We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge sous les Arbres
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed only one night in September. A lovely, quiet inn in a great location - day trip to Forillon Park or Perce Rock.

All common areas and rooms are furnished with beautiful antiques and art from Quebec and Europe. Pleasant staff.

This inn has a very upscale feel at a moderate cost relative to similarly appointed hotels we have visited.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

The auberge is mostly an old house with interesting features. The room we had was equipped with a large fress-standing bath on a platfor, across from the bed, shielded by curtains! It looked great, but would have been better for a leisurely soak than a quick shower. The staff were helpful and friendly, but in contrast to another reviewer, we found breakfast lacking. It appeared that much of the breakfast was kept in a chiller cabinet overnight and simply reheated in the morning. This included cooked items. Needless to say, we stuck to the pastries and fruit, which were fine. Overall, a good place to stay. For meals, there are some friendly restaurants nearby, though we did not enjoy our meal in the big hotel next door (the Hotel des Commandants).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The facilities and location are top notch, but the hospitality is what really sets this place apart. We spent 3 nights here while touring the area, and the owners really took care of us. No need to speak French. Breakfast is great. What a lovely spot!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainWannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We loved our recent 3-day stay in Gaspe, and this inn was terrific! I don't know why anyone would stay elsewhere! The location was just off the main street, the room was spacious, modern, and clean, and the innkeepers so warm and helpful. Nearby Forillon National Park is spectacular, and they helped with our daily trip planning. The grounds are lovely, and we were disappointed that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We just spent a week at Maison Carter on business. The suite we took was just perfect for our needs. There was great antique desk we could set up on our computer and a lovely sitting room where we could relax after completing our daily work. The Auberge was central to everything....several excellent restaurants within walking distance. Andree-Claude and Pierre are marvellous hosts, very knowledgeable about the region.

Room Tip: All rooms are ample sizes, beautifully decorated with antiques. The rooms in the new wing seem a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperiencePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel was great. Beautifully renovated. Extremely clean. Luxury sheets. Great location across from cafes and shops. Quiet. The only thing I am going to say, and this wasn't a problem for us at all, was that there were lots of stairs. From the parking lot to the reception is the equivalent of 1 flight of stairs. In the front, to get to the street is the equivalent of 3 flights of stairs. Again, it was a great place (5 stars) and if stairs aren't a problem, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Beautiful Victorian house with modern amenities. Very clean and great location. You can relax in their beautiful private backyard next to an outdoor fireplace. Nothing but excellent and sincere service. Great value. Their good value breakfast is optional.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaspe
12.9 mi away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#3 of 12 in Gaspe
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
23.6 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Adams
Motel Adams
#6 of 12 in Gaspe
81 reviews
24.8 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
285 reviews
12.7 mi away
Auberge Le Caribou
Auberge Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Riviere-au-Renard
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge sous les Arbres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge sous les Arbres

Address: 146 de la Reine Street, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 2R2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Price Range: $100 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge sous les Arbres 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Auberge sous les Arbres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sous Les Arbres Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing