We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful auberge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison William Wakeham
Ranked #10 of 11 Gaspe B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Wakeham - Desmond and his entire staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Rustique suite - which was very comfortable - especially after we got used to and made friends with the moosehead! The breakfasts we had each morning and the two dinners were delicious and served by a very professional team. The location is within easy walking distance of the old town and we used the Inn as a base to explore Forillon Park and Perce as well. We had a lovely stay and definitely recommend the Wakeham.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Gaspe. It was close to everything in town- yet still secluded enough to get great sleep. The bed & breakfast itself is very historical and the owner of the place is a great chef!! If you're looking for the best place to eat, sleep, or both then La Maison William Wakeham is definitely where you want to go. The room was kept very clean and we had a great view of a full moon over the water! Everything about it was perfect!

Room Tip: They have a room in the summer that can accommodate larger groups. Bathroom was very nice (we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsBkta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I wanted the experience of an auberge rather than a motel for a more personalized experience. In this Desmond Ogden, owner of the William Wakeham house has exceeded our expectations. The auberge is a very fine house, dating of 1860 and full of charm while very comfortable, but what is remarquable is the service. M. Ogden made us feel right at home, and the food was incredible. As a chef, every meal he prepares is not only delicious but one of a kind.

The Maison William Wakeham is a must for anyone who wants an unforgettable stay in Gaspé.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A native Gaspesien, it makes me proud to know there is a place like this in my hometown.
Every time my family and I visit Gaspe, the William Wakeham House is always an option. My wife, son and I stayed at the Inn this past summer and the amenities provided is excellent for a small family stay. The hospitality provided is second to none, the location ideal: downtown, yet quiet and intimate, and the rustic, yet modern design emphasise the rich history of the establishment.
My wife and I returned during our Fall trip and enjoyed a nice romantic meal for two. We can never say enough about the quality and experience of the meal. Desmond prepares, without a doubt, the best dishes in the region.

Of all the auberges and bread and breakfasts we have stayed in in the province, we enjoy this one the most. Clean, quiet, friendly staff and great food. The little bistro is a fantastic addition!

Room Tip: The interior rooms share the character of the house. The Queen's room is by far our favourite, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Desmond was such a great host for my family this past October. My son's wedding brought a small group to Gaspe to help celebrate this great event. What a great surprise to find such a beautiful Inn with such grandeur. Each room has it's own history and story and the Inn itself is just gorgeous. Desmond made us all feel very comfortable and at home while we stayed over the weekend. His makes a superb breakfast and his staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. What a great time we had during our visit and we promise to return to this little hideway. We have also spread the word to our friends who want to visit Gaspe that this is the place to stay and feel at home. Great job Desmond and thank you for your great hospitality.

Joyce Keating and family- Pickering Ontario

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. For small family and friends the Wakeham room was perfect with a shut off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

It's a Canadian auberge, not a hotel, run by an aubergiste and staff aiming at providing a different experience in a historic setting. Spacious clean room (3*). Excellent breakfast and dinner (5*); friendly staff in harmony with a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Not optimized for views but in front of bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fredv_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights. Dinner on the first was good, but service was very slow. On the second the restaurant failed to open, despite our reservation. Next morning no apology from the owner and no real concern for letting us (and several others) down. The whole place seemed a little shabby and disorganised. We got the impression that the guests got good service when it fitted in with what the staff wanted to do. We were disappointed because we had read good reviews, but maybe its best days are in the past: old world charm can get you only so far.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaspe hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
13 mi away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#3 of 12 in Gaspe
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plante
Hotel Plante
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Phenix Gite Historique
2.8 mi away
Gite Le Meilleur des 2 Mondes Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison William Wakeham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison William Wakeham

Address: C.P. 3-12 186 De la Reine St, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 1T6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Gaspe
Price Range: $116 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison William Wakeham 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Wakeham house built in 1860 is ideally located in Gaspé between Percé and the forillon National park,( 20 minutes drive) we are 7 minute drive from our sandy beach at Haldimand and five minutes drive from the airport and its a two minute drive from the marina for our 2014 season we have 11 rooms,and suites and 2 fully equipped apartments ideal for longer stays and familys of four or more (sleeps up to six) all our rooms have private bathrooms we offer tv’s in most rooms and wireless Internet throughout the building Our 40 seat award winning victorian dining room offers the freshest produce from the seaAnd from Quebec and canadian farms, lobster is of course available throughout the season, our 12 staff members are commited to quality service and we will do everything we can to make your stay in this historic house a memorable one.Our walking and bicycle trails are close by and we can arrange rentals,Breakfast is included with all our rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Maison William Wakeham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison William Wakeham Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing