We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really impressed with Ruda!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really impressed with Ruda!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Visited this site last week courtesy of a Sun Hoiday deal. Pleasantly surprised to be allocated a Ashford caravan on arrival (despite only paying the basic price) which had 3 bedrooms (double and 2 twins) which had plenty of space for us (2 Adults, 2 small children). Despite the weather being pretty awful for the duration of our stay, we still had a wonderful time. Although we were grateful for the heating in the bedrooms and gas fire in the lounge.

The caravan and park were wonderfully clean and well maintained. All the staff were extremely polite, friendly and very helpful. And although the entertainment wasn't of a stellar standard, my children were more than happy with Sid & Lizzie and the entertainment on offer each day.

I have visited Croyde for many years (since 1996) and have never stayed at Ruda. Although I can imagine it being a bit frantic in peak season, I would have absolutely no hesitation in returning again for another short break and hope to see the team at Ruda again next year.

If I had one niggle, it would be the selection of drinks in the bar areas. It would be nice if they stocked more local brands rather than the type of stuff you can buy in any Wetherspoons pub throughout the country.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammi-loves-shopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    309
    148
    52
    37
See reviews for
582
109
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first holiday as a family, we rented a Rosemoor Lodge. The booking in process was swift, and easy, when we got there, we had no hot water, or heating. I asked security who sent maintenance over immediately. It ended up being my fault as I had not read the instructions properly!
The accomodations were of a good standard, and cleaned well. The furniture was a bit dated, and could do with modernisation, but was actually comfortable and in a good state of repair. I have always stayed away from big holiday parks, but actually I was pleasantly suprised at how good it was. There are many facilities and things to do on site, or you can please yourself. I think when my baby son is a bit older the kids clubs look great. I would definitely go back there again. Really enjoyed it, nice a chilled out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanpearce78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from Ruda for the 2nd time. Its a lovely site on a perfect location. We find it alot nicer than some of the Haven sites....alot less commericalised! We were on a sun £9.50 holiday but our caravan was lovely, had 1 bathroom but r huge bedroom also had an ensuite! As its nearly end of season the resturant didnt have the full menu but the food we had was lovely & with a soft olay right nxt door its perfect for families. The swimming pool is brill & its really good that they have a supply of armbands for children to use!
the reception staff were fantastic,i was trying to get hold of my mum to let her know we had arrived -my phone wasnt working,the payphone on site used my money but didnt work so they gave me a refund & also let me use their phone!The beach is one of the nicest beaches in the uk i think.
Cant wait to go back nxt year!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmadunn1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights on a sun newspaper break and enjoyed every minute. The staff on reception through to the bars were all amazingly polite,fun and helpful. As we only paid £38 we were expecting our caravan to be basic but it was beautiful, clean and well equipped. It got chilly at night but we found the bedroom heating on our last night. The beach is a 5 Min walk away from site and croyde 10 mins. The on site food in the blue bar was very filling and high standard and average pub prices (in the daytime you can get two meals for ten pound) there is also a fish and chip shop which was nice. Our only disappointment was the evening entertainment we appreciate it's out of season but it was the same every night and some of the singers were so bad it hurt. We would visit again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were really impressed with our stay at Ruda. All the staff from recpetion to bar staff were really friendly and welcoming.

The bar is cheap and the entertainment, whilst cheesy is a good laugh after a few drinks! The bingo can get quite big cash prizes so worth a go! The restaurant is actually quite good too - standard pub grub but good value and tasty. We didn't use the pool but it looked pretty good for a camp site with a large slide.

The caravan was huge for a 2 bed - it even had a seperate full siz bath as well as a shower cubical. It was clean, fresh and well maintained. Look out for the resident cat, he likes to come in and say hello!

The site is right next to the lovely beach and is about 20 minutes walking distance to Croyde village where there are several pubs and places to get pasties, cakes and cream teas!

If you want a cheap and comfortable break then you can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have been here with my now 12 year old daughters four years running, always for long weekend breaks and have always had a wonderful time. This weekend just gone was yet another lovely break for us. We had booked a 'Putsborough' caravan and for some reason we were upgraded at no extra charge to a 'Braunton'. We were suitably impressed with what it had to offer. Home from home with plenty of room, two toilets, roomy shower, a fridge freezer, flat screen TV etc....The temperature dipped in the evening but the heating soon warmed the caravan up. to a cosy level!
As ever, the children's parks were of a good standard. Ruda Park was spotlessly clean and the splash pool was great for the children. The on site chippy serves good food as does the restaurant.
The only thing that stopped me giving this review an 'excellent' rating was the onsite club. Having visited here for the past four years with family and friends and have always enjoyed the entertainment at the club and thought it was of a higher standard than that of other Parkdean sites. However, on this occasion, we were extremely disappointed. We were served overpriced drinks in dirty glasses, sat on ripped and dirty chairs at dirty, unclean tables and listened to what can only be described as tired entertainment voiced on a terrible sound system. On a Saturday night in the past, this club would be full but on this visit I can honestly say there could not have been more than 30 people in the room. Thinking the entertainment would improve as the evening wore on, we were proved wrong.
The place looked tired, dirty and untidy....COME ON PARKDEAN.....PAY SOME ATTENTION!!
Croyde Bay has a lot to offer families Ruda's on site facilities and well kept parks, the beautiful beach (great for surfers), pretty town and surrounding countryside.
Overall, a fab site for families and couples alike. I have just booked to return for a week's holiday next May and I sincerely hope that the clubhouse gets the revamp it deserves as we all felt it was such a let down this time.....

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Braunton' and were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandiecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of this site , although we had a fairly small caravan which was for 4 people , there is no way 4 adults would have been comfortable in such a tiny space, having said that the van had Everything you would need including a hairdryer & a vaccum cleaner , we were right behind the reception so didn`t have the beautiful views that other people had , On the whole we enjoyed our stay & would definately go back again , the food was good there are plenty of amenities for children , a shop, cafe, fish & chip shop ( chips were delicious) also a surf hire shop which has a good range of clothing the surrounding villages are also well worth exploring.

Room Tip: Caravans at the top of site , ( out of the wind & lovely views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jigglycornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.0 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,708 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
752 reviews
3.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
11.5 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park
Address: 7 Moor Lane | North Devon, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Croyde
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a beautiful golden beach...Add in a generous helping of rolling surf, a sprinkle of thatched roof cottages, and a traditional village pub serving home cooked food... and you've got all the ingredients for an amazing holiday.Ruda Holiday Park is set right by Croyde Bay beach, a magical place with miles of rugged heritage coastline to explore, spectacular views of Lundy Island and, if you venture into the village, the most delicious Devonshire dairy ice cream! * Set right by the golden sands of stunning Croyde Bay * Surf School and hire shop on park * Direct access to South West Coastal Path * Amazing Tropical Adventure Pool on park * Fantastic Showtime Entertainment ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruda Holiday Park Hotel Croyde
Parkdean - Ruda Holiday Park Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing