We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, modern and well-looked after holiday home...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Croyde, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
happyh0li...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, modern and well-looked after holiday home, great location!”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely, relaxing holiday. This was the perfect place to stay, a short walk into croyde village and also to the beach. The house had everything we needed. A well presented and cared for holiday home. A lovely, private outdoor area/garden. We couldn't have asked for more. Great to have the use of body boards too! Thank you.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
I'm so glad you had a great stay in The Porthole and thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison K
Coventry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful,well equipped house close to beach and village.”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is situated close to the village and the beach. It is very well equipped and beautifully presented. Lots of lovely touches - the cream tea which was yummy, flowers in every room which I love and body boards in the garage. Also the wetsuit tub in the garden and downstairs shower great for the surfers amongst us. A great house , we will definitely be back .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. I'd love to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeepPurpl...
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal holiday home for families”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This house is tastefully decorated in a beach style thoroughly in keeping with the surroundings. Only a short walk to Croyde Beach and into the village centre, it is ideally located for families wanting a UK beach holiday.

The owner has clearly spent a great deal of thought, time and money making the house look great and feel. The kitchen is well equipped with hob, oven, microwave, fridge freezer and has an open plan diner and living space. There is sufficient room for a small family (parents and 2 children) or a small group of friends. The bedrooms are spacious enough for a one- or two-week holiday and are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and the master has a large en-suite.

The owner has thought of most things; there is a gas barbecue on a spacious patio area and there is an area to rinse and hang wetsuits. The garage has a tumble dryer and more space for hanging wet clothes and swimming costumes. The garden is secluded and not overlooked.

In summary, a wonderful, well-located and well-equipped house perfect for small families. We had a great week and would definitely come back again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
How kind of you. I'm so glad you had a lovely stay with your family. I hope you feel nice and rested.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely in every way!”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely week in The Porthole. Having three bathrooms was a major plus. The kitchen and living area were excellent. Everything being new, fresh and very functional.
The garden was brilliant and the furniture provided enabled us to enjoy the sun. Having the garage to store our surfboards etc was something we've not had before.
Jane was very helpful before and during our week.
Would thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you for your review. This is really helpful for future guests to describe what to expect. I'm glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was the best holiday rental property that we have ever had”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were very impressed by 'Portholes'. It had obviously recently been refurbished which helped and we generally liked the decor and the layout. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and appliances. The decking area is a great idea and well done and there was a good size barbeque in the garage. The bathrooms were modern and well decorated. We are used to a larger bed (master bedroom) and that would have been nice but possibly not practical in the space. Can we suggest putting decent mirrors in the en-suite bathroom and downstairs toilet/shower room and hooks behind bedroom doors would also be good. The location was perfect - 5 minutes walk from beach and village centre and the Close was quiet. All in all we were very happy. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. I did have a debate with myself about mirrors, and hooks and decided against on balance but welcome your comments and will put some in at the nearest opportunity. I'm glad you found it ideal for your family and would love to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajeauk
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb! Bright, modern, well equipped, great location.”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We would highly recommend this property following our week in Croyde. The location is great, quite cul-de-sac but within walking distance of the beach, Croyde & it's many excellent hostelries. The house is clean, bright & modern, with everything you could possibly require for a comfortable stay & some unexpected luxuries like fresh flowers, everything for a cream tea & white company bedlinen. Owner Jane very efficient & courteous. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would book again, as Croyde is a good base for exploring North Devon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
I'm delighted that you had a good holiday. I do think the small things are important and can affect your holiday hugely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful stay!”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My husband and I had a fabulous 2 weeks at The Porthole. The property is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and felt like a home from home.
It has a lovely garden which benefits from the sun all day and evening. The weather was fab so we made the most of the gas barbecue provided and the bodyboards!
All in all a wonderful home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It's so kind of you and I'm so glad you had a super time. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing