We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mitchum's Campsites
Nearby Hotels
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort(Croyde)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Combas Farm(Croyde)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Watersmeet Hotel(Woolacombe)
$323
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Woodstock(Croyde)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
18
4
4
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
4
4
6
9
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 41 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

It is difficult to know where to begin to describe the unbelievable experience we had at Mitchums.Over a month on now from our stay i am almost still lost for words.I do not think i have the vocabulary to describe the awful stay at Mitchums. From the moment we arrived it was clear we were not welcome. Myself and three friends were treated with absolute contempt and made to pay a 'good behaviour bond'?! We are a group of thirty year old men who have wives, children, highly successful careers and this Basil Fawlty character (only not funny at all) wants thirty pounds to ensure my good behaviour?! Be serious.
At this point we should have left but we had just arrived from a long journey and just went along with it. After watching us for half an hour putting our tents up he marches over and makes us move the tents because they were not set out exactly as he wanted. We were the first people on the site and we bounced a ball. He marches over straight away spewing the campsite rules. At this point we should have left but we were on holiday and just wanted to enjoy ourselves. As the day went on we watched as Basil marched about the site dishing out his instructions to perplexed campers who like us could not understand why they were being treated like children.The final straw came when a friend from another site tried to come into Mitchums and was not allowed. After one night in this frustrating and offensive place we packed up and moved to Ruda which was full of people enjoying themselves, respecting each others space without somebody telling you what to do every five minutes.
I have stayed in cockroach infested, poverty stricken hell holes that are more welcoming than mitchums and would encourage you to avoid it at all costs.
You have been warned.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 1236geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Mitchum's for Oceanfest and had the best time. The campsite was clean and tidy, the pitches were quite cramped but this was only because of the festival and the number of people that attended. The toilets were cleaned regulary. There were queues for the showers on a number of occasions but again, I think this was due to the festival.. so a festival wash did the job just as well ;) The staff were friendly and answered any queries straight away. We had no experience of strictness and happily sat drinking until the early hours (we kept quiet!). We were not disturbed during the night, perhaps very early in the morning (half 5) by a number of excited teenagers but that's the nature of camping and festivals! I would definately return to the site as it is perfect situation for the beautiful village of Croyde. No complaints at all. We stayed on the village site which was just short of a 10 minute walk from the beach. When we booked we thought we'd be staying at their beach site and were a little disappointed that it was not open but that is purely a seasonal thing and not the campsites fault!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophiaalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

As far as campsites go this is a good one, clean showers and toilets and plenty of hot water. It's a small campsite so you are very close to your neighbours but it suits those looking for a quiet camping site. We stayed at the beach site which is ideal for surfers but a bit of a trek to the village at night. There is a village campsite as well but we prefer the beach site as surfing is the main reason for being there. Nearest shop is at ruda campsite about 5 min walk away. Would recommend this site for civilised camping but not for groups!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ames_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Not bad location, but expensive, hefty behaviour deposits required. Village site small, very limited parking had to park in village. Had a small issue with staff, totally dismissive and unhelpful. Any problems I think you need to speak to the owner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliMoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This time I visited Croyde with my 11 year old son and once again the campsite was everything we had hoped for. We stayed at the one further from the beach which means it's pretty close to the shops but without being impacted by the noise coming from the pubs etc.
I haven't given it top marks for 'sleep quality' which may be slightly unfair seeing that the noice was coming from the campsite behind it!
Other than that, all the facilities were immaculately clean and the staff were very corteous and helpful. Also, you could see them always going around and checking the site, toilets, washing up facilities which was reassuring.
This campsite is excellent value for money and a nice, gentle walk from the beach with a cost-cutter also nearby. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niclak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews