We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough, but not up to expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel du Haut Phare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel du Haut Phare
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's a perfectly OK motel, but was surprised to find it not on the beach but across the highway and with a parking lot in front. Since the rooms open to the view and we were first room off the stairs, everyone going to their rooms coming and going stared into ours or walked in front of us when we sat in the chairs outside. The room was a standard-sized motel room with a smaller than normal bathroom and the kitchenette had been wedged and stacked into closet space. Small fridge, microwave on top of that and toaster and coffee machine on top of that. Two burners on other side of the room, right next to the sink, so no room to actually prepare anything, but ok for heating stuff up.
Still, the view was nice and the owner had two very comfortable chairs seated on either side of a round table in front of the window. He also gave us suggestions on a couple of things to do.
He offers an inexpensive continental breakfast, which is pretty meager, but the price was low.
The location is very close to Forillion Park, so handy for hikers.
To sum it up, we found it perfectly clean, it did have a view, and OK all around--just wasn't the "stupendous" place I had been expecting from reviews.

Room Tip: End of unit, so people aren't passing in front of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    44
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I went here on a motorcycle vacation and was so pleased with the hotel right away, the view is breathtaking, Alan the owner was very accommodating,nice, and knowledgeable about the area. He gave excellent recommendations for meals, things to do in the area, even making reservation for us, We would highly recommend this motel , very clean, and the view unforgettable, Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorcycle Nannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here on a trip around the Gaspe. Although I speak no French, the lady at the check in tried very hard to communicate with us and did an excellent job. The owner was very helpful and friendly, having a fire outside that night. The room was spotless and very quaint. You can't beat the location and view. Right across the street is the Tallest Lighthouse in Canada. Oh, did I mention the room was immaculate. Not a speck of dust anywhere. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY-HAWGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We, three families, stayed there for a night as the first stop of our gaspesie trip.
The motel is well located, less than a minute away from a historic site and a beach, only a few minutes driving distance to Forillon National Park and close to Riviere-au-Renard where we bought fresh fish and lobster for dinner.
We had greate time there: the overlook of Forillon National Park from the motel is magnificent; kids found their first fossile stones at the beach; the lobsters cooked by Alain in gaspesie style is the best lobster dinner we ever had and all of us had fun time with "Jack"!
We enjoyed every minute there and it was definitely an excellent start to our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaYWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We made our stop based on previous reviews and really loved this place. I wasn't sure what to expect and honestly I wasn't expecting much. We reached there later than 4 pm...almost around 7ish. Alain was very welcoming. We didn't feel like outsiders there. Thanks to his inputs we could plan our stay there in the best possible way. I am not sure we would have done as much with out his suggestions.

Alain's mom is a magical person and her warmth will be cherished by us.

We stayed in room number 12. It was done up very thoughtfully. It was very clean and had a small kitchenette with required pots, pans and other useful kitchen items. The room has a small fridge, toaster, microwave [with splatter cover :)]
Though the rooms are small we did not feel we were in a match box. We had a comfortable stay.
Though they offer a complimentary breakfast we did not need to take them up on that offer but it was a decent spread.


Every day we had breakfast by the window and had candlelight dinners...It was fantastic!
I don't mean to set up anybody's expectations. It worked out great for us and we would go back anytime - in a heart beat :)

It was a great getaway and we feel nostalgic!
Thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank empyrean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We made this a stop based on TA reviews. The owner was very friendly and knowledgable. Our queen bed was fairly comfy and the room was clean. The view was magnificent, we wish we could rate this higher! We woke up before sunrise the next morning just to see the sunrise over the water, this was totally worth getting up in the dark. This was even more fun as we awoke without power. At first we thought it was just the hotel, but quickly discovered it was the entire area.

On the recommendation of the owner we ended going back into the park and hiking up to the lookout which can be seen from the motel. This climb is not for the faint of heart I have to say. The climb was very steep, mostly on a dirt path and some stairs. Took about an hour to get up, this included a few breaks here and there. The views were totally worth it in our opinion, although we both agree that next time we would do this hike after breakfast instead. We were a little drained as we did this right after watching the sunrise before eating. In our defence, breakfast wasn't until 8am and we were back at the motel shortly after 8. None the less, this is a must for anyone adventurous enough to take on nearly 1000 foot climb over about 2.3km. Coming down was much easier and only took 30 min.

About the only negative thing we found with our room was that it did not have a hair dryer. We were on a motorcycle and my wife wanted to dry her hair before putting on a helmet for the day.

The only other thing worth mentioning is the incredible wind, made for an interesting day on the bike that's for sure. Not sure if it's always like that, but in case you're thinking of doing some kite surfing or hand gliding you should be aware.

According to the owner there are some good places to eat in the area, we didn't check any of these places out as we stopped for dinner earlier at Brise Bise in Gaspé harbour. Excellent service and great pub grub incidentally.

We would both stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L84TOFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Travelling across the Gaspè Peninsula find a moment to stay in this little jewel on the coast. The rooms are en-suite, spacious, with nice furniture, a lovely round table close to a big window open wide on the ocean, ideal for romantic dinners. How can I forget the splendid ligthouse, the tallest in all of Canada, so close to this motel that is possible to get there just crossing the street? There's also a kitchenette disposable for the guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaspe
12.9 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
12.9 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
22.3 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Auberge Le Caribou
Auberge Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Riviere-au-Renard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Plante
Hotel Plante
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Motel Le Pharillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel du Haut Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel du Haut Phare

Property: Motel du Haut Phare
Address: 1334 Route 132 Cap-Des-Rosiers, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 6H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel du Haut Phare 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Du Haut Phare is one of the most marvellous places to stay in Gaspe. Our motel is located in the very heart of the Gaspe peninsula, at the gateway to the village of Cap-Des-Rosiers and Forillon National Park just where the International Appalachian Trail draws to an end... One of the loveliest places in the province of Quebec. Here you can always expect a warm hospitality and we will do everything to make people comfortable, your host Alain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Motel du Haut Phare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Du Haut Phare Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing