We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and Up some more.”

Forillon National Park
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Gaspe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kelowna
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Up and Up some more.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great hike up to the top of Mt. Alban, absolutely view to beat all others. A 283 meter hike on a 2 kilometer trail so it was steep in places and rocky in a few. Lots of bear scat but didn't see any. If you fit go for it you'll be glad you did.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    107
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

very interesting park. beautiful. we didn't stay long, but we did the whale watch cruise (it was amazing!) and a very nice hike to the lighthouse.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiliaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bon Ami camping experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at Cap Bon Ami campground. We were a little disappointed that our site (24) did not have any view of the Gulf as there is a fence and shrub growth preventing the view. On the plus side I guess the small trees and shrub help to offer some protection from winds. Site 52 (last site) does have a nice view and is more private, however, the trade off is a longer walk to the facilities. Showers are good, no extra charge and overall facilities are fine.

It is tent camping only at Cap Bon Ami and offer very little privacy or shelter from the elements, however the trade off is a gorgeous view of the cliffs toward Mont Saint Alban. It is an easy walk to the Mont Saint Alban trail which is a "must do" when visiting Forillon. The park is amazing and well worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank bluesky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Pristine”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in the park for 3 nights in a yurt - "pret a camping". (Rented from Les Petites Maisons du camp). The yurt was perfect for us as we flew from NYC and did not have to carry a tent etc. It is fully equipped and you only have to bring a towel.
This park is beautiful. It is not very big so you can get a good feel for it in a few days. We stayed by the Cap Bon Ami campground in a setting against the cliffs. We did the hike from Cap Bon Ami to Grande Graves and further to the L'Anse Amerindien. The hike on the south side along the Gaspe Baie was so pleasant with the sea and the wild flowers. We watched the Gannets (birds) diving for fish. The old settlement houses were also interesting to imagine how people lived in this landscape and eaked out their sustenance from the sea.
We got our food in the town of Gaspe and were set for the 3 days. The camp site is very nice with a nice shelter for inclement weather and to socialize if wanted. The landscape is beyond compare with towering cliffs and sea views and changes with the light. We saw shooting stars at night. It is a long drive from Quebec City and certainly worth it. (about 8 hours but we stopped along the way and made it part of the trip.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank moonmccaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the hike!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Did the 2.0km up hill hike at Cap-Bon-Ami to the lookout tower...well worth the view. Also did the small 1km La Chute jaunte to a beautiful waterfall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forillon National Park also viewed

 

Been to Forillon National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing