We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class food with great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison William Wakeham
Ranked #10 of 10 Gaspe B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A native Gaspesien, it makes me proud to know there is a place like this in my hometown.
Every time my family and I visit Gaspe, the William Wakeham House is always an option. My wife, son and I stayed at the Inn this past summer and the amenities provided is excellent for a small family stay. The hospitality provided is second to none, the location ideal: downtown, yet quiet and intimate, and the rustic, yet modern design emphasise the rich history of the establishment.
My wife and I returned during our Fall trip and enjoyed a nice romantic meal for two. We can never say enough about the quality and experience of the meal. Desmond prepares, without a doubt, the best dishes in the region.

Of all the auberges and bread and breakfasts we have stayed in in the province, we enjoy this one the most. Clean, quiet, friendly staff and great food. The little bistro is a fantastic addition!

Room Tip: The interior rooms share the character of the house. The Queen's room is by far our favourite, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 108 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

Desmond was such a great host for my family this past October. My son's wedding brought a small group to Gaspe to help celebrate this great event. What a great surprise to find such a beautiful Inn with such grandeur. Each room has it's own history and story and the Inn itself is just gorgeous. Desmond made us all feel very comfortable and at home while we stayed over the weekend. His makes a superb breakfast and his staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. What a great time we had during our visit and we promise to return to this little hideway. We have also spread the word to our friends who want to visit Gaspe that this is the place to stay and feel at home. Great job Desmond and thank you for your great hospitality.

Joyce Keating and family- Pickering Ontario

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. For small family and friends the Wakeham room was perfect with a shut off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

It's a Canadian auberge, not a hotel, run by an aubergiste and staff aiming at providing a different experience in a historic setting. Spacious clean room (3*). Excellent breakfast and dinner (5*); friendly staff in harmony with a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Not optimized for views but in front of bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fredv_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights. Dinner on the first was good, but service was very slow. On the second the restaurant failed to open, despite our reservation. Next morning no apology from the owner and no real concern for letting us (and several others) down. The whole place seemed a little shabby and disorganised. We got the impression that the guests got good service when it fitted in with what the staff wanted to do. We were disappointed because we had read good reviews, but maybe its best days are in the past: old world charm can get you only so far.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Desmond and his team work so well together and are so welcoming to guests that they do absolutely everything they can to make your stay the very best. The Inn's majesty is like stepping back in time to the 1800's, with a quaint and relaxing atmosphere, (I could almost vision ladies from a century ago grandly climbing the staircase in long dresses). The food is phenomenal, best that we have ever had. Desmond is an expert chef and truly enjoys taking your gastronomy experience into the heights of fine dining. We are still relishing the glow of wonderful Gaspe and Maison William Wakeham and will definitely be back. You will not be disappointed, your stay will be a treat you should not deny yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debdee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My 88 year-old father and 84 year -old mother and I stayed for two nights over the Easter break. I love historic inns and this one was memorable. Desmond Ogden, the inn-keeper, is also a chef who clearly has a passion for his "auberge". My father required a gluten-free diet and on several occasions, Desmond made special arrangements to ensure that he received appropriate items...The breakfasts were lovely...When we came down the stairs each morning, a crackling fire was waiting for us in the dining room. Mr. Ogden takes care to use local, seasonal ingredients as much as possible. His restaurant, which is part of the inn, was almost filled to capacity the evening we were there. The menu was extensive and we truly enjoyed our Matane shrimp, local turbot and scallops. The maple cake was to die for..I wonder if he parts with recipes? Our room was very comfortable with crisp linen and a large , sparkling clean bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havredepaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

To have guests before winter had ended and the tourist season begun was taken in stride by innkeeper Desmond Ogden. My wife and I arrived by train (the station is within walking distance to the Inn) and were warmly met at the Inn by Desmond. We found La Maison William Wakeham to be a charming building. The decor and fixtures are reminiscent of times past while still providing for modern convenience. Our room, La Rustique, was very comfortable. Its "log cabin" appearance reminded us of northern lodges that cater to outdoor enthusiasts. Beyond these delights however was the food expertly cooked and presented by Desmond. All-in-all, a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaspe hotels
0.2 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Commandants
0.4 mi away
Motel Adams
Motel Adams
#6 of 12 in Gaspe
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plante
Hotel Plante
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
234 reviews
12.9 mi away
Auberge Le Caribou
Auberge Le Caribou
#1 of 1 in Riviere-au-Renard
43 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chalets du Bout du Monde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison William Wakeham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison William Wakeham

Address: C.P. 3-12 186 De la Reine St, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 1T6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gaspe
Price Range: $109 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison William Wakeham 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Wakeham house built in 1860 is ideally located in Gaspé between Percé and the forillon National park,( 20 minutes drive) we are 7 minute drive from our sandy beach at Haldimand and five minutes drive from the airport and its a two minute drive from the marina for our 2014 season we have 11 rooms,and suites and 2 fully equipped apartments ideal for longer stays and familys of four or more (sleeps up to six) all our rooms have private bathrooms we offer tv’s in most rooms and wireless Internet throughout the building Our 40 seat award winning victorian dining room offers the freshest produce from the seaAnd from Quebec and canadian farms, lobster is of course available throughout the season, our 12 staff members are commited to quality service and we will do everything we can to make your stay in this historic house a memorable one.Our walking and bicycle trails are close by and we can arrange rentals,Breakfast is included with all our rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your La Maison William Wakeham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison William Wakeham Gaspe, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing