We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the old man!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchum's Campsites
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Croyde
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the old man!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

my experience in summer 2011 at this site was good, the facilities were very good, and very clean, however the owner of the site was very strict with us, an old man, not sure of his name, however would not allow us to breathe! any one simply wanting to turn around were charged £5! I merely bounced a beach boy and he was onto us! marching over with his site rules, stayed here often before..no more!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Views1234, Manager at Mitchum's Campsites, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Jack fancy after working all summer at the village site you can't remember his name and to think that you got to surf all summer with food, alcohol and board all provided with a wage... one word dissapointed in you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed here for a week in July for a spot of surfing and this is a real gem of a campsite.
The facilities were great for such a small campsite, clean and well maintained and even a vanity room for the ladies with electricity! yay!
We were on the Village site which is literally a 2 minute walk to the pubs and shops. Its a bit of a trot down to the beach but still fine.
When we were there it was just before the summer holidays so the campsite was not too crowded. The pitches are small however, and I can see that if it is full you will be a little cramped for space.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenSuffolk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Mitchum's Beach campsite for a couple of nights and now understand why they only allow small tents - there's simply no space for anything else! On arrival we were allocated half a pitch for our tent with barely room to peg it out. People were crammed in like sardines with no room or privacy at all. If you like a bit of space or seclusion this is definitely not the site for you. On the positive - staff were courteous and helpful, the views of the beach were fantastic and the showers were hot and clean. On the negative, too many people were squeezed into such a small place, Croyde is wall to wall campsites so the place is very crowded and the Beach campsite is situated next to a sewage works!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ALM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Views1234, Manager at Mitchum's Campsites, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
The beach site has now had it's pitches enlarged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed at Mitchums beach campsite over an August weekend with my 15 year old nephew in a VW campervan. The facilities at the campsite are great-hot water in the showers, cold showers for wetsuits, clean toilets and good washing up area.

In terms of location, I'm not sure you can get much closer to the beach without actually being on the sand. The site is a 5-10 min walk to croyde village which has a decent selection of shops and pubs. It is also very close to the Surf South West surf school which I used for my nephew's first ever surf lessons. He was standing (briefly!) by the end of day 1 and standing frequently and all the way to the beach by the end of day 2.

There is no hook up at either Mitchums site (but I knew that before I went) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Absolutely no sign of the abrupt manner and nit picking described in other reviews.

I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank combatsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

It is difficult to know where to begin to describe the unbelievable experience we had at Mitchums.Over a month on now from our stay i am almost still lost for words.I do not think i have the vocabulary to describe the awful stay at Mitchums. From the moment we arrived it was clear we were not welcome. Myself and three friends were treated with absolute contempt and made to pay a 'good behaviour bond'?! We are a group of thirty year old men who have wives, children, highly successful careers and this Basil Fawlty character (only not funny at all) wants thirty pounds to ensure my good behaviour?! Be serious.
At this point we should have left but we had just arrived from a long journey and just went along with it. After watching us for half an hour putting our tents up he marches over and makes us move the tents because they were not set out exactly as he wanted. We were the first people on the site and we bounced a ball. He marches over straight away spewing the campsite rules. At this point we should have left but we were on holiday and just wanted to enjoy ourselves. As the day went on we watched as Basil marched about the site dishing out his instructions to perplexed campers who like us could not understand why they were being treated like children.The final straw came when a friend from another site tried to come into Mitchums and was not allowed. After one night in this frustrating and offensive place we packed up and moved to Ruda which was full of people enjoying themselves, respecting each others space without somebody telling you what to do every five minutes.
I have stayed in cockroach infested, poverty stricken hell holes that are more welcoming than mitchums and would encourage you to avoid it at all costs.
You have been warned.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 1236geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Mitchum's for Oceanfest and had the best time. The campsite was clean and tidy, the pitches were quite cramped but this was only because of the festival and the number of people that attended. The toilets were cleaned regulary. There were queues for the showers on a number of occasions but again, I think this was due to the festival.. so a festival wash did the job just as well ;) The staff were friendly and answered any queries straight away. We had no experience of strictness and happily sat drinking until the early hours (we kept quiet!). We were not disturbed during the night, perhaps very early in the morning (half 5) by a number of excited teenagers but that's the nature of camping and festivals! I would definately return to the site as it is perfect situation for the beautiful village of Croyde. No complaints at all. We stayed on the village site which was just short of a 10 minute walk from the beach. When we booked we thought we'd be staying at their beach site and were a little disappointed that it was not open but that is purely a seasonal thing and not the campsites fault!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiaalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

As far as campsites go this is a good one, clean showers and toilets and plenty of hot water. It's a small campsite so you are very close to your neighbours but it suits those looking for a quiet camping site. We stayed at the beach site which is ideal for surfers but a bit of a trek to the village at night. There is a village campsite as well but we prefer the beach site as surfing is the main reason for being there. Nearest shop is at ruda campsite about 5 min walk away. Would recommend this site for civilised camping but not for groups!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ames_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.3 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
0.7 mi away
Combas Farm
Combas Farm
#1 of 1 in Putsborough
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freshwell Camping
Freshwell Camping
#6 of 10 in Croyde
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mitchum's Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchum's Campsites

Property: Mitchum's Campsites
Address: Moor Lane, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Croyde
Also Known As:
Mitchum`s Campsites Hotel Croyde
Mitchum's Campsites Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing