We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel du Haut Phare
Nearby Hotels
Auberge Le Caribou(Riviere-au-Renard)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Adams(Gaspe)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plante(Gaspe)(Great Value!)
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
127
57
19
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
57
19
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstallest lighthousethe ownerforillon national parkroom was cleanseafood stewcroissantsa great stayrooms are smallstayed here for nightswould definitely stay here againglass of winegreat viewalaincapmotelpeninsularosiers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 212 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed with Alain for a few days and he has a really nice motel. The views are fantastic and you are in the heart of an unbelievably beautiful area. The motel is priced right and you get more than you expect. The bed was very comfortable, ample heat and hot water and the wifi was super fast. Breakfast in the morning is basic but more than enough to fill you up and get you going for the day. Alain is the star here and he will take what ever time you need to map out and direct you to the best sights and sounds in the Gaspe area. Lots of moose, bear, birds and beavers. Not a lot of traffic or people. We look forward to visiting this wonderful place again and of course we will stay at Motel du Haut Phare.

Room Tip: Room 1 has been recently renovated and looks fantastic.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, quite literally a stones throw (you'd have to have a really powerful arm!) away from lighthouse. On a warm day (or not!) treat yourself to an excellent soft serve ice cream (establishment next to le phare).

Just across the very quiet highway - often many minutes in between vehicles - you can access the rocky beach; just a little walk further brings you to a sandier beach. Our kids had a great time on the beach.

If you can swing it, grab one of Alain's newer kitchenette units. They are slightly larger and have much improved washrooms. Regardless, we'd stay here again. Alain and Pierre were helpful and super friendly, and Cap Bon Ami is just a few minutes down the road. Excellent eating near by in Cap-Aux-Os (Cafe Baleiniers) and l'Anse Au Griffon (Café de l'Anse - marvellous). Bring groceries with you from Gaspe if you plan on doing most of your own cooking; supplies in both nearby villages are pretty limited; even Perce suffers in this regard.

Final thoughts: nice spot and we'd stay again without hesitation. This part of Forillon is just fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated kitchenette units.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolutionRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal3946, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hello :) thank you so much for taking the time to write about us, it is very appreciate, whoever you are lol , hope to serve you again.

Alain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although there was a time when we thought we'd never vacation at the same destination more than once, we've now been to the Gaspe 4 times in 15 years - and we would come more often if it wasn't such a long drive from home! After our first trip (camping at Forillon) we have stayed at Motel du Haut Phare every time. We simply refer to it as "Alain's," partly because we can never remember how to pronounce the French, but mostly because of the intense pride of ownership Alain Cote demonstrates. We both travel some for business and stay in high-end, business-class hotels but, frankly, when we are on vacation, this motel is exactly what we want: clean, comfortable, and convenient. We stay a week each time and prefer to eat light, so we stock up at a fantastic grocery store at Riviere du Renard on the way in and make good use of the hotel's kitchenette amenities. Because the highway along the coast of the Gaspe and the St. Lawrence is so magnificent in the fall (think California coastal highway plus New England autumn color) we always come right before Columbus Day/Canadian Thanksgiving. Because of the time of year, sitting on deck in front of the room is not always a comfortable option - but no matter: We have spent many meals and long hours sitting at the dining table (or even on the bed) staring out at the magnificent view (Forillon's Presqu'ile), the acrobatic gannets, and even the occasional Minke whale. Speaking of whales, this year Alain advised that the whale watching boat at Forillon was still open due to late season whale activity, and he even made our reservations for us. We spent two delightful hours getting up close and personal with Humpbacks and Minkes! Gaspe is also a fantastic place for watching birds and seals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just spent 4 days here the week of Sept 16. Excellent Choice! The room, breakfast, view, location to park and restaurants - all perfect. Alain the owner was very friendly and informative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as we were passing through in Sept of 2013. As you drive up you think you are at a ma and pa motel back in the 50's. But we could not have been happier with our room. Every part of the room was remodeled and updated including a very nice looking shower. Alain was a great host and very helpful with things we could do. Great location right across from the lighthouse. This is an excellent value in Gaspe. We recommend asking for room #5!! I mistakenly checked that it has a swimming pool. It does not have a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews