We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room - well priced”
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Thatch
Ranked #4 of 21 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Great room - well priced”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed for a weekend in the Priory part of the Thatch. Was quite surprised how good the room was - big and well furnished with a great bathroom and shower. It was on of the most expensive rooms at the hotel but still very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dralj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Myself and two girl friends stayed at the Priory which is opposite the Thatch and owned by them. The rooms were lovely, really clean, modern and fresh towels every day. We had an absolute blast, the staff were really friendly and helpful as was everyone in Croyde. We nearly stayed in Woolacombe but were so pleased when we turned up in Croyde, so many surfers! We will definately be coming back!

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozzaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed for 5 nights with my teenage daughter - girlie/bonding trip where I had arranged quad biking and surf lessons. The Thatch is beautiful to look at, but parking can be a bit of a lottery. Having said that, I always found somewhere. The first room, No. 13, (over Billie Budds) was a twin bed but with a bath, no shower or shower attachment on the bath. Little storage space and not what I expected. Spoke to staff and next day they moved us into No. 6, still over Billie's but so different. Double bed, beautiful shower room and oodles of storage space. Breakfast was basically anything you wanted and in the eveing they always found a table for us in the evening, even though the buidling seemed to be fit to burst with the number of bods in it. Great staff and fantastic atmosphere in both Billies and The Thatch. The Nachos are to die for, Don't expect idyllic country pub and you won't be disappointed.
My one grouch is that I was charged the same as anyone staying for one night and yet I had to ask to get fresh towels. On one day, the room wasn't cleaned at all. Still, I started to destress and chill out - even bought myself a pai of surfer shorts to wear and at 50 that's not bad.

  • Liked — The staff were so chilled, I had to unwind! So different from anywhere we have styaed before.
  • Disliked — First room and then the lack of daily cleans even though we paid a dailly rate.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamberleyNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Stayed here for new year 06 and had a great time. Also been a few times in the summer and theres always a good atmosphere. Prices are ok. Rooms nice and cosy and staff very friendly and helpful. Would reccomend for new year. Breakfast is good too.

  • Liked — Cosy room with sea view
  • Disliked — everything was good. no complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 13, 2005

Have visitied several times! Will be back many more!

This time we stayed in the cottage opposite, called last minute and was great fun. Expect to enjoy yourself here, laid back staff, good pub food and selection of local ales with a guest ales.

Bear in mind this is the main pub in a small surfer village so can get busy at the weekends, is always packed in Summer.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
107 reviews
3.4 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Property: The Thatch
Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde
The Thatch Croyde, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing