We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Croyde”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kittiwell House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the 'Yealms' room at the beginning of September and just loved Kittiwell House. It is more like a small hotel than B&B. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with a large king size bed and leather sofa, TV plus DVD player. Although the hotel was full it was very quiet and we only encountered other guests at breakfast. The breakfast was very good and plentiful with a good selection. The location is great for pubs and restaurants (try Hobbs the sea bass was fantastic) and of course the beaches and walks. We will definitely be returning and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at Kittiwell House over the bank holiday weekend and the service was fantastic. The B&B itself is a lovely old thatched building and for those wanting self catering also has a couple of cottages. Our room was traditionally decorated and spotlessly clean. The location is right in the centre of Croyde with the three pubs all less than a five minute walk away (always handy!) and the beach just 10 minutes. Every morning was started with a lovely breakfast with lots of choice including Hogs pudding which was somthing new for us ! The staff were on hand to answer any questions and they had a cupboard full of DVD's to keep us entertained when the rain fell for a couple of hours - lovely weekend and would definitely come back. Tanya and Matt Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandMRickmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We're regular visitors to Croyde and usually camp, but decided to stay in a B&B this time. Kittiwell house is lovely - a traditional thatched building - we stayed in the main B&B. Rooms are comfortable with traditional furnishings and some lovely finishing touches. The only slight problem for us was no shower attachment over the bath, but we knew this in advance. Breakfasts were really lovely and served home made smoothies, great cooked brekkie etc. Great location too - v. short walk into town and 10 mins to beach. Owners are really friendly, welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandAHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed in Weez House, a lodge in the grounds of Kittwell House. Perfect for a weekend getaway - quiet, secluded and cosy. Amazing views across the valley to the sea, especially from the hot tub!! Which was amazing to relax in after a few hours surfing. So much thought has gone into this place by the owners, who were so welcoming and friendly, felt like they had thought of everything. Seriously recommend the breakfasts too! A must stay if you're heading to Croyde and fancy something special.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

A fantastic family run B&B with a touch of luxury! From the moment we arrived the family were friendly and welcoming; nothing was too much trouble. Our room was gorgeous, full of character features with 21st century touches. We couldn't find fault in any aspect of our stay if we tried. We'll definitely be returning and recommending it to anyone heading to Croyde.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Luxury rooms with loads character feature and nice touches. A brilliant and frindly service pampering to your every need. Plus the best B&B breakfast we've ever had. Couldn't fault it as a B&B, it would certainly put some larger multi star hotels to shame.

Great location off the main road but only two minutes stroll from the center of Croyde and a further ten minutes down to the beach. No indoor storage for surfing equipment but a shower is available to clean off and a safe place is available to leave equipment.

Cost wise it's probably up at the top end for Croyde, but it's perfect for the weekend pamper with a bit of surfing thown in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captain_carb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed in Weez House in the grounds of Kittiwell House . The views from the Lodge were wonderful all the Village of Croyde could be seen ,even across to the sea. The small lodge is just the place to spend a romatic weekend away . The furnishings inside are fab, flat screen tv /dvd player leather sofa all the furnishings were very modern, the kitchen had full cooking facilities fridge, ect. comfy bed and a shower room .all of which were sparkly clean .We were one of the first to try out the wonderful Hot Tub that had been newly installed and was exclusive to Weez House guests it its outside and overlooks the valley as it is on an elavated patio next to the lodge. just the thing after a surf . a lovely weekend was had and we will soon be returning to this lovley bolt hole

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 1 in Putsborough
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#6 of 10 in Croyde
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kittiwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kittiwell House Hotel

Address: St. Marys Road, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kittiwell House Hotel Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing