We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the pennisula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison William Wakeham
Ranked #10 of 10 Gaspe B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2009

This was the best food we had during our 2 week trip to Gaspe Pennisula...truly outstanding. The restaurant is not inexpensive but totally worth it. Save somewhere else and spluge here. (Warning: portions are big and food is so good, you may overeat!)We spent 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, nice, with a view of the river; owner and staff helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgal099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

I was quite excited when I booked the room "La Rustique" at La Maison William Wakeham. The website looks great and we decided to treat ourselves by booking the best room at the auberge.
The room itself is spacious and beautiful. Everything was great at the beginning. However, we quickly noticed some small problems. The room was not very clean. And, the breakfast was not great either. However, we did not mind so much, especially being amazed by the room itself.
The next morning, I was about to change. All of a sudden, I saw someone passing by the front door. Then, I realized that the front door of the room is see through (don't ask me why!). The reason we never noticed this at the beginning was because the room is in a separate building and the receptionist told us that we have our own private corridor. As it turned out, the corridor is not private and anyone could pass by that corridor and look into the room!!!
I complained to the auberge the first morning and they promised to ensure that the corridor would remain private. The next morning, the same thing happened again when a stranger passed by the corridor!!!
The worst thing is that when I complained to the owner of the auberge, I did not get a feeling that he truly felt apologetic.
It is very unfortunate that I have to give such a low rating to this property. It has a lot of potential being really good. But, the service is just terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meli_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed at the Maison William Wakeham for one night in July. The historic house is charming, especially the dining room with wood panels. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the room "La Romantique". The room was very nice, in line with the romantic theme, and had all amenities one would expect from a 3 star hotel. The bed was comfortable . The room, the bathroom, and the restaurant were clean and well kept. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the food, although we thought that it was a tad overpriced. Breakfast was good. One slight minor point was the live music concert in a nearby hotel or bar, which we could hear clearly. It did stop before midnight and we had nonetheless a good night's sleep. The hotel cannot change that, and it was Saturday night. If you are going to Gaspé or the nearby Parc Forillon, this is a good place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

La Maison Wakeham is a perfect place to spend a few days in Gaspe!
The house is charming, the rooms are clean, and the food is really excellent. Desmond is a wonderful host. He loves his inn and the area and it shows.
Try the Chambre de la reine (queen's room) for a special occasion or book one of the rooms upstairs, you can't go wrong.
Forillon National Park is just 20 minutes away for hiking, whale watching, etc.
La Maison Wakeham will make your stay more memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francoise&David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaspe hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
0.4 mi away
Motel Adams
Motel Adams
#6 of 12 in Gaspe
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plante
Hotel Plante
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
234 reviews
12.9 mi away
Auberge Le Caribou
Auberge Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Riviere-au-Renard
43 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chalets du Bout du Monde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison William Wakeham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison William Wakeham

Address: C.P. 3-12 186 De la Reine St, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 1T6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gaspe
Price Range: $108 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison William Wakeham 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Wakeham house built in 1860 is ideally located in Gaspé between Percé and the forillon National park,( 20 minutes drive) we are 7 minute drive from our sandy beach at Haldimand and five minutes drive from the airport and its a two minute drive from the marina for our 2014 season we have 11 rooms,and suites and 2 fully equipped apartments ideal for longer stays and familys of four or more (sleeps up to six) all our rooms have private bathrooms we offer tv’s in most rooms and wireless Internet throughout the building Our 40 seat award winning victorian dining room offers the freshest produce from the seaAnd from Quebec and canadian farms, lobster is of course available throughout the season, our 12 staff members are commited to quality service and we will do everything we can to make your stay in this historic house a memorable one.Our walking and bicycle trails are close by and we can arrange rentals,Breakfast is included with all our rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Maison William Wakeham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison William Wakeham Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing