We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Piece of Heaven in the Gaspe, Angels to Care for your every need.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison William Wakeham
Ranked #11 of 11 Gaspe B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven in the Gaspe, Angels to Care for your every need.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Hello Desmond Ogden & Staff :
I am emailing you to send my Thanks to you and your Staff members. At La Maison William Wakeham
We stayed at your Auberge last year in July 2009 for 2 nights. My brother had liver Cancer and was only allowed to eat organic or natural foods.
He so much enjoyed the food and your place with the pine logs and the fireplace the Moose Head was of great discussion.
My family is one of the original eight families to be from the Douglastown. Lenny was the Son of Thomas Walsh and Clothilda Bolduc. I know you are booked well in advance , but I truly do appreciate that you let me be there that weekend to be with my brother as this was our special time together in our Hometown Gaspe.
I tried to say good bye to you that morning I choked up in tears …it was all so perfect I just wanted to freeze this time to never end. .
We are all here on the earth for a leased time and borrow all that we have : must give it back when we receive our one way ticket. We do take what is in our hearts and soul…Mr. Desmond you were my Angel this world is such a better place because of men like you. so kind and understanding, to be such an awesome cook…Your place is so special. Making history as well as preserving it…
I truly want to say I was so pleased to have these cherished memories with my brother Lenny & our family together. It is of great sadness My brother Lenny Walsh passed away in Feb. 02 , 2010. I will go back to stay at your place a piece of Heaven .Your Staff ae true Angels work so hard to please and your food is to die for..I mean it in a memorable way!! I dream of the summer I will be back..Thank you
LA Rustique

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitebuterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    17
    14
    7
See reviews for
30
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

This was the best food we had during our 2 week trip to Gaspe Pennisula...truly outstanding. The restaurant is not inexpensive but totally worth it. Save somewhere else and spluge here. (Warning: portions are big and food is so good, you may overeat!)We spent 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, nice, with a view of the river; owner and staff helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I was quite excited when I booked the room "La Rustique" at La Maison William Wakeham. The website looks great and we decided to treat ourselves by booking the best room at the auberge.
The room itself is spacious and beautiful. Everything was great at the beginning. However, we quickly noticed some small problems. The room was not very clean. And, the breakfast was not great either. However, we did not mind so much, especially being amazed by the room itself.
The next morning, I was about to change. All of a sudden, I saw someone passing by the front door. Then, I realized that the front door of the room is see through (don't ask me why!). The reason we never noticed this at the beginning was because the room is in a separate building and the receptionist told us that we have our own private corridor. As it turned out, the corridor is not private and anyone could pass by that corridor and look into the room!!!
I complained to the auberge the first morning and they promised to ensure that the corridor would remain private. The next morning, the same thing happened again when a stranger passed by the corridor!!!
The worst thing is that when I complained to the owner of the auberge, I did not get a feeling that he truly felt apologetic.
It is very unfortunate that I have to give such a low rating to this property. It has a lot of potential being really good. But, the service is just terrible.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meli_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gaspe hotels

Mannheim
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed at the Maison William Wakeham for one night in July. The historic house is charming, especially the dining room with wood panels. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the room "La Romantique". The room was very nice, in line with the romantic theme, and had all amenities one would expect from a 3 star hotel. The bed was comfortable . The room, the bathroom, and the restaurant were clean and well kept. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the food, although we thought that it was a tad overpriced. Breakfast was good. One slight minor point was the live music concert in a nearby hotel or bar, which we could hear clearly. It did stop before midnight and we had nonetheless a good night's sleep. The hotel cannot change that, and it was Saturday night. If you are going to Gaspé or the nearby Parc Forillon, this is a good place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

La Maison Wakeham is a perfect place to spend a few days in Gaspe!
The house is charming, the rooms are clean, and the food is really excellent. Desmond is a wonderful host. He loves his inn and the area and it shows.
Try the Chambre de la reine (queen's room) for a special occasion or book one of the rooms upstairs, you can't go wrong.
Forillon National Park is just 20 minutes away for hiking, whale watching, etc.
La Maison Wakeham will make your stay more memorable.

  • Liked — Charming
  • Disliked — Lack of good lighting
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise&David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaspe hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
13.0 mi away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#3 of 12 in Gaspe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plante
Hotel Plante
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
11.9 mi away
Gite des Trois-Ruisseaux
13.1 mi away
Hotel-Motel Le Pharillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison William Wakeham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison William Wakeham

Property: La Maison William Wakeham
Address: 186 de la reine, c.p. 3-12, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 1T6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Gaspe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison William Wakeham 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Wakeham house built in 1860 is ideally located in Gaspé between Percé and the forillon National park,( 20 minutes drive) we are 7 minute drive from our sandy beach at Haldimand and five minutes drive from the airport and its a two minute drive from the marina for our 2014 season we have 11 rooms,and suites and 2 fully equipped apartments ideal for longer stays and familys of four or more (sleeps up to six) all our rooms have private bathrooms we offer tv’s in most rooms and wireless Internet throughout the building Our 40 seat award winning victorian dining room offers the freshest produce from the seaAnd from Quebec and canadian farms, lobster is of course available throughout the season, our 12 staff members are commited to quality service and we will do everything we can to make your stay in this historic house a memorable one.Our walking and bicycle trails are close by and we can arrange rentals,Breakfast is included with all our rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Maison William Wakeham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison William Wakeham Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing