We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Carter Lake
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Nice hotel for a weekend trip to Omaha. Decent room, but the pool was a little cold. The breakfast was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggable_Wolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
16
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the airport and we have young children and there was an indoor pool. The pool was horrible! It was 66 degrees in the pool room and the heat for the "heated pool" was not turned on. When I complained to the front desk, the woman responded that the manager was already gone for the night and that she did not know how to operate the heat for the pool. On top of that, we hardly got any sleep as the walls are paper thin and you could hear people yelling all night. Definitely would not go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrelracer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is close to downtown, the zoo and the airport. The breakfast room is large and they provide the average selection of hotel breakfast food. Our children loved the pool.
We did not hear the airplanes or street traffic from our room. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whynot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Hotel will not accept changes to your reservation (we tried 3 weeks in advance) - and WILL charge your credit card. We needed to cancel one night of a four night reservation (3 weeks in advance) - but were charged. Do NOT believe the Holiday Inn cancellation policy of 72 hours - this hotel will NOT honor. Calls to Corp Holiday Inn get no response.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMOKCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Level Contributor
310 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Our room was spacious and the bathroom was large and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good. There was a good sized hot tub with nice jets, but the water needed to be hotter. My only dislike about the room was that there was no ref.
Hotel was very convenient to the airport and Budget parking. It was also very convenient to the Qwest Center and the Haymarket area. There was a convenience store next door.
We ended up staying here again on our return as our flight was delayed and it was too late to drive home. I felt the price we paid for the last minute booking was a bit steep, but we were too tired to look elsewhere. Our biggest complaint about our second stay was that the maids began vacuuming VERY early when we were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

On the upside: Convenient to the airport with free shuttle to and from airport, free wifi, a 24 hour convienience store across the street, and the usual Holiday inn express hot breakfast.

On the downside: Noise. HVAC so loud you couldn't hear the tv, doors banging up and down the hall at all hours, and hot water pipes thumping anytime anyone in the building turned on their hot water.

This place is okay if you only need one night while you're waiting for your plane. But, thats it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SciProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This hotel was a nice surprise. I had to stay at the airport since my flight got in at midnight from Denver. I was worried about getting out of a small airport via shuttle, etc. at such a late hour. No problem! I called and they were there is a few minutes. When I checked in I was really hungry. I asked the front desk if there was any food available (which I didn't expect). She suggested a pizza delivery but I had pizza earlier in the day. I thanked her anyway and said I would wait 'til breakfast. Next thing you know, she was offering me a plate of cereal bars, Nutra Grain bars. They offer these for their breakfast in the morning. She went the extra mile to accommodate me. The rooms were very nice- clean, modern looking. I wasn't expecting too much so I was pleasantly surprised. This hotel was a little more expensive than the surrounding ones (La Quinta, Sleep Inn) but worth it in my opinion. The breakfast was outstanding- cheese omelet, bacon, hot cinnamon rolls, etc. They offer AAA, AARP and Military discount.

  • Liked — location near airport, staff friendliness, nice rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — a little expensive for this area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JBicrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carter Lake
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha Airport
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Omaha Eppley Airport/Carter Lake
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Omaha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Omaha Airport Downtown
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites-Omaha Airport
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Omaha - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn
Address: 2510 Abbott Plaza, Carter Lake, IA 51510 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Carter Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Carter Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn and Suites in Carter Lake, Iowa is conveniently located to Eppley Airfield, Downtown Omaha, CenturyLink Center, TD Ameritrade Ballpark, Old Market and Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo. Best Western Plus Omaha Airport also provides complimentary airport shuttle to and from the Airport every half hour as scheduled starting as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. We also offer a complimentary local shuttle within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn and Suites offers a 24 hour business center in the lobby, indoor pool, hot tub and 24 hour fitness center and on site sundry shop. All guest rooms are non-smoking and feature either one king or two queen size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator, premium cable television programming, flat screen color televisions, a desk chair & workstation and comfortable seating area in each room. Suites, with the one king or two queen bed configurations offer additional space and a separate seating area for entertaining. The oversized living space features a sofa sleeper convertible bed, additional flat screen color television, microwave and refrigerator. Additionally, Best Western Plus Omaha Airport is ADA compliant and guests have easy access to the hotel, the guest rooms, hotel amenities and hotel function spaces. Our hotel has accessible standard rooms and suites, including suites with one king or two queen size beds, including both physical impairment and/or hearing impairment units. Sorry no pets, but service animals are, of course, welcomed. Start your day early with our continental breakfast of cereal, milk, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted breakfast bars and breads and beverages such as juice, coffee and/or hot chocolate. The continental is served as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. Each guest is invited to enjoy our free hot breakfast is served from 6:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. daily, in the centrally located breakfast room. Our Downtown area features such attractions as the CenturyLink Center Omaha Convention Center, the TD Ameritrade Ballpark, the Freedom Park Navy Museum, the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge, the Historic Old Market restaurant and bar district, and nearby attractions such as the Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Museum, and the Omaha Henry Doorly Zoo. The City of Council Bluffs and area shopping is only a short drive (only 10 - 15 minutes away). Council Bluffs offers 3 world class casinos, the Mid-America Center, additional shopping & dining opportunities, a Go Kart track and a luxury movie theater. The hotel shuttle will take guests to the Council Bluffs Mid-America Center, nearby restaurants, shopping and Casinos (within 5 mile radius). Some of the other notable businesses and attractions are University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO), Creighton University, Gallup, The Nebraska Medical Center, the Children's Hospital, Offutt Air Force Base, Union Pacific Railroad, Omaha Steaks, Omaha World-Herald newspaper, First Data and Oriental Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carter Lake
Carter Lake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing