We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as good as it gets.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Eden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The vibe of Snug Cove is set with the 5pm welcoming drinks. Out on the deck above Twofold Bay with stunning views, a good red and the interesting company of fellow guests and our wonderful hosts, Jen and Eric. We had a balcony room which was beautifully fitted out and with spectacular views across the bay to distant Mount Imlay. Everything has been considered for the comfort and convenience of guests and the feeling is of relaxed luxury.

Wonderful breakfasts, again on the deck, with hosts Jen and Eric enthusiastic and seemingly unjaded despite many years experience. Strongly recommended for a fabulous Eden experience, Snug Cove is a must if visiting Eden for a few days.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank spudtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldseagirl, Owner at Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Well the shirt is washed and worn. Bragged about as well. Sorry readers , there was a bit of an Hawaiian shirt competition and Eric lost. Thank you for sharing laughs and shirt.
The company wasn't bad either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked Snug Cove B & B on TripAdvisor recommendations. Regrettably, it was only for one night on a drive from Sydney to Melbourne.

My sister and I reached Snug Cove B & B around twilight to a warm welcome from Eric & Jennifer. The serving of wine was generous and we quickly established a Sri Lankan connection. We had a comfortable room with twin beds overlooking Snug Cove. The furnishings were eclectic and interesting bric-a-brac filled the house. The lounge had a warm fire.

They recommended the Mexican Night at nearby Wharf Cafe (Eden doesn't have much of a choice in places to dine). The fare wasn't really Mexican but the atmosphere was cheerful. After dinner, we enjoyed a quiet walk on the nearby wharf. The moonlit night was lovely.

We enjoyed a generous breakfast and toured the nearby Whale Museum before leaving Eden.

Eden has good whale watching and another guest showed us great photos of their whale watching trip. In contrast, we had only seen the fin of a whale during a similar trip in Sydney. This means I must return to Eden, and certainly for at least a couple of nights at Sung Cove B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgebraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldseagirl, Owner at Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

It is really nice when such seasoned travellers appreciate our B&B.
We think we are very lucky having the location and being able to share.
Happy travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Snug Cove B&B and throughly enjoyed the experience.
Snug Cove B&B is right at the top of the list of all the B&B's we have spent time in.
The location is brilliant, overlooking Snug Cove where the views from all the rooms and the common verandah are great. Entertainment each day by whales that made the area a stop over to rest and cavort was an addded bonus, although quite normal to the locals. The restaurants, either in the main street or down at the wharf, are only a short walk away.
The rooms are well furnished and exceptionally clean. The linen had a nice fresh smell and feel to it, the shower / bath was great.
Eric, with his quirky sense of humour, and Jen were very welcoming and happy to suggest an itinery that helped us experience what Eden and its environs has to offer.
The breakfasts were fantastic.
I really can't fault this place and wish Eric and Jen all the best for what should be a very successful venture
Thanks to you both

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs ones to further improve the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldseagirl, Owner at Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Whales at breakfast, can't really top that.
Oh and laughter.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

... because, honestly, it was a very quick stopover.

Based on the other reviews found here, we selected Snug Cove for our 'halfway twixt Sydney and Melbourne' stop. We were well welcomed by Jennifer, quickly and efficiently shown to our very nice room, given a few ideas re restaurants (a very short list as it was a Monday night), pointed to a lovely bottle of red and then left to our own devices. Perfect.

Having arrived after dusk, we really had no idea if the much feted view would indeed be as lovely in the morning as had been promised by others. It was. A crystal clear sky in the morning overlooking such a lovely bay. Very nice.

We met Eric at breakfast, and definitely did not make good use of his vaunted culinary skills - it was a tea and toast morning for us both and we headed out to complete our sojourn to Melbourne.

Sometimes it's good to leave a place wanting to return for a longer look. Eden, and Snug Cove, deserve a return adventure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldseagirl, Owner at Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

My goodness you really are well traveled.
I am pleased you mentioned lack of time. A lot of our guests are rushing between Sydney and Melbourne, often constrained by time, but also not realising how beautiful Eden is.
We may not have a lot of choices for dining of an evening but toasted sandwich can taste pretty good while looking at the harbour. At the moment we have whales as well as the usual pelicans, sea eagles and various other sea birds.
We are pleased you did fit in a night with us and hope you get to spend more time in Eden on another trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the moment that we arrived for a three night stay at Snug Cove B&B Jennifer and Eric made us feel more like family than B&B customers. The view of Twofold bay from the small balcony outside our top floor room was amazing. The room had everything needed for a comfortable stay, lovely bed, couch, large bathroom with a corner bath an separate shower and all those little things to make you feel at home. Free wifi is available in all parts of the B&B. The entire property was spotlessly clean.

The downstairs lounge room has a welcoming wood fire, comfortable seating, TV, books, magazines, tourism pamphlets, games, a small fridge to keep drinks cold etc. One of the other great features were Jennifer's homemade cakes and biscuits freely available for all guests.

We loved the 5.00pm complimentary drink and cheese platter on the large verandah overlooking the bay. It was a great opportunity to get to know our welcoming hosts and the other guests.

Breakfast on the verandah was also a real highlight. Don't miss a chance to order the rhubarb or orange crepes....YUMMMMM!!!!

Nothing was too hard for Jennifer and Eric. Eric even ran a shuttle service to drive two other guests and ourselves to the local pub for dinner!

We will definitely be back and will recommend Snug Cove B&B to all of our friends.

Room Tip: All four rooms have views of Twofold Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_fossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldseagirl, Owner at Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Eric's birthday today and your review was posted.
Made his day.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The first thing you notice is the beautiful home with awesome views for Whale spotting. Eric and Jennifer were great and certainly made us feel right at home - breakfast was awesome, which was lucky for me because my wife decided we needed to hike all over Eden :-)
The rooms are big and spacious and very very clean and you will get a great night sleep away from Sydney or Melbourne.
Eden is a must see little town with good restaurants and makes a wonderful weekend away from either Sydney or Melbourne. The drive is beautiful and well worth it !

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldseagirl, Owner at Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you Jamie, yes walking can be a challenge with our hills and a full tummy.

Eden is stunning and walking is a great way to see the views.
Thank you for suggesting that Eden is worth the drive from Melbourne or Sydney as most people would think we are too far for a long weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2013. Eric and Jennifer are great hosts. Breakfast on the front verandah overlooking Twofold Bay was enhanced by a whale sighting which lasted for over 30 minutes.
Very entertaining. Unfortunately we missed out on complimentary after five drinks, biscuits and cheese as we were visiting family. But came back to hot chocolate, home made cakes and biscuits.

Room Tip: Any one of the three rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldseagirl, Owner at Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Well Paul, hopefully, we will get a chance to make amends.
You and Heather were VERY busy but perhaps we should have started your day with a champagne breakfast. You deserved it.
Will make up for it next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eden hotels
2.8 mi away
The Seahorse Inn
The Seahorse Inn
#5 of 8 in Eden
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twofold Bay Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Heritage House Motel & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eagle Heights Holiday Units
1.3 mi away
Eden Motel
Eden Motel
#3 of 8 in Eden
125 reviews
2.9 mi away
Discovery Parks – Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Victoria Tce, Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eden
Price Range: $95 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uninterrupted views of Twofold Bay from your room. Even from your bath. Walk to shops, wharf, beach, museum and cafes. We want you to enjoy your stay in Eden and endeavour to make you as comfortable as possible sharing local knowledge, welcoming drinks on arrival and of course the views. Our rooms are an eclectic mix of old and new. We offer homemade cake and biscuits for you to enjoy while having a cuppa on your balcony. During the months of September, October and November Eden is a great base for whale watching either from land or from the Cat Balou Cruise boat.Sometimes we look down and see dolphins and seals in the bay.Kangaroos graze on the greens at the Eden Golf course and the variety of birds we see from our deck is fantastic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing