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 room with our 4 & 7yr olds, not a lot of room to sit at the table and you will need to wash the glasses before you use them, the toilet roll holder was non existent and the lamp shade are hanging by their metal frame but what makes it is the staff/owner, nothing to much trouble, friendly, helpful and lots of advice on things to do with best spots for the kids.
Even though it is on the corner of the highway it is quiet at night and the beds are really comfortable. Kids loved the pool. Older units but nicely renovated. We planed the stop at the last minute for a 1 night stop over, next time we go to Sydney we will plan in advance for a 2 night stop at this motel on the way home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilfiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
16
40
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Not a particularly friendly welcome, old fashioned room with not much in the way of facilities - a fridge and a kettle and nothing else. Toiletries consisted of a bar of soap. The shower was a disaster - constantly juggling with the two taps to try to get the water at the right temperature.

Everything reasonably clean.

The barbecue area looked very good, although we didn't put it to the test.

The wifi was off most of the time and patchy when it did come up.

Ok for a night but we wouldn't go back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was the place that came up on a google search as being, as the name suggests, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne so booked a night for our journey with our 3 and 6 year old kids. We had a 2 room suite with a double in one room and twin beds plus kitchenette and dining area in the other. The layout posed a problem for us as a family as we had to put the kids in the double bed as we did not dare leave them unattended with the hob/knives in the kitchen, but this meant they were in the room with the front door which was a little unsettling. On first glance all was great and the shower room was recently re-fitted, although on closer inspection the kitchen was a little grubby it all seemed slightly shabby. BUT it was just a stopover for us and offered a comfortable night sleep at a good price with friendly staff. We got great fish and chips from the chippie near the Whale Museum but pretty much everything else seemed closed by 6pm on a Wednesday eve! I dare say if we find ourselves doing the same journey again we may well stay here again but don't think I would wish to use it as a base for a holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in this motel for 1 night while travelling to Melbourne. Found it to be a nice, reasonably priced place, conveniently located on the Princes Highway. We had diner in the "mystique" restaurant which is part of the motel, food was good and well presented. Would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nothing to write home about. Rooms very small and dated for the rather expensive rates. Bed was comfortable.

Parking was a nightmare. Three guests WITH 4WD and boats on trailers took up almost half of the available spaces in the entire parking area. SOME people have no concern about fellow travellers. But then again what can you expect from bogans from Victoria.

Township just a short walk. Fishermans Club at the end of Imlay Street is worth a visit. Food very good and beer is cold.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms look all the same to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eden hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Booked here for 2 nights after travelling from Sydney with my sister and our two 14year olds.
The rooms were clean but very small and very dated. The shower room in particular was very very dated. The room was furnished very 1970s.
The children were really disappointed to find the "pool" was tiny and shallow with very little patio space around it. We were also very disappointed to find that the breakfast that had been reported on trip advisor as excellent was not available for us as it was a Sunday!
The children nagged us to move on as they wanted a pool to swim in at the endvofvthe day. We decided not stay on for a 2nd night !
This motel is in much need of a make over to bring it into the year 2013!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alibri1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hubby and I took the kids for a road trip and stayed here for the night. We found it to be very clean and looks to have been updated recently. It looks like one of those hotels from the 60-70's and has had a massive reno done. Everything is new inside the room, bed was comfy, flat screen telly, new bathroom etc. One thing I liked about the room was the sliding door at the back of the room. It was really pleasant to have a cool breeze waft through the room late in the day (in height of summer too).
If you do stay here, please have breakfast downstairs in the breakfast room. We did. Really decent, tasty set-you-up-for-the-day brekkies. Fantastic, I didn't expect that at all! :-D
I had scrambled eggs and bacon. It was awesome! I don't know where the owners get their bacon from, it was smoky and succulent. The eggs were great too. Did I mention the coffee? Coffee was yummy and hit the spot.
We found the owners to be really nice and very helpful. All in all, it was a really pleasant stay here. If we ever come down to Eden again, I want to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
3.1 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#4 of 8 in Eden
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
3.2 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Motel

Property: Halfway Motel
Address: 118 Imlay St | Princes Highway, PO Box 21, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halfway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also adjoining the motel is Mystique Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Halfway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing