We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel du Haut Phare
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Travelling across the Gaspè Peninsula find a moment to stay in this little jewel on the coast. The rooms are en-suite, spacious, with nice furniture, a lovely round table close to a big window open wide on the ocean, ideal for romantic dinners. How can I forget the splendid ligthouse, the tallest in all of Canada, so close to this motel that is possible to get there just crossing the street? There's also a kitchenette disposable for the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alessia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Alain, the owner, is rightly proud of his updating efforts over the last 5 years. He treats his guests like royalty - even prepared an evening campfire for chatting with him and ,other guests. Access to Forrion Park was just down the road, and the tall lighthouse was a stone's throw away. Also perhaps 100 meters away was a self-serve laundry - a rarity in Gaspesie (that building also doubles as an ice cream stand - nice!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

After staying in a boutique hotel in QC, we took the train out to Gaspe, rented a car, bought some groceries, and made our way to Motel du Haut Phare. We came early in the season, so there was a night or two in which we were the only guests. Our room was well equipped, the kitchenette especially had everything needed, and there was even a nice new TV with cable. But the prime attraction here is the natural beauty. We used the grill out front to make dinner, then ate in the adirondack chairs overlooking the beach and Forillon park. Many of the stores and restaurants in even the surrounding towns were not open yet, so we mostly cooked for ourselves and packed lunches for the park. Alain is very hospitable and interesting to talk to--we enjoyed our breakfasts in the office very much. He has big plans for expansion, so keep checking back with Motel du Haut Phare in years to come!

Room Tip: Book in the off season--rates are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank without_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night in this motel and we loved it. The owner is very friendly (he even helped us setting up our propane stove =)). The room is very clean and very comfortable. It certainly deserves its current ranking in TripAdvisor (#1 in Gaspe).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akram_s_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Probably built in the '50 this roadside motel has breathtaking views. We reserved a room with kitchenette and it was perfect for 2 adults. The room had been updated, painted and very clean, but very small.
The owner will go out of his way to please and help his guests.
There is a continental breakfast included. A nice touch that gets you going in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brasstess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our our two-day stay at Motel du Haut-Phare and got to try the two types of rooms! The ones with kitchenettes have been renovated and are really very good. Watch out for the step as you are coming out of the bathroom though... Wonderful location, next to Forillon National (Federal) Park. Alain, the owner, has stories to tell about the Park's creation and excellent advice about where to go. Caveat: we should have followed his advice and stocked up before reaching Cap-des-Rosiers: in the shoulder season, everything is dead and you're 30km or so to the nearest significant grocery store. Thank God in Quebec, you have a basic selection of wine and beer in grocery stores. The place comes with free breakfast also and the friendly lady in the office will go out of her way to get you what you need for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We went to the Motel Du Haut Phare in july 09, it is located in the small village of Cap-Des-Rosiers Gaspé Quebec, Canada.
What a wonderfull place, from our room we could admire the whales as close as 50 meters from the shore, the seal jumping out of the water, the gannets diving at a 100km/hr. we were just amase, and what a view! we could see water as far as our eyes could see and just in front there is the magnificient cliff of Forillon Park that you can visit, on the other side of the street you have the highest Lighthouse of Canada, i wll go back for sure
Our host was so nice, Alain made this place so confortable and inviting, take a look at the website and if you're going to Gaspé you have to go at the Motel Du Haut Phare it's a must, i enjoyed the fire at night and diving with Alain.
5 stars for you and your motel, keep on the good work Alain

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waterlover46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaspe
12.9 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
13.0 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
12.8 mi away
Motel Adams
Motel Adams
#6 of 12 in Gaspe
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
23.5 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
283 reviews
13.3 mi away
Auberge Le Caribou
Auberge Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Riviere-au-Renard
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel du Haut Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel du Haut Phare

Address: 1334 Route 132 Cap-Des-Rosiers, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 6H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Price Range: $81 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel du Haut Phare 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Du Haut Phare is one of the most marvellous places to stay in Gaspe. Our motel is located in the very heart of the Gaspe peninsula, at the gateway to the village of Cap-Des-Rosiers and Forillon National Park just where the International Appalachian Trail draws to an end... One of the loveliest places in the province of Quebec. Here you can always expect a warm hospitality and we will do everything to make people comfortable, your host Alain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Motel du Haut Phare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Du Haut Phare Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing