We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Trip to Omaha”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carter Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We will be making several trips to Omaha now that our daughter is going to college in the great city. We are still on the look out for the best stay for the value. Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake is somewhere I would stay again. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was good. The only complaint was room service did not come till 5:00 pm on day. Other than that we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 907momof3907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 192 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you need an airport close to the hotel, this is your place. A little outdated, yes, but it was comfortable and clean and had all the necessary amenities. There is a gas station and large convenient store across the street, but there are not really any restaurants within walking distance. There was a somewhat questionable crowd at our hotel that night, so I am not sure if that was an anomaly or if this area attracts different people. My stay was fine and I really have no complaints, but once I drove into town, I realized how awesome Omaha really is, and there are a lot of cool areas (Old Market, etc) with hotels that have shopping and trendy restaurants within walking distance which were reasonably priced. While I was satisfied with the HIE, I wish that I would have taken advantage of downtown Omaha and stayed there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

There was nothing wrong with the facility with the exception of housekeeping knocking in the door twice before 9:00AM on the morning of check out. I understand the sense of urgency to get the rooms clean but...... Otherwise good for the traveler with a short stay. Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leland1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here the night before we had an early flight the next day. The staff was friendly. The hotel is close to the airport. Plenty of lights outdoors at night with a gas station next door. The rooms are out dated. The beds are not comfortable at all. The bathroom was dirty with hair on the floor. The first room we got the AC was broken. The second room we moved to the AC worked but it was still dirty. Other than a quick night before a flight I'd never stay here with my family. There is a Candlewood next door and that will be where we stay next time before a flight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigtwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear bigtwagner,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with your room accommodations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Check-in was quick, the gentleman that helped us out was friendly and made conversation while he did his thing. The room was exactly what we booked, it was large and very clean. The bed was pretty comfortable, only complaint here was the pillows were kind of lumpy but I didn't have trouble sleeping. One thing we noticed was when we left our room we could here children shouting next door but we didn't even notice it well we were in the actual room, their sound proofing must be good.
During our visit 8/3-8/5 the pool was open and clean. The pool room was hot but nothing unbearable. We enjoyed the hot tub without the jets going because if we turned on the jets it just made the chemical smell to much to handle.
Yes, there is a strip club across the street but that isn't the hotel's fault and it shouldn't be held against them. To be honest you wouldn't even know it was a strip club unless you saw the sign which is on the building but not facing the hotel, it looks like any other building. We arrived back to the hotel quite late one night and did not notice any shady characters in the area. I felt very safe.
Oh regarding breakfast, we never made it down for that so I can't give it a thumbs up or down.
We really enjoyed our stay here and if we have a need for a hotel in the area again I'm sure will go with this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We used priority rewards points and arrived at about 1:00AM coming from the airport. There was a nice person at the front desk who had everything ready and gave us all bottles of water. We did not have breakfast here as we were meeting family but the beds were comfortable and our experience was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The weeds on the grounds were waist high (the grass in the pics has been replaced with rock). The night staff were rude to customers who had trouble unlocking the front doors with their room keys (front doors lock at 11pm). When checking in, the front desk person made a sarcastic comment under her breath to a supervisor. The pool was dirty and the heat in the cramped pool room was stifling. After we were done swimming we noticed a sign on the front desk stating the pool was closed due to health concerns. There was no sign on the pool door and no one said anything to all the people swimming. Limited seating by the pool. Strip club across the street. Overall sketchy feel. Not typical Holiday Inn Express quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Craig R,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carter Lake
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Omaha Airport
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn, Inn & Suites Omaha
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Omaha Airport
Hampton Inn Omaha Airport
#2 of 6 in Carter Lake
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Omaha Eppley Airport/Carter Lake
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Omaha Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Omaha Airport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn

Address: 2510 Abbott Plaza, Carter Lake, IA 51510 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Omaha Airport Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Carter Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carter Lake
Price Range: $94 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn and Suites in Carter Lake, Iowa is conveniently located to Eppley Airfield, Downtown Omaha, CenturyLink Center, TD Ameritrade Ballpark, Old Market and Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo. Best Western Plus Omaha Airport also provides complimentary airport shuttle to and from the Airport every half hour as scheduled starting as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. We also offer a complimentary local shuttle within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn and Suites offers a 24 hour business center in the lobby, indoor pool, hot tub and 24 hour fitness center and on site sundry shop. All guest rooms are non-smoking and feature either one king or two queen size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator, premium cable television programming, flat screen color televisions, a desk chair & workstation and comfortable seating area in each room. Suites, with the one king or two queen bed configurations offer additional space and a separate seating area for entertaining. The oversized living space features a sofa sleeper convertible bed, additional flat screen color television, microwave and refrigerator. Additionally, Best Western Plus Omaha Airport is ADA compliant and guests have easy access to the hotel, the guest rooms, hotel amenities and hotel function spaces. Our hotel has accessible standard rooms and suites, including suites with one king or two queen size beds, including both physical impairment and/or hearing impairment units. Sorry no pets, but service animals are, of course, welcomed. Start your day early with our continental breakfast of cereal, milk, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted breakfast bars and breads and beverages such as juice, coffee and/or hot chocolate. The continental is served as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. Each guest is invited to enjoy our free hot breakfast is served from 6:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. daily, in the centrally located breakfast room. Our Downtown area features such attractions as the CenturyLink Center Omaha Convention Center, the TD Ameritrade Ballpark, the Freedom Park Navy Museum, the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge, the Historic Old Market restaurant and bar district, and nearby attractions such as the Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Museum, and the Omaha Henry Doorly Zoo. The City of Council Bluffs and area shopping is only a short drive (only 10 - 15 minutes away). Council Bluffs offers 3 world class casinos, the Mid-America Center, additional shopping & dining opportunities, a Go Kart track and a luxury movie theater. The hotel shuttle will take guests to the Council Bluffs Mid-America Center, nearby restaurants, shopping and Casinos (within 5 mile radius). Some of the other notable businesses and attractions are University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO), Creighton University, Gallup, The Nebraska Medical Center, the Children's Hospital, Offutt Air Force Base, Union Pacific Railroad, Omaha Steaks, Omaha World-Herald newspaper, First Data and Oriental Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Omaha Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carter Lake
Carter Lake Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing