We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very accommodating, clean and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Tree Farm Campsite
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Croyde
Certificate of Excellence
B'ham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very accommodating, clean and friendly”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed only for one night during a very wet period. Staff were extremely helpful finding us a great spot to stay for which we were very grateful. We have stayed in other sites in Croyde, but none were this helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cherry Tree Farm is a relaxed site in a great location. In our experience (4 weekends this year) the staff are always friendly and happy. There are several fields allowing for couples, families and groups to all be separated so each can enjoy their own holiday. It is only 5 minutes walk to a lovely beach and the same to Croyde itself. The showers and toilets are 'querky' and there are plenty of them. They could be cleaned more often and more thoroughly which doesn't bother us but some may be put off by them, especially for the price. Otherwise a superb site and we will be back when they re-open next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Have just returned from our first ever stay in Croyde Bay and we certainly chose a great camp site. Beautiful views and a lovely, laid back atmosphere. Booking on the phone was very helpful and friendly too.

Plenty of toilets and showers. Site was always clean and well maintained. Surf hire on site is excellent with really friendly staff.

Walk to beach and pubs is ten minutes max - and that's with two teenagers in tow. We will definitely return.

Only slight negative was the attitude of one member of staff - assertive to the point of being rude - shame because it doesn't fit the setting at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGNJEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

On visiting Cherry Tree over the bank holiday weekend...... All I can say is what a perfect place to stay! I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the hard working staff at the site. They work extreamly hard and help where ever they can. They certainly go the extra mile for example jump starting cars, finding and providing tent poles for those who have forgotten them and genrally helping out when they can.

We knew that the campsite was fully booked for the bank holiday weekend. We can appreiciate that keeping the facilities perfectly clean is somewhat impossable due to the large numbers of people using the facilities. We thought they did an excellent job!

We also heard some nose at night but noticed that there was a number on the reception door to call if staff where not visable. But we felt it unessessary to complain as it didn't go on long, you have to expect a certian amount of noise on a busy bank holiday! On speaking to reception the following morning the staff that were on duty that night were dealing with another issue at the otherside of the campsite. The issue was delt with the following day by staff.

We had an amazing pitch with views that were spectacular :) the space we had was perfect! If you like simple camping with a lovely atmosphere then this place is worth a visit! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have visited Croyde many times over the past 10 years and stayed in various campsites and BnBs. Unfortunately Cherry Tree toilets, showers and washing up facilities were gross and let them down. I would recommend Bay View and Mitchum's for a smaller and cleaner experience.

Some thoughts on Cherry Tree
Site - larger than Bay View and Mitchum's but not nearly as huge as Ruda. Quite pretty with different fields for different people i.e. larger groups placed together.
View - depends on where you are. I was in Little Strawberry field, pitch no. 8 which is for couples. In theory you can see the sea but this is only a) if your pitch faces the sea, and b) you dont mind also looking at Ruda campsite.
Pitches - hilly and not always possible to turn your tent to avoid the hill without blocking the view of your neighbour.
Facilities - in fairness I was away during the August bank holiday, and of course expect to queue at busy times of the day. However, they were pretty gross.

Room Tip: Call reception and ask for a pitch which faces the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a somewhat arrogant young woman who, when answering a reasonable question regarding the pitch we would be allocated as we were a large party, replied "we do this everyday we know what we are doing". Well I beg to differ.

If dirty washrooms with no paper towels for the majority of the 3 days is acceptable , if plots that are slopping so you roll off your air bed is acceptable, if crowds of teenagers shouting and swearing until 3am keeping families awake with no campsite staff in site to deal with it is acceptable then yes I would agree that "they know what they are doing".

On the plus side the views are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I camped at cherry tree farm with 2 friends. It has the most gorgeous views. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We went surfing during our stay, everything was very close by. Lovely pubs and a couple of nice shops in Croyde. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly140485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.3 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
3.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
7.2 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Farm Campsite

Property: Cherry Tree Farm Campsite
Address: Cherry Tree Farm Stentaway Lane, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Croyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Tree Farm Campsite is aimed at families who are looking for a relaxing environment within a 5 minute walk to the beach and amenities. We have a large site which accommodates up to 800 people very comfortably. We have plenty of hot showers and toilets which are always cleaned to the highest standard. We have amazing sea views from many of our pitches. If relaxing is your kind of holiday then Cherry Tree is for you! We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Farm Campsite Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing